We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Toby Carvery Hoole Village

Is this your business?
Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
+44 1244 301391
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good24%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (9 reviews)
“pudding” (24 reviews)
“roast dinner” (13 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 120 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

On a positive The Toby carvery at Hoole provides an excellent roast dinner and staff are hard working and freindy. On the negative, you won't need a jacket if eating downstairs as it's very warm and humid due to the hot food being served. Unfortunately...More

Thank Traveller47G
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Traveller47g, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. I can appreciate your discomfort as the restaurant does get rather warm with the carvery deck and volume of people, though we do open the doors and windows, however, we only use freshly...More

Reviewed 1 July 2017

Four of us ate here on a busy mid week lunchtime. There were no tables available on the carvery level, but we had a table in the main entrance/bar level, which meant there were 6-7 steps to negotiate, not ideal with a plate full of...More

Thank Mike M
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Mike M, thank you for the high star rating! Your recommendation means so much to us and we're so happy to have earned it. Thank you again for taking the time to let the world know about your positive experience. Have a great day!

Reviewed 30 June 2017

Visited this old haunt just after 6 on a warm Saturday evening. Informed by Rebecca that there would be about a 20 min wait, so I went for a pint served by friendly Dave. I noticed that there were loads of small tables available and...More

Thank KevtheExplorer
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kevtheexplorer, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Kevtheexplorer, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Great service food fresh & hot went with Groupon vouchers myself and mum brother a d sister in law had a lovely meal. Service was second to none will definitely go back.

Thank Jayne C
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Jayne, thank you for the high star rating!

Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

A very busy place but the staff make you feel so welcome and not rushed food is excellent and with being so busy a good turn over so also fresh

Thank Mack468
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

We're glad you had such a wonderful experience with us!

Reviewed 23 June 2017

Extremely busy on a Sunday - which is expected. But had to queue 20 minutes for a table and then queue again for food. Staff weren't helpful - it was our first time here and wasn't told what to do, where to go, how it...More

Thank amballenby
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Amballenby, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. Your feedback helps us improve, so thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did.

Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

Arrived 11.30 for a drink before lunch, a waitress vame and said carvery wasnt ready till 12.15 wich was fine so we ordered a starter of pigs in blankets and crackling, wich took 25 min to arrive by that time the carvery was open the...More

1  Thank Pregnantlady1981
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Hi Pregnantlady1981, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. If you are willing to give us another chance, please contact us at 441244301391 so...More

Reviewed 8 June 2017 via mobile

Tonight we went to the Toby Carvery in Hoole and they had run out of both beef and gammon which is completely unacceptable for a carvery. They also had no ice for the drinks. We used to visit a lot and always had a good...More

1  Thank Marnie P
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Marnie P, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Here at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, we are always looking for ways to improve; we appreciate your input. If you would be willing, we would like to have you contact our manager...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Sunday is much better than Wednesdays food is always fresh & hot on a Sunday, on a Wednesday very slow getting everything out meat over cooked very dry & veg only just warmMore

1  Thank Sheila B
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Sheila B, it is disappointing for us to hear that your experience was anything less than great. If you are ever unhappy with the quality of veg, just mention it to one of our team and w can have a whole fresh deck of vegetables...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017

Every time we make our way up to Liverpool / Manchester, Leeds we make a point of calling in here for our evening meal as we have tremendous service from Paul and staff......this time we asked for a table for two........we were told that there...More

2  Thank AlanHughes
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hoole Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Alanhughes, thank you for leaving us feedback. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was not a positive one. When you have an opportunity, please reach out to us at 441244301391 so we can try to restore your confidence in our business. Thank you...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Chester
Travelodge Chester Warrington Road
189 reviews
.01 miles away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
3,342 reviews
.48 miles away
Dene Hotel
530 reviews
1.17 miles away
Oaklands Hotel
79 reviews
1.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Piper
305 reviews
.70 miles away
Meadow Lea Farm Cafe
82 reviews
.93 miles away
Marco Pierre White Steakhouse Bar & Grill Chester
803 reviews
.49 miles away
The Bird in Hand
75 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Chester Zoo
11,976 reviews
1.91 miles away
Chester Music Theatre
13 reviews
1.56 miles away
St. Paul's Church
10 reviews
1.72 miles away
Chester Civil War Tours
177 reviews
1.67 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Davepj1963
16 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Amanda_and_Liam | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't have Sky tv at this time
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Buffet
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Warrington Road, Chester CH2 4EX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 301391
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hoole Village. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Chester's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;