We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester

££ - £££, , British
1 Love Street, Chester CH1 1QY, England
+44 1244 404990
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (40 reviews)
“funky chicken” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Brew Pub, Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
1 Love Street, Chester CH1 1QY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 392 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

This was the 1st time I've visited here, but it won't be the last. They had very unique drinks here, I tasted a couple and they were great. We didn't eat here but I had a quick look at the food menu and the food...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Pete_88_Pete
Reviewed 1 week ago

I remember this place when it was a ' spoons Lloyd's No 1 I think. Well it's new encarnation looked nice, so go on, what could go wrong. On entry it was practically empty with no-one eating , should have guessed! Went to the bar,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Meals-on-heels
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

after a wait of 30 minutes the lunch finally arrived. there was only 1 other table eating and they had to ask where their food was. The rocket had seen better days and I was offered some fresh but as I thought that was what...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank kathlovinglife
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stopped in for light lunch with my son and baby grandaughter. the staff where friendly and helpful. Megan who served us was polite and provided a high chair for us. service with a smile. We chose to eat a mixture of small plates, very...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Bluesmanphoto
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought it would be nice to meet up with family for drinks and something to eat then carry on shopping. One minute there were bar staff the next they did a disappearing act! My Sister tried to order food around 14:30 but was told due...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 741rosieh
Brewhouse123, Manager at Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 741rosieh, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Unfortunatley despite our best efforts and additional staff being rota'd to work - we have had...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awful from start to finish. Trying to order food was an ordeal, apparently the till didn't have all the choices available (I ordered salad!). Warned of a potential 40min wait for food due to a party of 40 in the basement (apparently). However 30 mins...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank elliematth
Brewhouse123, Manager at Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Elliematth, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. I would like to get some more details about your experience with us and would appreciate if you email Chester@brewhouseandkitchen.com at your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Experiences really don't get much worse than this. Although we were told there would be a wait, we hadn't expected to wait over 30 minutes for our starter and over another hour for our main course. The standard of the meal - when it eventually...More

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank Rhosgog
Brewhouse123, Manager at Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Rhosgog, we regret to hear that you are displeased with your recent experience with us. Unfortunatley on this occasion we were very short staffed due to illness and despite our best efforts our levels of customer service were not what they should have been....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went for the first time today with open minds after hearing mixed reviews. When we were ordering drinks, they didn't have either drink that we each wanted so had to order something else. Not the end of the world but disappointing. We were then...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank 168mandyj
BandKChester, General Manager at Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Firstly please accept my apologies and thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. I was away from the business this weekend and will be looking into this incident more thoroughly, please may I ask you to email the date/time/table number...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Queued for ages for a drink. Half the problem was that the till had gone down which the staff couldn't help of course. When I got to the front of the queue the barmaid went off to another queue to help someone else. This upset...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Brisca01
BandKChester, Manager at Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Paul, We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your experience and the service didn't meet our usual high standard. Please would you be able to email us (chester@brewhouseandkitchen.com) with more details about your experience so that we can investigate this...More

Reviewed 3 November 2018

We had an incredible evening at The Brewhouse & Kitchen taking part in their Beer Master Class. Our guide Dan, was thoroughly knowledgeable about all the beers we tasted. His own enthusiasm for the whole beer industry really shone through, indeed his manner and delivery...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Claire B
BandKChester, General Manager at Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Hi Claire, Thank you for such an amazing review, so glad to hear you enjoy your masterclass with Dan. We will make sure your kind words are passed along and we'll be buying Dan a beer for his great work :) Team B&K Chester

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Chester
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
2,098 reviews
.14 miles away
Travelodge Chester Central
797 reviews
.14 miles away
The Chester Grosvenor
3,179 reviews
.14 miles away
Stafford Hotel
116 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Revolution Chester
501 reviews
.07 miles away
Atina Kitchen
755 reviews
.04 miles away
The Eatery
62 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre
136 reviews
.11 miles away
Walls of Chester
5,508 reviews
.17 miles away
Eastgate Clock
906 reviews
.18 miles away
Grosvenor Park Miniature Railway
142 reviews
.16 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
chocice
18 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from davemezz2017 | Reviewed this property |
Very, there’s been a few dogs in when we’ve been in for lunch. We will be taking Alfie next time we go I reckon !!
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
11:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Love Street, Chester CH1 1QY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 404990
  • E-mail
Description
Pub, Restaurant & Microbrewery.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing