We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse

££ - £££, British,
21 The Groves, Chester CH1 1SD, England
+44 1244 328709
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good29%
  • Average15%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“sunday roast” (7 reviews)
“jw lees” (9 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
21 The Groves, Chester CH1 1SD, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a lovely dinnertime meal here yesterday.. the braised steak and ale pie was really good and my husband enjoyed his traditional fish chips and mushy peas. Well worth the money and their table service was really good too..thank you molly! We will visit again...More

Thank Jill S
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback Jill. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your visit & I'm sure the team will be proud to read your comments also. You're welcome back anytime & I'll especially pass on your thanks to Molly! Kind regards Philip Murray General Manager

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

the location is great - walking to the hotel is nice, straight off the historic roman walls along the river to the hotel. first impression is very good - nice and cozy and english, right on the river. i normally stay elsewhere but everything was...More

Thank erik z
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall but I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your dinner. The kitchen team work hard to deliver good, honest pub food so I'm sorry that isn't what you experienced on your visit. Kind...More

Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Came here yesterday for a lovely lunch after my sister's graduation. We had booked a table about 6 weeks in advance but upon arrival we were informed they had no record of our booking. The lady who dealt with us was very apologetic and offered...More

1  Thank maryfaza
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I'm really glad that Emily & our team were able to turn what could have been disappointment - caused by us - into a great experience. Look forward to having you back any time.... & we'll be ready for you next time I promise! Kind...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Looked forward to a pleasant gathering with old work colleagues, unfortunately the freindly service was slow, food mediocre, lovely location could do better!More

Thank Robin T
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. Obviously we strive to deliver excellent, honest, quality pub food with great service & it doesn't seem like this is what you experienced. Had you mentioned any issues to the team we would have gladly attempted to resolve the...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017

Arranged a night out for food and drink and catch up. The Riverside is the perfect location. Right on the Riverside, Good pub food some great beers and larger brewed by the Hyde’s Family brewery. Car parking and hotel rooms available although we did not...More

Thank yourwallsphotog... A
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hydes, perish the thought! We are proud pourer's of JW Lees beers from the JW Lees family brewery in Middleton. Still I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. Kind regards Philip Murray General Manager

Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped here with my husband and our two children. The venue was lovely. The serving staff were efficient but all looked fed up so we didn't feel overly welcomed. My daughter and I ordered the steak and ale pie. One of our pub favourites. Can't...More

Thank Jules M S
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the feedback. I'm sorry that not all aspects of your meal were up to standard. I'm very sorry to read you won't be back. Kind regards Philip Murray General Manager

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Good food at reasonably prices. Lovely views and pleasant staff. Portion sizes modest but I'd rather have quality than quantity. Tables a little sticky and could do with a little more TLC on the cleaning front. Overall though a very nice place to eat in...More

Thank jdybnsn
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you had a good experience. I hope you'll be back again soon. Kind regards Philip Murray General Manager

Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Quiet, so decided to dine. Roast dinners were ok however why is there no kids Sunday lunch option? We suspect there was however the waitress who was disinterested, distant and ilmamnered likely couldn't be bothered to check. Didn't even offer us cutlery or condiments, got...More

Thank LewisEB
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you weren't impressed with the service you received on your visit. We pride ourselves on great service & clearly this isn't what you received on your visit. I hope this won't put you off returning in future. Kind...More

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Location for a drink is great food average. White baits were tasty and mushroom with blue cheese too, Sunday roast was not too great. Not much meat and gravy tasted ok but was too congealed, Yorkshire pudding was flat and chewy. I would go back...More

Thank ffort
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank you for leaving feedback. I'm very sorry the roasts weren't up to standard - they are usually a huge hit. Had you mentioned any issue with the food to a team member we would have gladly aimed to put it right but I appreciate...More

Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Visited in August Tables disgusting Staff disinterested ( probably due to management) Management where even are you? Sent back chips and salads for them to come back the same. Not even a sorry or an apology. Then only reason this place gets trade is because...More

Thank Paulbenn86
TheBoathouseChester, General Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. Kind regards Philip Murray General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Atina Kitchen
616 reviews
.22 miles away
Hickory's Smokehouse
3,662 reviews
.23 miles away
Brewhouse & Kitchen - Chester
245 reviews
.20 miles away
To Koutouki
120 reviews
.21 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Walls of Chester
4,821 reviews
.33 miles away
River Dee
1,176 reviews
.33 miles away
Eastgate Clock
705 reviews
.33 miles away
Grosvenor Park
346 reviews
.10 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sparkyhignett
20 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Simon A | Reviewed this property |
Yes it is, there were a couple of dogs on our visits last week.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 21 The Groves, Chester CH1 1SD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 328709
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing