We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Church Bar & Restaurant

££ - £££, British,
Newgate Street, Chester CH1 1DE, England
+44 1244 318854
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good24%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“skewers” (21 reviews)
“burger” (37 reviews)
“soup” (12 reviews)
Open Now
00:00 - 18:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newgate Street, Chester CH1 1DE, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to Chester with a group of friends, sat in the beer garden in 25 degrees with all the umbrellas up. Not a single ounce of sunshine in sight. Asked for the umbrellas to be put down FIVE times, over an hour of asking we...More

2  Thank shadychurch96
TheChurchChester, General Manager at The Church Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We will review our policies with management as there is no reason why the umbrellas were not put down.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Why spend all that money on investing in a refurbished church ,creating a first class environment and completely neglect toilet hygiene . Both male cubicles at 8pm on a Sunday evening were not fit for purpose . Seat hanging off Urine puddles Excrement everywhere No...More

Thank stuart c
TheChurchChester, General Manager at The Church Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi. Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that the toilets were not in a good state when you visited. We do have an attendant there to keep the place tidy and we will bring this up with him and ensure that he keeps...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with a group of friends and were made to feel unwelcome some staff members off hand to the point of being rude( not all) - staff playing frisbee outside and swearing not very professional, 2 staff members using disabled loo whilst customer waiting -...More

Thank Adele M
TheChurchChester, General Manager at The Church Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We sorry to hear that you were not happy with the staff during your visit. It's unfortunate but the disabled toilets are currently the staff toilets until the behind the scenes refurbishments go ahead, and that area on the outside is where staff do take...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked on line. Shown to our table promptly. Water brought to the table. Orders taken quickly. Food a tad slow to arrive but well worth waiting for. Absolutely Devine. Both our meals perfect. Staff very pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

Thank DbzJCP
TheChurchChester, General Manager at The Church Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came in for lunch, we were given a warm welcome and our waiter Douglas was brilliant, very patient while we struggled to choose from the excellent menu. Really lovely food, we were all pleased with our choices, the food came quickly and the staff...More

Thank Rozschmoz
TheChurchChester, General Manager at The Church Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you were looked after and enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a gorgeous, sunny day in Chester, my parents and I decided to eat here as they had had been before and enjoyed it, and they have a big outdoor area. We all ordered fish finger sandwiches which were OK, but not great. The fish...More

Thank stocktonhfoodie
TheChurchChester, General Manager at The Church Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that the fish fingers were a bit fishy, we will have to have a word with our supplier.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely establishment. We got a table without any problem and had drinks and food. Hanging skewers were lovely as were the fajitas and linguine. Attentive waiting staff. Would highly recommend.

Thank Kristine P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went with friends for food and drink and although it was incredibly busy the service and quality of food was excellent.

Thank dwin116
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the church for the first time for lunch it was excellent could not fault the food and waitress service was also excellent our waitress was Julia who could not do enough she helped us with the choice of main and desert which was...More

Thank caroline s
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Once again our visit to The Church was excellent. Last April we brought 25 diners, yesterday just 2 of us, but the food and service was excellent.

Thank Brian F
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Chester
Travelodge Chester Central
704 reviews
.09 miles away
Oddfellows
1,300 reviews
.11 miles away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
1,985 reviews
.12 miles away
The Chester Grosvenor
2,812 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Picanha by Fazenda
697 reviews
.03 miles away
Zugers Tea Rooms
281 reviews
.08 miles away
Las Iguanas
518 reviews
.03 miles away
Piccolino
1,014 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Walls of Chester
5,135 reviews
.12 miles away
Eastgate Clock
788 reviews
.12 miles away
St John the Baptist's Church
269 reviews
.11 miles away
Chester Rows
1,071 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Robyn T
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Richard C | Reviewed this property |
Agreed, yes to both
1
Vote
Hudders1997
27 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from GKellyBirmingham | Reviewed this property |
If you intend to go on a Friday or Saturday night definitely book in advance. Otherwise you should be OK.
1
Vote
Jennynorthwales
31 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ghostcymru13 | Reviewed this property |
I agree with Stephen K. Email is always best and make the complaint straight to the top person. Works for me.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 18:00
Monday
00:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
00:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 21:00
Thursday
00:00 - 21:00
Friday
00:00 - 21:00
Saturday
00:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newgate Street, Chester CH1 1DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Chester
  • Phone Number: +44 1244 318854
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;