We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bistro De La Mer - CLOSED

Arwenack Street, Falmouth TR11 3JB, England
+44 1326 316509
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good16%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
27 Sep 2013
“Tony - We Miss You”
10 Dec 2012
“Poor steak”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
French, Seafood
PRICE
££££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Arwenack Street, Falmouth TR11 3JB, England
All Details
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2012

We ate here twice during a five night stay in Falmouth. The set evening menu is very reasonable and both nights we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I loved the steak with a madiera and red wine jus - totally yummy. Thankyou for two...More

Thank Megan W
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Megan Thank you for your kind words and your time. Your review is much appreciated. Regards Tony Ward Chef- Proprietor

Reviewed 28 July 2012

excellent lobster, perfect chips and total babe of a waitress. we did notice bow sprit on your model boat could do with some attention though. thanks for lovely evening! love jess + james xMore

Thank Jess_19248
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Jess and James Thanks for the review, as you can see we spend most on our shellfish and less on the models repair bills. Glad you enjoyed your evening and the food. And you caught "the waitress" on a good night, thats the holy...More

Reviewed 27 June 2012

Just visited tonight. Great service, cosy atmosphere, food fantastic. Prawn starters amazing, best rib-eye we've tasted and sea-bream on specials menu superb. Well worth a visit, worth every penny. Thanks for a wonderful evening.More

Thank rjwiles
TonyBDLMward, General Manager at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Rjwiles Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is very much appreciated. We are especially glad you enjoyed the prawns and the bream, two of the top sellers on our current menu. Both bursting with flavour and excellent value for...More

Reviewed 12 June 2012

I have eaten here with my family on quite a few occassions and have never been disappointed . We had another lovely meal and really enjoyed the evening. The set menu is very good value. We will be back.

Thank hilda720
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Hilda720 Thank you for your kind words, see you again soon. Regards Tony Ward Chef-proprietor

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very friendly staff and a great atmosphere - could not find a single fault with this bistro and strongly recommend it for couples and families alike. One of the best eats I've had when visiting Cornwall and will be back. For eats I'd recommend the...More

Thank MuffinManMatty
TonyBDLMward, General Manager at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Matt574 Thank you for your praise of our staff and our cooking...and for taking time to write the review, much appreciated. Regards Tony Ward Chef-proprietor

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had a very pleasant evening on Sat 6th May, We had the set menu at £20 and all the food was wonderful, (Tiger Prawns superb) Good service and all round good feel to the place. We will go back again.

Thank SevandSal
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear SevandSal Thank you for your thoughtful review and your praise of our food and service. we hope to see you again soon. Regards Tony Ward Chef-proprietor

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Bistro de la Mer, a promising name but unfortunately did not live up to expectations. The food was poor, overcooked and came small quanitities. All vegetables were charged as an extra. For the prices that we had to pay we felt that we had almost...More

1  Thank HelstonBrian
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Hello Helston Brian I don't know where to start, never before have we been told our food "was poor" . We serve local, mostly organic, prime fish and meat and therefore it will be a bit pricier than others, we definitely do not serve poor...More

Reviewed 3 April 2012

A pleasant bistro atmosphere, good food well prepared and served with a choice of excellent wines at reasonable restaurant prices. The only adverse comments are the scallops were slightly under-cooked, not a bad thing and far better than over done but not quite spot on...More

1  Thank MascotBerkshire
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear MascotBerksire Thank you for taking the time to write your review and your praise. Your critique of your meal was spot on. My apologies for the under-cooked scallops and yes, the scallop in your soup was one I deemed not in good enough shape...More

Reviewed 28 March 2012

Cosy and small with very good personal service. The menu is perfect for seafood and fish lovers - me in particular - A bit pricey but well worth it for the quality of the food. We visit this restaurant every time we stay in Falmouth....More

Thank Cheryll H
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Cheryl H Wow, thank you very much, really glad you enjoyed what we do. Regards Tony Ward Chef-Proprietor

Reviewed 15 March 2012

was ok but not as good as the shack and the fyying fish

Thank ian b
TonyBDLMward, Owner at Bistro De La Mer, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Dear Ian B Sorry we did not live up to expectations, could you please tell us where we are falling down, so we can take steps to remedy any problems. Regards Tony Ward Chef-Proprietor

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Falmouth
The Falmouth Townhouse
251 reviews
.16 miles away
The Grove Hotel
368 reviews
.16 miles away
Palm Court Hotel
3 reviews
.38 miles away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
97 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Amanzi
712 reviews
.02 miles away
The Brig
410 reviews
.01 miles away
Warehouse Bistro
381 reviews
.03 miles away
Cribbs
536 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
National Maritime Museum Cornwall
1,707 reviews
.22 miles away
Cornish Day Sailing
106 reviews
.04 miles away
Beerwolf Books Freehouse
132 reviews
.25 miles away
The 'Front
61 reviews
.07 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$65 - US$65
Cuisine
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
19:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
19:00 - 21:30
Thursday
19:00 - 21:30
Friday
19:00 - 21:30
Saturday
19:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Arwenack Street, Falmouth TR11 3JB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Falmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1326 316509
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing