We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$4 - US$19
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
160
42
16
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
160
42
16
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak sunday roast ham salad the pub huge portions pool table excellent food great atmosphere whilst on holiday staff were really friendly be visiting again app landlord dog mushrooms download
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Regular visitors to Newquay over the last 15 years but only discovered the place after following the signpost from the main road. It's a bit off the beaten track and seems very much a local community pub (which isn't a criticism in any way at...all) but staff were friendly and efficient, food and drink were absolutely fine and reasonably priced.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 November 2021 via mobile

Decent choice on the menu. Good value for money. Dog friendly. Great hosts. Short drive from centre of Newquay. Would visit again.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 November 2021

First impressions were good, friendly staff, good atmosphere. Ordered food from the table using the app, great. Alarm Bells should have gone off how quickly the food was delivered.... The burger although very non descript and obviously not made from decent meat was nothing compared...to the 'hunters chicken'. It sat in a swathe of liquid, not a Hunters sauce, and when you cut it, it was too firm. The texture was hard to describe, but it was in-edible and tasteless. We both tried it, it was disgusting. It was sent back and refunded and the staff were apologetic. All in all, I will never eat there again despite the other reviews.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

Staff were so rude! Hardly any staff around! FOOD WAS AWFUL! Don’t ever go here! everything tasted so dryMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Farmers Arms, Owner at Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Hi I was shocked and saddened to read you review on here today. Staff - Yes as you listen to the news Cornwall along with a lot of hospitably business are suffering with staffing but we did have 4 front of house staff on that...More

Reviewed 10 September 2021

Absolutely lovely food and massive portions, will definitely be back. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is very welcoming and comfortable.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Farmers Arms, Owner at Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Thank you For Your Kind Review

Reviewed 22 August 2021 via mobile

This is a lovely place set in a village location just outside Newquay and it offers the whole ‘village pub’ experience with indoor and outdoor seating, although it’s advisable to book for dinner if you want to sit inside. Ordering was a little difficult as...you can only order via an app. They do offer free wi-if but it’s open / un-secure but if was difficult getting payment through. There is a ‘courtesy’ tablet they will lend you if you haven’t got a phone or yours won’t work but they will not take an order from you directly in any circumstances so you need to be able to use apps etc. Also, we were a larger group and made them aware that as we were two families we would place two orders but we were together so ideally would like food together.. they won’t do that either and we were served 25 minutes apart, so if you go as a group and want to eat together then order together and work it out afterwards! This place is let down badly by its staff. None of them were friendly or helpful, in fact some were rude. And almost made it seem that customers were an inconvenience. They have a policy of having to wear face coverings in all indoor areas, which isn’t a problem to us, but we were amused by the fact that only one member of staff had one one and that was pulled down over her chin whilst we saw her chasing and shouting at other customers.. One of the other highlights was when a young waiter passed us and my friend asked him if he has a minute.. he simply replied ‘no’ and carried on walking by.. The food that we had was excellent however, which is the one saving grace of the whole experience. With the great food and lovely venue this place could be excellent.. but not until the front of house staff are sorted out as they are very poorMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Farmers Arms, Owner at Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Thank You For Your Review I Was So Pleased Your Liked The Venue And Food but would like to touch on the other points. Payment is very easy you can use Pay Pal on the App or Pay At The Table With Your Card Seams...More

Reviewed 21 August 2021

A warm welcome and fantastic food. Give it a try if you are in Newquay. Will definitely be back. Jenny and Brett Pruce

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Farmers Arms, Owner at Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Hi Jenny Thank You For Your Kind Review So Pleased You Enjoyed

Reviewed 13 August 2021 via mobile

Lovely local pub really friendly service and home cooked food was amazing. Great selection of drinks as well. Highly recommended

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Farmers Arms, Owner at Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Hello Anthony We are so pleased you enjoyed you time at the Farmers Arms Thank You

Reviewed 7 August 2021 via mobile

All looked good on arrival , seated early no problem, ordered via the app ,all very easy . Whilst having a beer waiting for food noticed it was like going back to the 70s a bit dingy and in need of a makeover ,however thsts...just my opinion.Food came out scampi n chips mushy peas salad , it was just cheap stuff bought from wherever ,nothing fresh salad looked like it had been on the plate for days , wifes wasn't much better ,ordered pudding apple pie ,my god please put some effort in .Didnt finish it left our drinks and went elsewhere ,never to returnMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Farmers Arms, Owner at Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Good Evening Michael So Pleased you were able to use the App we have tried to make it as simple as we can for people. Dark, Dingy makeover are words you may use, how ever many people like the traditional setting we offer. We Are...More

Reviewed 3 August 2021

Had a nice evening meal at the farmers arms whilst on holiday in the area. Tables well spread out and felt COVID safe. Good menu and reasonable prices. Only problem was having to order through an app but it was not the worst one we...had to use. Food was delivered quickly and what we ordered was very pleasant. Very nice desert menu too.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Farmers Arms, Owner at Farmers Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2021

Thank Your For Your Great Review

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Porth Lodge Hotel
179 reviews
.48 miles away
Pendeen Hotel
46 reviews
.56 miles away
Porth Veor Manor, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
675 reviews
.65 miles away
Whipsiderry Hotel
309 reviews
.66 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gwenna Teahouse
174 reviews
.62 miles away
Estrella Morada Bar de Tapas
316 reviews
.56 miles away
Andrew Durham at Porth Beach Hotel
34 reviews
.66 miles away
The Mermaid Inn
1,011 reviews
.56 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Porth Beach
885 reviews
.68 miles away
Lusty Glaze
322 reviews
.95 miles away
Whipsiderry Beach
54 reviews
.72 miles away
St.Columb Minor Parish Church
15 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Farmers Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Farmers Arms

Farmers Arms is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5