We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £30
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Deli
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (235)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
181
24
6
9
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
181
24
6
9
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fruit scones salad eggs benedict crab bisque sandwiches rice burger deli bar nice coffee car park lovely lunch visiting penzance friendly service cream tea holiday roast cornwall
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 14 January 2024

Visited during our short break in Penzance. Great friendly service with a smile.Freshly cooked sausage breakfast roll , delicious .Really enjoyed our visit

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023 via mobile

Very nice little bistro. Had a Latisha lunch today with my partner (as a relief from the rain). It was absolutely delicious. We both had a ciabatta with ham, avocado and egg and it came with salsa, coleslaw and rice. I’m not a “rice” person...but it was very tasty. Nice music and a friendly owner. Would recommend.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2023

Such a lovely review which is so nice and very much appreciated. Hope to see you again sometime. Many thanks, Hellys x

Reviewed 8 October 2023

Found this delightful bistro by chance on an adhoc visit to Penzance. Ideally situated close to bus and train station overlooking the harbour. Served a delicious roast dinner, served by friendly, cheerful staff. They have an extensive menu for snacks or mains. Can thoroughly recommend...a visit, you won’t be disappointedMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Thank you for such a lovely review - so very much appreciated and so glad you had a lovely time x

Reviewed 27 September 2023

DISGUSTING. Went here for Sunday lunch with my Wife & Daughter. The food was inedible, too salty, I ordered gammon,....it was awful, my Wife had chicken and my Daughter had beef, all were too salty, the vegetables that came with it looked like they had...been heated in a microwave, all mashed together. Complained but the staff were not interested. Save your money and fined another restaurant.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Confused.com - you ate everything but 2 slices of gammon, we sold out of gammon that day, we never, never add salt to the majority of our food and especially gammon as anyone that knows anything about food knows that gammon can be naturally salty,...More

Reviewed 23 September 2023 via mobile

My wife and I have popped in here on several occasions whenever we’ve stayed in Penzance. The location is spot-on, being close to the train and bus station. Tables are available inside and out. Service is speedy and polite. Food we’ve ordered has varied from...a full English, to cheese on toast. Perfectly fine fare, and reasonably priced. We also purchased a couple of pasties from them for the train journey home, which were absolutely amazing. Stuffed full of meat, veg, and flavour!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2023

Thank you so kindly for your review, much appreciated and so glad you enjoyed your visits with us 😁

Reviewed 12 September 2023

The Cornish cream tea was wonderful... such delicious scones! Friendly waitstaff. Reasonably priced. Airy, cheery atmosphere right across from the water. Seating indoors and outside.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2023 via mobile

Arrived on a busy Wednesday but seated quickly by friendly staff. Had food and drinks served quickly, delicious and good value. Highly recommended, staff were excellent. We’ll be back next year!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2023

Microwave crab pasta with plenty of dangerous crab she'll hidden in the dish. Staff are 0 help as they blame the company who prepare the dishes. Terrible customer service and eat there at your own risk.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2023

OMG - With all due respect, we did not blame our suppliers, we simply tried to explain that our local suppliers prepare and dress the crab for us each day before delivery. We then use the fresh crab to prepare our own fresh dishes which,...More

Reviewed 18 August 2023

Lovely food for a late lunch with equally lovely service from the owner. Ginormous cream tea too which was awesome. I had the bacon Brie and cranberry panini and cheesy wedges which were to die for. Waited a little while but we arrived when very...busy and a ‘thanks for waiting’ was very genuine from the owner which was a nice touch. Didn’t hurt that they had gorgeous wine and cider to keep us going! Would return without a doubt.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

So glad you enjoyed your visit and hopefully we’ll see you all again sometime soon x

Reviewed 14 August 2023

I have been to Hellys several times and have always found the food to be excellent and the staff very friendly. They have a 5 star food hygiene rating I observed they have a strick staff policy to clean every table thoroughly each time new...customers arrive. In my opinion it's one of the best Bistros I have been too and would recommend it unreservedly to anyone..More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023

The food was amazing 10/10 and I really enjoyed the roast the meat was really nice. The music in the background was lovely created a really good atmosphere and the staff we really nice to the customers we love to go again

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023

Went with family,had a great afternoon out,the service was spot on,friendly staff,food was excellent, music good,would go back again anytime,

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

Whilst wandering around Penzance we stumbled across this place. The most friendly staff and the best crab linguine we have both ever had.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023

Disappointed and fleeced. Poor service. No smiles from any staff. Waited 1 hour and had to leave before food arrived. Tried to speak with manager who was rude and abrupt. Offered to pay half of bill for drinks and towards the cost of the food,...appreciating they are preparing the food and not wanting a small business to be out of pocket. No apology. He appeared to accept this, but I now realise charged me *£43 for sandwich lunch for 2 adults and 2 young children that we did not receive* without giving me receipt or telling me how much he was charging my card. I had to dash (tickets for cinema and Jubilee Pool- cafe here fantastic) and not realise until bill came through. Overpriced, rude and feel this is really poor practice, worst service I have ever had.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Not exactly the whole truth! Firstly, most would ask why such a terrible review has been made more than 3 weeks after the actual event? Surely if our staff were as rude and miserable that you claim then you’d make your opinion heard a lot...More

Reviewed 10 August 2023 via mobile

We went to Hellys for a quick coffee and for convenience as it’s just opposite the large carpark in Penzance before we started our day. Firstly there’s a wait to be seated with a rope across the entry, we waited here for ages before a...member of the team behind the bar saw that we were waiting and told a waitress we were waiting, for her to then take her time to come over. Once she approached us, we didn’t get any pleasantries just ‘we’re not doing breakfast, so you can’t have it’ - secondly, once we were allowed in we went to sit down (a party of 4 adults, one child and a child in a pram) we were told to sit apart in opposite ends of the outside table space. We didn’t and we fitted round a table fine with an extra chair, we were handed menus (which are difficult to read, and gauge prices) and got told again that breakfast had stopped. We were bought our drinks with one forgotten, which took a further 10mins to be received, everyone had finished theirs by the time the forgotten one had arrived. This place is well overpriced for the amount you get and is most definitely not customer service orientated.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lee Spicer, Owner at Hellys Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Probably not even worth responding to as no doubt you won’t have the patience to read it and even if you did, you’d clearly find something to complain about so we’ll just say goodbye and hopefully never again!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Penzance hotel
416 reviews
.03 miles away
Hotel Penzance
1,127 reviews
.22 miles away
Artist Residence Penzance
1,139 reviews
.28 miles away
The Queens Hotel
744 reviews
.53 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Front Room Penzance
481 reviews
.04 miles away
The Quirky Bird Cafe Pz
153 reviews
.04 miles away
Little India
372 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Global Boarders Surf School Gwithian Beach
479 reviews
.06 miles away
South West Coast Path - Penzance to Marazion
374 reviews
.04 miles away
Chapel Street
204 reviews
.25 miles away
The Exchange
71 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Navigate67017807137
30 July 2020|
Answer
Response from Escape48396319139 |
Had takeaway sandwiches today 2 prawn. Impossible to eat as sauce too liquid. Please provide napkins. Not a great experience
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

HELLYS BISTRO, Penzance - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hellys Bistro

Yes, Hellys Bistro offers takeaway services.

Yes, Hellys Bistro is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Hellys Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4