We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#14 of 22 Bar in Penzance
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$7 - US$14
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
Meals
Breakfast
View all details
features, about
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
36
17
6
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
36
17
6
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

We spent five nights at the Fountain Inn and have just returned home. The hosts Pete and Jennifer were very attentive and the room was immaculate. The breakfast, which you choose the day before, was lovely. All locally produced foods and cooked beautifully. Jennifer was...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 July 2020 via mobile

We booked last minute (on the day) after out tent blew down whilst camping. We had a really lovely stay. They handled the COVID 19 restrictions really well and it didn't impact our stay. They were so friendly and made us feel very welcome. The...More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 20 July 2019

there are mixed reviews about this establishment. I think they depend on how the guest treats the hosts. The lady greeted us warmly and we were given a nice room. Although it was on the street side, there was no noise. Her husband served us...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 27 January 2019

The above refers to Peter. I have recently moved to Newbridge and rang the Pub for advice and help as my Internet took 2 weeks to sort out. Peter was a Star, bent over backward to help me even though he was shut, it was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

First and foremost our room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was good, but only if you’re an early riser and want to eat between 7.30 and 8.30, having chosen your time slot the night before. The location, for...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Cannot believe me and my friend were treated like we were. We spoke to them on the phone and said we’d be arriving late, we were not informed/ warned that there was a specific check in time. We arrived late after a long day to...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?12  
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Hi, Really disliked when me and my partner visited we didn’t stay over after reading the bad reviews. We did visit and I found it to be a hostile place. The owners were not welcome and they seemed to be rather rude!

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?8  
Reviewed 11 August 2018

First of all I have to say this B&B was spotlessly clean. However, although the welcome was civil I felt that we were a bit of an inconvenience to the owners.. I know they have done a great job with converting this place, but the...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Stayed here last night. I'm amazed by some of the reviews on here regarding being asked to take muddy, wet shoes off etc. The lovely couple who own and run this B&B have obviously put in a huge amount of work on renovating this old...More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?1  
Pete T, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

how very refreshing for someone to say what you have put in your review, it makes all worth while when some one actully see's all the effort that we we have put in over the years, to keep up the the appearence of the b&b,...More

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I actually don't know where to begin with how bad our experience was here. - we arrived to a landlady who misinformed us about our ship time to Scilly. Because of this she said we couldn't have a cooked breakfast. She didn't really offer an...More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?12  
Pete T, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

well were to start? first of all you booked the rooms x3 for 7 people ? 9 turned up? you moan about the price £ 440.00, again you booked it? breakfast is served from 7.30 to 8.30 the onus is on you to check your...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Queens Hotel
648 reviews
3.15 miles away
Artist Residence Penzance
897 reviews
3.24 miles away
Premier Inn Penzance Hotel
57 reviews
3.24 miles away
Hotel Penzance
1,015 reviews
3.25 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sportsmans Arms
85 reviews
2.29 miles away
Mackerel Sky Seafood Bar
1,071 reviews
2.87 miles away
Rosemergy Farmhouse Cream Teas
257 reviews
2.93 miles away
Heamoor Fish & Chips
24 reviews
2.39 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Men-an-tol
150 reviews
1.76 miles away
Carn Euny Ancient Village
88 reviews
2.34 miles away
Fat Hen - The Wild Cookery School
36 reviews
2.54 miles away
Tanglewood Wild Garden
222 reviews
.52 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jlkpregan
21 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Pete T | Property representative |
yes, we always inform our guest's of the code?
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Fountain Inn
    How is The Fountain Inn rated?
    The Fountain Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4