We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Inn

££ - £££, British,
Newbridge, Penzance TR20 8QH, England
+44 1736 332590
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good25%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible7%
2 weeks ago
“Clean and comfortable”
5 weeks ago
“Disgusting, absolutely vile greeting from hosts”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Newbridge, Penzance TR20 8QH, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First and foremost our room was beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was good, but only if you’re an early riser and want to eat between 7.30 and 8.30, having chosen your time slot the night before. The location, for...More

Thank Walden16
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Cannot believe me and my friend were treated like we were. We spoke to them on the phone and said we’d be arriving late, we were not informed/ warned that there was a specific check in time. We arrived late after a long day to...More

Thank JessGreen18
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Hi, Really disliked when me and my partner visited we didn’t stay over after reading the bad reviews. We did visit and I found it to be a hostile place. The owners were not welcome and they seemed to be rather rude!

1  Thank Jade_6265
Reviewed 11 August 2018

First of all I have to say this B&B was spotlessly clean. However, although the welcome was civil I felt that we were a bit of an inconvenience to the owners.. I know they have done a great job with converting this place, but the...More

Thank victoria d
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Stayed here last night. I'm amazed by some of the reviews on here regarding being asked to take muddy, wet shoes off etc. The lovely couple who own and run this B&B have obviously put in a huge amount of work on renovating this old...More

1  Thank Kristall123
Pete T, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

how very refreshing for someone to say what you have put in your review, it makes all worth while when some one actully see's all the effort that we we have put in over the years, to keep up the the appearence of the b&b,...More

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I actually don't know where to begin with how bad our experience was here. - we arrived to a landlady who misinformed us about our ship time to Scilly. Because of this she said we couldn't have a cooked breakfast. She didn't really offer an...More

5  Thank SarahB7372
Pete T, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

well were to start? first of all you booked the rooms x3 for 7 people ? 9 turned up? you moan about the price £ 440.00, again you booked it? breakfast is served from 7.30 to 8.30 the onus is on you to check your...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017

friendly , helpful, comfort lovely breakfast and bar meals . interesting area clean and large rooms with ensuite..

Thank Jillian G
Pete T, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

thank you for your review , it's nice to know that guest's appreicate our hard work, we look forward to welcoming you back , pete&jennifer.

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Room was clean and comfortable - with lots of character. Our hosts were very helpful and happily accommodated my travelling companions request for secure bicycle storage. Gave plenty of good information about the local area and made suggestions as to what I could do with...More

Thank Patriciacc62
Pete T, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

hi, thank you for your positive response we always go the extra mile for our guests, and try to get it right? pete&jennifer.

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

Booked to stay here one night while visiting Penzance . Area is friendly and accommodating room was clean comfy and had lots of nice touches such as toiletries and a big tv. No complaints the only small thing I would say is that the bedroom...More

Thank LisaPlymouthUK
Reviewed 4 October 2016

A perfect overnight stay on our way to the Isles of Scilly as airport 10 mins away. Lovely comfortable room with en suite. Cooked breakfast of locally sourced produce. Couple running the Inn very friendly with good local knowledge.

Thank smithie54
Pete T, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay it make's a good start to the hols,pete&jennifer.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
The Queens Hotel
545 reviews
3.15 miles away
Hotel Penzance
901 reviews
3.26 miles away
Cape Cornwall Golf & Leisure
225 reviews
4.25 miles away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
86 reviews
4.73 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Sportsmans Arms
76 reviews
2.29 miles away
Mackerel Sky Seafood Bar
668 reviews
2.87 miles away
Rosemergy Farmhouse Cream Teas
213 reviews
2.93 miles away
Heamoor Fish & Chips
19 reviews
2.39 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Men-an-tol
135 reviews
1.76 miles away
Fat Hen - The Wild Cookery School
29 reviews
2.54 miles away
Newlyn Filmhouse
95 reviews
2.81 miles away
Lanyon Quoit
82 reviews
1.32 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jlkpregan
21 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Pete T | Property representative |
yes, we always inform our guest's of the code?
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$13
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Newbridge, Penzance TR20 8QH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Penzance
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 332590
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional Cornish Inn providing B&B accommodation and a real ale and cider house. We are a freehouse and serve all our brews straight from the barrel. We also have great pub grub, outdoor eating in the summer and a real log fire in the winter.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing