We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Fast food, British
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
205
38
12
3
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
205
38
12
3
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips generous portions chippy cornwall holiday
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 13 October 2021

Have to be the best I have had in a long time. Batter very crispy and not fatty. Chips are cooked with a nice crunchy outer not floppy soggy ones

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 September 2021

Having read TA and this being next to our stay we tried it We were not disappointed the fish and the chips excellent cooked freshly Highly recommended

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 10 September 2021

After many failed attempts to eat in the area during our weeks holiday we again decided to have fish and chips. Wow, what a good decision. Freshly cooked to order and delicious. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 September 2021 via mobile

We came on a busy day so were unable to have Gluten free Fish. Just chips are gluten free. Because the frier will be used for gluten items. I do find this very disappointing. If you're Gluten free it isn't because its not busy. Please...consider this when visiting. Other family were very pleased with their fish and chips.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
robtredinnick, Owner at The Pirates Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

I'm sorry you feel let down. Unfortunately we were even busier than normal due to another fish and chip shop nearby having to shut down. This was explained to you, we also said we could do the gluten free however it would be about a...More

Reviewed 21 August 2021

We have a regular order set up with this take away - the food is always excellent and well priced. Portions are a good size.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 August 2021 via mobile

Fantastic Fish and Chips: freshly cooked, generous portions. All was fresh and very tasty. The best fish and chips I’ve had in Cornwall.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 August 2021

Visited here as we'd recently visited a chippy round the corner which had won awards for their food but was overwhelmingly disappointed on the price. Immediately received a pleasant welcome from the staff and a reasonable pricing structure for the menu, not as expensive as...other chip shops in the area. Once ordered, it was a good wait before our order was ready, in part due to the number of customers waiting, but this was no bother as it's normally a good sign at a chippy and indicated that the fish had been cooked to order. We weren't disappointed, very tasty, nice crispy batter and the fish was handsome too! Chips were perfectly cooked and just what we liked. No hesitation on recommending this place in Penzance.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 18 July 2021

BE AWARE VERY GOOD PORTIONS!!! Great value for money especially the haddock. Depending on appetite you may wish to share chips. Not greasy and total value for money. They do however close at 8pm so get orders in early.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 June 2021 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal from here. The batter on the fish was lovely and light, crispy and tasty.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 16 June 2021 via mobile

Friendly service, food cooked to order. Great fish n chips & good portions. Staying in Chapel st, literally a 5 minute walk down a lane opposite the Admiral Benbow. Excellent grub. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Queens Hotel
693 reviews
.13 miles away
Artist Residence Penzance
1,015 reviews
.14 miles away
Premier Inn Penzance Hotel
194 reviews
.45 miles away
Hotel Penzance
1,084 reviews
.64 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Honey Pot
405 reviews
.19 miles away
Mr Billy's
148 reviews
.21 miles away
Blacks of Chapel Street
451 reviews
.17 miles away
Fraser’s Fish & Chips
545 reviews
.18 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Penlee House Gallery & Museum
658 reviews
.20 miles away
Morrab Gardens
162 reviews
.14 miles away
St Mary's Parish Church
7 reviews
.15 miles away
Chapel Street
196 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lesley1959
22 October 2020|
Answer
Response from robtredinnick | Property representative |
Yes we do gluten free fish and chips, we have gluten free batter and use a separate pan which no other products used in it. Also a separate cabinet and utensils. Hope this helps. If you need anymore information please call... More
0
Votes
Kim G
23 May 2018|
Answer
Response from hairybear74 | Property representative |
Hi, yes we cook all our chips in beef dripping as it is the traditional way to cook fish and chips. We do jacket potatoes but no vegetarian friendly chips. Thank you for asking.
0
Votes
16 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ProvincialLady | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I'm afraid I can't help - we were staying at a nearby hotel and had come without our car. It's in a side street off the promenade, so I imagine parking in the evening is not too bad.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Pirates Rest

Yes, The Pirates Rest offers takeaway services.

The Pirates Rest is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5