We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Lifeboat House Bistro

Wharf Road, Penzance TR18 4AA, England
+44 1736 369409
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good16%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish pie” (70 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (18 reviews)
“salad” (38 reviews)
Closed today
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Wharf Road, Penzance TR18 4AA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 921 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Been here a couple of times now last couple years and have to say the food is excellent all fresh and cooked to order thanks t ok the chef had the fish pie which was lovely also had a strawberry daquiri well worth trying as...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank leemichelle1975
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn’t pre book, turned up on the off chance on a Saturday evening and managed to get a table. Decent menu which is mainly focused on fish. Good range of specials (also fish). The special of cod in pancetta was excellent. Wine selection is slightly...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Steve T
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Bistro had been recommended to us, so we decided to give it a try. The food was okay, but not brilliant. One of the orders was wrong, so we complained. They did offer to cook it again, but our other guests would have finished...More

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank Mooch142
JaneD2919, Owner at Old Lifeboat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. What a shame, however, that you have failed to include any specific details which would provide a degree of credence to this review. We have no recollection of your visit nor of any prospective customers (whom...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a really nice evening here. met up with old friends. We arrived a bit late but were warmly welcomed, by staff and friends which led on to a lovely relaxed meal. We all really enjoyed the food, wine and conversation. A good night, simples.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank AliBcd
JaneD2919, Owner at Old Lifeboat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went for dinner and had a delicious strawberry daiquiri made from real strawberry’s (sounds silly but unusual for some places to use them). My mum was unfortunately driving so had the blueberry mocktail which was equally as delicious. For dinner I had the hot seafood...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Torilouiseclare
JaneD2919, Owner at Old Lifeboat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this review. We do appreciate it

Reviewed 31 October 2018

Small restaurant, warm and cosy with friendly and attentive service. I had the Cornwall sole filet with crab and my wife the seafood plater. The fish was superbly cooked: firm, melt-in-the-mouth flesh with a variety of subtle sauces, served with lightly cooked seasonal veggies and...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LCplus
JaneD2919, Owner at Old Lifeboat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We’re delighted you enjoyed the evening.

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

We went here for an anniversary dinner and loved the food (great fish dishes) but the atmosphere was unfortunately completely lacking for an evening meal. Bright lights, poor background music. However, lovely staff who were very friendly.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Tracey-Ann W
JaneD2919, Owner at Old Lifeboat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and our staff. Obviously music is a personal preference and we appreciate that our playlists cannot please all. We find, however, that the majority thoroughly enjoy them. As to...More

Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

I have been meaning to do this since our last visit and was reminded when I was thinking of where I can take my parents. This came to mind straight away and reminded me to review it. Each course was beautiful with the freshest ingredients...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Loveday M
Reviewed 26 September 2018

All the other reviews say it all. Ate here tonight and was not disappointed if your ever anywhere near Penzance give it a go.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AnthemX1
Reviewed 19 September 2018

After discovering we could not have lunch we were well rewarded when we went for early super. Good dining good food, fish as we might expect but in general a very satisfied family left this restaurant, well recommended and near the South pier.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Graham g
JaneD2919, Owner at Old Lifeboat House Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 hotels
The Queens Hotel
562 reviews
.38 miles away
Hotel Penzance
914 reviews
.40 miles away
Marazion Hotel
389 reviews
2.69 miles away
Mount Haven Hotel & Restaurant
760 reviews
3.22 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mermaid Alley
179 reviews
.12 miles away
The Bakehouse Restaurant
885 reviews
.11 miles away
Blacks of Chapel Street
297 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
South West Coast Path - Penzance to Marazion
322 reviews
.20 miles away
St Mary's Parish Church
5 reviews
.14 miles away
Morrab Gardens
116 reviews
.20 miles away
Chapel Street
176 reviews
.13 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Roger C
11 September 2018|
Answer
Response from JaneD2919 | Property representative |
Certainly. We look forward to seeing you tomorrow.
0
Votes
Barry F
22 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Marina F | Reviewed this property |
You will definitely need to book as it was very busy when we went, so ask them at same time how late they open. We also saw the mixed reviews but thought we would try it anyway and we were not disappointed at all.
1
Vote
pendrey
2 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Jane D | Property representative |
Doggies very welcome inside until 6pm.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$48
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 20:30
Thursday
17:30 - 20:30
Friday
17:30 - 20:30
Saturday
17:30 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Wharf Road, Penzance TR18 4AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Penzance
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 369409
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing