We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fountain Tavern

££ - £££, , Gluten Free Options
St. Clare Street | Cornwall, Penzance TR18 2PD, England
+44 1736 369340
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (9 reviews)
“onion rings” (2 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
Open Now
00:00 - 14:00All hours
CUISINES
Pub, Wine Bar, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St. Clare Street | Cornwall, Penzance TR18 2PD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Nice welcoming pub,accomodated me with my back needs and lent us cushions to make me feel more comfertable. Approchable staff who go out their way to help and be of servive to you.

Thank Teresa E
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Absolutely lovely meal well worth the money. Surprisingly quiet no doubt because of its location but well worth seeking out

Thank Simon R
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Stayed for two nights last week. Access to accomodation was through a dirty storage area and stairs. Room very very poor standard. Bed base has no valance sheet on it and was very frayed. Furniture was very old, worn and cheap and none of it...More

2  Thank Gillian O
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Very poor I'm afraid, as I say in the title, forgettable, poor beer, poor 'warm' wine,poor food,poor service, not even busy! Can't think why? Forgettable!!, sorry.....More

1  Thank David B
Carol S, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Hi there Please could you confirm when you visited as we are well known for quality of the beverages and food we serve and pride ourselves on this. We are very surprised at your review so would like to know the date you visited us...More

Reviewed 14 July 2016

My wife and I managed to stay here for a night and was thoroughly impressed with their menu and enjoyed our seafood pasta and fish of the day meals. Light and tasty! Great fresh ingredients. We also had breakfast the following morning and were treated...More

1  Thank Stephen M
Carol S, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2016

Thanks so much for your lovely review it means a lot to a family run business like ours. Hope to see you again Kind Regards Carol and the team

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Stumbled upon The Fountain Tavern whilst out and abouts on a summers day with friends. Friendly, welcoming service with a great range of local beers and ales. Shared a lovely sea food platter and there was even food on the menu for one of my...More

Thank Callam P
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We were delighted with the menu in this tavern but sadly the food did not live up to our expectations. The waitress appeared to be new and did not know the answer to any of our questions. However some of the bar staff and those...More

2  Thank Gillian R
Carol S, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Hi Gillian We are sorry that our food and service had disappointed you, we normally go that extra mile to please. Please could you give me the date of your visit so l may investigate further, so I can ensure this is not a repeat...More

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Group of 6 booked for an evening meal to celebrate a friends birthday. Im aware they have a fairly new chef here? We sat at our reserved table and the waitress took our drinks order. Three out of 6 ordered off the specials board. I...More

3  Thank Cornish-Mandi
Carol S, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Hi there Great news! You're review has been entered in our prize draw and you have won a Sunday lunch for two with a free bottle of prosecco. Thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to review us on trip advisor....More

Reviewed 4 June 2016

We had a lovely meal here last night, the food was really good. The staff could do with being a bit happier and twice got our drinks order wrong but couldn't fault the food.More

Thank AnnH59
Carol S, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2016

Thank you for your input we are really glad you enjoyed the food, with regard to the team being unhappy this maybe due to the fact I had gone on holiday and this was the first time they had to run things by themselves and...More

Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Had a Sunday roast at the fountain with my family, the meal was delicious, and beautifully presented. I would highly recommend to friends and family, have booked in for next week already!

Thank Erin F
Carol S, Owner at The Fountain Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thank you so much we look forward to your custom

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Shore Restaurant
351 reviews
.18 miles away
Canapes and Deli Shop
173 reviews
.04 miles away
Coco Loco Mexican Restaurant
243 reviews
.18 miles away
Alverne
204 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
South West Coast Path - Penzance to Marazion
287 reviews
.31 miles away
Chapel Street
144 reviews
.29 miles away
The Exchange Gallery
49 reviews
.25 miles away
The Morrab Library
13 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
travelchristie
13 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Andrew S | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not have any rooms on the ground floor. TripAdvisor will not allow me to include an email address in this message. Please feel free to call on 01736 369340 and we will give you are email address.
0
Votes
Williamclouston
15 March 2016|
Answer
Response from Carol S | Property representative |
Hello there Yes we do accept small dogs Kind Regards Carol and the team
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Television
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 14:00
Monday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St. Clare Street | Cornwall, Penzance TR18 2PD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Penzance
  • Phone Number: +44 1736 369340
  • E-mail
Description
You will always receive a warm welcome here at The Fountain Tavern. We are a family run business with an emphasis on making your visit memorable for all the right reasons. We try to give value for money visits and all our food is homemade so we can meet any special dietary needs. We do our upmost to make your visit as relaxing or fun as you would like it to be and this is why most of our bookings are returning visits. Come and meet the team here at The Fountain Tavern we are sure you will not regret it!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing