We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
+44 1803 833033
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

408 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 405: English reviews
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

How lucky are we to be able to eat in the Royal Castle whenever we like. Lovely welcoming atmosphere, good food and coffee. A visit is highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Lily299
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
657 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

There is the Grill Room and also the Galleon and Harbour bars which serve very reasonable lunches and sandwiches of good quality and fair price. Lovely old hotel with plenty of character. Parking is an issue with street parking limited to one or two hours.

Helpful?
Thank Mike M
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I've eaten here several times and have always found the food excellent. It's not cheap but it's good quality and the fish is especially good. If you book in advance you can ask for a table overlooking the harbour and the river and on a sunny summer's day it is a lovely spot. Because it is a little pricey it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie W
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thank you to all staff , my family enjoyed their Christmas Eve Meal. Food was served hot, good portions, cooked as requested, in an efficient manner, we received a warm welcome from owner who made the time and effort to greet and speak to us. Well done to you all. We will definitely visit you again soon, and we will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justine D
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

I had my works Xmas lunch here and have had a few over the years. Sadly this one was rather disappointing. The food was not as good as previous years and the waiting staff were rather chaotic. I had the vegetarian main course (although I am not a veggie, I often enjoy the veggie option) which was rather odd. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison N
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison N Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. It is very disappointing to hear that you feel our food was not up to the usual high standard we endeavour to maintain. We apologise that you felt the vegetarian option was unappetizing, we can assure you that our chefs would not put a meat... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

In this seaside town, you would expect quality seafood (which we had experienced at other local restaurants). However, I ordered the halibut with crisp pancetta, mushrooms, mussels and clam chowder. The fish was dry, the mussels over-salted but tender. The clam chowder and mushrooms were delicious but a very small part of the meal. We had a couple of side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle4141
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle4141 Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are extremely disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We will bring all of the issues you have raised to the attention of the head chef and senior management team as your experience is not indicative of... More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2016

I had booked Sunday lunch 2 weeks before we went on holday. When we arrived and went to say we had booked a table, the person behind the bar said"we have no record of your booking, it's first come first served", I'm afraid at that we walked out!!

Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola B Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very disappointing to hear that you had such a poor first impression and we cannot apologise enough for this. This is far from the standard of customer service that we endeavour to maintain. On this occasion there may have been some confusion as we don’t... More 

Newton Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

The ground floor bar at The Royal Castle Hotel is a dream of an experience for its old world ambience offering a comfortable sanctuary from modern life. We ordered a cheese ploughman's which offered copious and generous choices of cheese and represented excellent value. It was almost a complete meal in its self. The brie was one of the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank W00dsmoke
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear W00dsmoke Thank you so much for taking to write this lovely review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you rate our ploughman’s so highly. We take great care when selecting the very best local fresh produce. You must come back and try the spit roast next time! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards... More 

Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
540 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2016

The breakfast here is simply fantastic. Great service, good spread of cereal, fruits, pastries etc and a perfectly cooked English, with quality local produce!!

Helpful?
Thank Roger G
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roger G Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and we hope that you will join us again soon. Many thanks Judy Kitt More 

Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2016

We ate here on a quiet night in early November. Window tables have good views over the harbour. The food (sea bass and staek) was well cooked and nicely presented. Service was attentive and friendly without being overwhelming. Would very happily return.

Helpful?
Thank Enarrcee
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Enarrcee Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in The Grill Room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Judy Kitt More 

Travellers who viewed The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$23 - US$49
Cuisine
Bar, British, International, European, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 833033
  • This restaurant is at Royal Castle Hotel
Description
The Grill Room is our first floor river view restaurant, decorated in a contemporary style. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Restaurant provides the ideal location for a romantic dinner, lunch with friends, private parties, or business gatherings.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?