We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
+44 1803 833033
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

403 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 400: English reviews
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In this seaside town, you would expect quality seafood (which we had experienced at other local restaurants). However, I ordered the halibut with crisp pancetta, mushrooms, mussels and clam chowder. The fish was dry, the mussels over-salted but tender. The clam chowder and mushrooms were delicious but a very small part of the meal. We had a couple of side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle4141
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I had booked Sunday lunch 2 weeks before we went on holday. When we arrived and went to say we had booked a table, the person behind the bar said"we have no record of your booking, it's first come first served", I'm afraid at that we walked out!!

Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
Newton Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The ground floor bar at The Royal Castle Hotel is a dream of an experience for its old world ambience offering a comfortable sanctuary from modern life. We ordered a cheese ploughman's which offered copious and generous choices of cheese and represented excellent value. It was almost a complete meal in its self. The brie was one of the best... More 

Helpful?
Thank W00dsmoke
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
515 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The breakfast here is simply fantastic. Great service, good spread of cereal, fruits, pastries etc and a perfectly cooked English, with quality local produce!!

Helpful?
Thank Roger G
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here on a quiet night in early November. Window tables have good views over the harbour. The food (sea bass and staek) was well cooked and nicely presented. Service was attentive and friendly without being overwhelming. Would very happily return.

Helpful?
Thank Enarrcee
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Enarrcee Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in The Grill Room. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks Judy Kitt More 

Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter had a weekend break from her first term at Exeter University so we decided to treat her to an evening at the Grill Room. We've been coming down to Dartmouth for 16 years and have never eaten here! The food was excellent. As a family of four we shared the mussels to start with. Then for mains we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy F
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeremy F Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us in The Grill Room. We are very proud of our team here and pleased to hear that you were well looked after on such a special occasion. We hope that you... More 

Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Called in for lunch and opted for the upstairs room with a view. The atmosphere in the room was like a bygone age. We were the only people there, yet the service was appalling. Extremely slow - the wait for our drinks alone was ridiculous! The waiter made us feel extremely uncomfortable throughout lunch, hovering nearby the whole time. He... More 

Helpful?
Thank KillerQueen59
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KillerQueen59 Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We cannot apologise enough for the fact that you were made to feel uncomfortable by a member of our team, this is most certainly not the kind of experience we want guests of the hotel... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Well the group of hotels has failed to meet expectations. we were a group of 7, went in for coffee, ordered 5 coffees and 2 hot chocolates. 4 coffees came and the hot chocolates were cold. waited 4-5 minutes at the bar to tell them they had missed the coffee. The young girl was very polite and said sorry. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig C
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Craig C Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We are sincerely sorry that you were so disappointed with your meals and felt that we were such poor value for money. We assure you we take all feedback seriously in an effort to... More 

Devon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

Recommended to us by our B&B, we enjoyed two meals here. Having arrived on a Sunday, we chose the Sunday roast from the carvery. We tried the roast beef and the roast pork, both served with well cooked vegetables, together with a bottle of Malbec, the meal was delicious. The following evening we tried the battered cod and chips, also... More 

Helpful?
Thank alsaldevon
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear alsaldevon Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and well kept ales with us at The Royal Castle Hotel. We are very proud of our team here and were delighted to hear that they made the visit extra special for you both. Many thanks Judy Kitt More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

We go every year for Sunday lunch while on holiday in Dartmouth. We know the food is great so book well in advance (online). On arrival there was an issue with the table whereby we were given a table for 2 even though the booking clearly stated 3 people. The Manager didn't seem to care much and there wasn't any... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ben H
Judy K, Manager at The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ben H Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Royal Castle Hotel. We apologise for the confusion over the table, it is very disappointing to hear that you felt your issue was not initially dealt with as quickly and efficiently as it should have been. We will bring this up at our next weekly... More 

Travellers who viewed The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$24 - US$50
Cuisine
Bar, European, British, International, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 The Quay, Dartmouth TQ6 9PS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 833033
  • This restaurant is at Royal Castle Hotel
Description
The Grill Room is our first floor river view restaurant, decorated in a contemporary style. It is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Restaurant provides the ideal location for a romantic dinner, lunch with friends, private parties, or business gatherings.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Grill Room at the Royal Castle Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?