We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dartmouth Arms

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Public house serving homemade food including homemade burgers and pizzas and tex mex as well as an ever changing specials board
PRICE RANGE
US$8 - US$19
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
British, Pub
FEATURES
Television, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for The Dartmouth Arms
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
96
90
26
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
96
90
26
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza crab cakes fajitas steak fries baguette salad calamari bayards cove the pub plastic glasses billy burger dog friendly pub range of beers the river curry night open fire
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 20 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

A typical pub menu in a very pleasant location close to the river. Nice ambience in the pub with a friendly and helpful bar person. Food is of good quality and quantity. Service was rather haphazard with my wife’s main course arriving at the same...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank PeterH333
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Great location with views up the dart. Can drink in or out. Have a good selection of gins. Comfortable and spacious. Bar staff were friendly and attentive. Recorded for a drop in or drinks with friends. Had national newspapers available to read which was nice...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rogerp761
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We had gone for a drink the night before and we had already eaten. All the food looked and smelled amazing and we vowed to come back the next night. We stayed drinking until late and the bar staff were extremely friendly. When we came...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ktperry89
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Very friendly reception. Good beer, good food and quick service. Been regularly and never disappoints.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank ifbainbridge
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Booked a table for 4 people for 9 o’clock. When we arrive a table was not ready and people who were sitting at a table having a drink, presumably after eating their meal, were asked to move so the table could be cleaned for us....More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank dudleytripper
andybirss, Owner at The Dartmouth Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

I thought we had sorted out your concerns at the time but obviously not well enough. We served over 75 meals in our little pub that evening, you had booked for 9pm as we full before then. Your table was reserved for 9pm but a...More

Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Popped in for a drink before returning to our camp site. Managed to sit outside overlooking the river. Friendly staff & reasonably priced

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 482alisons
Reviewed 29 August 2018

..We went in the Dartmouth Arms last Saturday 25/08/18 for a spot of lunch we had the steak, wild mushroom baguette, wow it was fantastic, really well presented with friendly staff and a cracking pint..Oh and the views are brilliant..

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank pablo1512
Reviewed 22 August 2018

The pub needs a a bit of TLC,but ok. The food nice bit pricey but you pay for the location. Right by the riverside so what isn't there to like.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 187bex
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived at dinnertime and had pizza and sides. Wasn't great but alright. The staff however made us feel really unwelcome. They were quite irritable when I asked about the drinks choices, and a few other questions asked over the course of the meal were answered...More

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Thriftytraveller55
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Small traditional pub which was very crowded at lunchtime. There is an outside area across the road with nice views, which people were using to eat their take-away fish and chips. Sandwiches were good, with a few crisps on side. Crab sandwich was good. One...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Sue W
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Royal Castle Hotel
1,233 reviews
.20 miles away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
367 reviews
.22 miles away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa, Dartmouth
1,737 reviews
.60 miles away
Townstal Farmhouse
141 reviews
.61 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 103 nearby restaurants
Beth's Bistro
280 reviews
.03 miles away
Smith Street Deli
248 reviews
.14 miles away
Bushell’s Riverside
316 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe Alf Resco
1,029 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 60 nearby attractions
Hockings Dairy Cream Ices
150 reviews
.19 miles away
The Ship Inn Kingswear
70 reviews
.24 miles away
Dart Harbour
333 reviews
.06 miles away
Dartmouth Museum
146 reviews
.21 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Nicholas M
20 September 2018|
Answer
Response from andybirss | Property representative |
Well behaved dogs are welcome in the pub
0
Votes
Ali M
3 September 2017|
Answer
Response from andybirss | Property representative |
Hi there. Our phone lines are down at the moment, there is a fault caused by the rain on Sunday and we are having to wait until Wednesday for BT to come out to fix the problem. Sorry for the inconvenience
1
Vote
77blue77
3 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from andybirss | Property representative |
Our pizzas can all be made with no cheese. Being a tied pub we are restricted on what products we can sell so the ciders are Thatchers, Stofford Press and Old Rosie. Our phone lines have been out of action since Sunday with... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing