We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£5 - £15
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Grill, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (148)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
85
29
16
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
85
29
16
5
12
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 27 February 2023 via mobile

Amazing place- convenient, excellent food, wonderful staff. Great stop off from the M5- spacious cafe with lots of seats and a big, varied menu with really great food and very good portions. Salad and sandwich we had were both very good and the man serving...was absolutely lovely and even brought our toddler some free chocolate as a treat, will definitely be back and couldn’t recommend moreMore

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2022 via mobile

Went in there on Wednesday 5th ordered scrambled eggs £8.75 When it came out it was miniscule maximum one small egg. When I complained at the amount on my plate, he said he’d check the till, I said I’m not bothered about the price I’m...annoyed at the quantity for that price. He asked me to eat up leave and not come back. Very rude. I’ve since learnt he advertises online his scrambled eggs for £3.75 A robber and a cheat. Not nice service at all.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fearless545152, Marketing at Fresha Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2022

HI bomber12345 I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the size of your meal, I think the waiter wanted to check the till to see if you had been charged correctly, it should have been £3.75 as clearly advertised on the notice board....More

Reviewed 19 January 2022 via mobile

Very lovely polite staff, and they do an amazing gluten free fried breakfast! Will definitely be back, thank you!

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FreshaLtd, Owner at Fresha Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2022

Thank you so very much for your review! Your kind words are very much appreciated. We're currently planning a few more GF options as part of a new menu coming... we hope to welcome you back soon!

Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

Friday the 15th Oct 21, i was told they were too busy to accept my order. Monday 18th October, refused to take my order again as they had no chef apparently. Wont bother again, all i wanted was a bacon sandwich and cup of coffee,...very disappointing.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2021

To the team at Fresha Cafe, Catering & Conference, I wanted to thank you for the warm welcome at your Exeter cafe & meeting room earlier this week. I was somewhat flagging that day, but your yoghurt, honey & muesli proved just the ticket. With...kind comments on how I might further give myself a boost, I felt quite 'looked after' 🥰 and you certainly delivered on your line 'Because what you eat matters'! Keep up the great work and thank you again, SJ x.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FreshaLtd, Owner at Fresha Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2022

Thank you Sara, it was a pleasure to host you and others in our conferencing suite. I know you were a bit rushed that day, but we look forward to providing you and your guests with lunch next time! You're welcome to room service or...More

Reviewed 8 June 2021

Friendly staff, food is very well priced. Was very fresh and came quick considering the freshness. Absolutely recommended.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2020 via mobile

I work on Sowton but have not been there since lockdown but arranged to meet 3 colleagues for breakfast at Fresha. The staff were very friendly , the coffee excellent and the full English breakfast was great. A great cafe and definitely worth supporting in...these current times. They told covid precautions seriously without being overly zealous and plenty of space indoors or outdoors to socially distance. I have already booked a date with colleagues to returnMore

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FreshaLtd, Owner at Fresha Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Hi Andrew, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful, positive review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon! All the best Beccy

Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

Super friendly staff , very polite . The cafe very clean and the food was good . I’m reading through other reviews here .... why why why are people so inconsiderate and ignorant ! Why leave 3 stars becuase you had to wait wait on...one occasion . #losersMore

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

I haven't been here for a while but it looks consistent with before, friendly staff and similar menu. Problem today was it was very slow and I think they are short of staff. it was fine, though the bacon was tasteless - hint to management,...it used to be much tastier. Otherwise fine.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

Situated on the edge of Exeter at Sowton, this lovely cafe. Very clean, varied menu, efficient welcoming staff. Reasonable prices. Well worth a look.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2020

I visited at 2.40pm to be told that hot food had finished although the website doesn't make this clear (the café was still open - until 4pm I believe). I fancied a burger as their food is very good so I left without buying anything...(going to one of their competitors instead). What disappoints me about this venue is the lack of reinvestment by the owner. On previous occasions I've noticed how poor the toilets are (getting worse) and today I was worried about damaging my car as I navigated my way around the many potholes in their car park. I may visit again as their food is worth it but I'll park on the public road just in case.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2019

Out of four of us, three ordered the soup, but they forgot the order and when reminded, took another 20 minutes to serve it. It's only soup out of a tine, for goodness sake!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2019 via mobile

Superb service, delicious food and great staff. The café is quite noisy when busy, although it’s lovely to see a thriving business!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2019 via mobile

I’ve been coming here for years and have always had great food, made and served by friendly people. The menu changed recently so I thought I’d try something new. I chose the eggs florentine. It was absolutely superb. Two perfectly poached eggs on a brown...muffin with avocado, asparagus and a hollandaise sauce. All for a very reasonable £7. You would pay a lot more elsewhere for a meal of this quality. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2019 via mobile

We ate here in the past and decided to stop off whilst travelling and pick up a brunch. Unfortunately, although it still looked promising the quality of the food was not as good. We only ordered paninis and the cheese wasn’t even melted but still...cold inside. Not much care had been taken in preparing or taking time to cook it. I can’t even say that it was really busy and they were rushing it out the door as it was quite quiet. Very disappointed that this place is not as good as it used to be.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Exeter East, an IHG Hotel
1,562 reviews
.37 miles away
Travelodge Exeter M5
1,361 reviews
.51 miles away
Gipsy Hill Hotel
690 reviews
.82 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott Exeter Sandy Park
180 reviews
.95 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Half Moon Inn
451 reviews
.92 miles away
The Blue Ball Pub Sandygate
236 reviews
.88 miles away
Sharpham Cellar Door Cafe
17 reviews
.26 miles away
Domino's Pizza - Exeter - Honiton Road
6 reviews
.28 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Westpoint Exeter
55 reviews
1.37 miles away
Sandy Park Stadium
151 reviews
.79 miles away
Countess Wear Bridge
5 reviews
2.15 miles away
Belmont Park
5 reviews
2.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
474carmelw
28 June 2017|
Answer
Response from LivingTheDevonDream | Property representative |
HI there is a changing table in the ladies, however you'll need to bring your own mat. There is free parking, and seating outside. You cannot bring your dogs into the restaurant though.
0
Votes
h4ppysingh
26 February 2017|
Answer
Response from LivingTheDevonDream | Property representative |
Hi, Unfortunately the menu holds a very limited vegan choice. Fresha does serve jacket potatoes, and salads. They also stock fresh fruit pots. You can also ask for sandwiches/baguettes to be made to order - but the vegan... More
1
Vote
MarionDerbyshire
20 January 2017|
Answer
Response from LivingTheDevonDream | Property representative |
Hello, Our address is 23 Bittern Rd, Exeter EX2 7LW. we are also known as Fresha Ltd. I hope this helps. Kindest regards Gemma
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

FRESHA CAFE, Exeter - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Fresha Cafe

Yes, Fresha Cafe offers takeaway services.

Yes, Fresha Cafe offers delivery services.

Yes, Fresha Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Fresha Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4