We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
39 Sidwell Street | Sidwell Street, Exeter EX4 6NS, England
+44 1392 435817
Website
Today
09:00 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 09:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I came in here to have a coffee and food and to do some work with my laptop. The wifi however is one of those open sign up ones that kept cutting out after every half hour or so, so trying to upload photos was not a good idea. The place could be more welcoming and cosy with a couple... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
IAS-CAFE, General Manager at Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your wedges. We are currently in the process of developing our menu and making it more exciting and unique. Along with this development we are planning to decorate further. I'm sorry to hear that you do not feel you would come again, hopefully the new menu will be... More 

Level Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

The sandwiches here are of good value and for an extra 30p it is definitely worth having them toasted. Wasn't very busy when I visited.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte D
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I only stumbled across Waikiki by chance on a lunch break. I usually only have enough time to shovel down some fast food chips or packet of crisps before running back to work but I saw this place and thought I'd have a look. As soon as I stepped in I was made to feel welcome, the quality and freshness... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M K
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive review I am glad you enjoyed the wrap and fresh juice. It is very uplifting to have such good comments about our service. Thank you again for taking the trouble to contribute and we hope to see you again. Stephen L Director More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I'd been curious about this shop for a while so decided to give it a go. I went at lunch time on a weekday, and the shop was completely empty and dark. I wouldn't have known it was open if it wasn't for the sign outside. There were two bored looking assistants, one of who was making his own lunch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank SV21_13
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Sorry you felt the shop was dark and lacking atmosphere but as you had a takeaway product this was perhaps not the most important feature. The summer months are always quiet due to the University students ( our main clientele) being on holiday. I am glad you liked the baguette and felt the filling was OK - I hope the... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This review is a bit overdue, as I've not been in a while (but I've recently written a horrible review for somewhere else and wanted to balance it out!) I've tried a few of the wraps and all of them are excellent. The thai chicken (the one with the peanuts!) is my favourite. The smoothies, too, are excellent and good... More 

Helpful?
Thank alice r
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Alice. Its good to hear you enjoy the freshly made wraps and smoothies. I hope the extra walk up to Sidwell Street will be worth it. The loyalty card actually gives a free wrap/smoothie/baguette for every 6 stamps - one stamp for every purchase over £2.99 ( one stamp max per day). Great to hear from... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I popped in for a quick lunch. The place was very quiet which was a shame. I ordered a cucumber juice and Greek salad. I ended up getting a carrot something(not a juice). I didn't mind it and wasn't in the mood to point it out as it tasted nice. The salad was a big disappointment. The only thing that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie_exe
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your visit to Waikiki failed to meet your expectations. The juices are all freshly made and the usual Cumcumber combination is Cucumber and Apple but we also have Carrot and Cucumber or various carrot mixes. It appears that some confusion occured when taking your order - we apologise for that. The... More 

Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Sorry it's taken so long to review! We went in for just drinks-service was great, place spotlessly clean. We wished that we were there for food,the menu is excellent-lots of interesting fillings for jackets/wraps etc. The sole reason we don't go more often is because we are walking into/out of town & timings wise are generally too early or too... More 

Helpful?
Thank MS1Devon
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments - we are pleased you enjoy your vists for drinks - perhaps try our wraps next time? Best wishes More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I've been to Waikiki's a few times and their wraps etc. are always really tasty and very good value for money. I can't fault them on the food and I think what they're doing is lovely -I would absolutely recommend it for a nice lunch! I think perhaps what lets them down is the decor at the front/outside the restaurant... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback and glad you enjoy our food. We inherited the bar at the front of the cafe and have thought many times about removing it. We may well reconsider this. We have put lights inside and out to brighten the front without much success. The problem seems to be the recess at the front making it dark... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I have had a fajita hot wrap a few times now! The great thing is they swap the chicken for Quorn if you are veggie like me!!! How many places do that? It was absolutely delicious all three times.

Helpful?
Thank 186254JuliaB
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Thanks Julia for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your Fajita with Quorn.The Fajita is our most popular wrap. Your support and comments are very heartening - we look forward to seeing you again when perhaps you could try another Veggie wrap or our delicious Smoothies and Frozen Yoghurt. More 

Exeter, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have seen it several times and decided to get a beef wrap with a smooth. They are fresh and taste beautiful. This is great place to have a break and recharge. The design inside is also impressive and the staffs are friendly. Recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank BachDinh
Stephen L, Owner at Waikiki, responded to this review

Thank you Bach Dinh for taking the trouble to review our restuarant. We are pleased you enjoyed your food we look forward to seeing you again - your support is very welcome. More 

Travellers who viewed Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$9
Cuisine
European, Healthy, Cafe
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Open Hours
Monday
09:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 16:00
Thursday
09:00 - 16:00
Friday
09:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 39 Sidwell Street | Sidwell Street, Exeter EX4 6NS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Exeter
  • Phone Number: +44 1392 435817
Description
We're Waikiki. Not the Hawaiian island, but a great little cafe tucked along Exeter's Sidwell Street. We're dedicated to all that's good about food. Yep, food that nourishes your body and food that fills your soul with joy. It's our delicious take on fresh, healthy food alongside tasty naughtiness on a plate, such as a hearty burger and chips. Sit and enjoy our modern cafe space (including free wi-fi), while we're also here for takeaway lunches and coffee to go if that's your thing.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waikiki staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?