We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverside Restaurant

10 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
+44 1598 752390
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average3%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“nachos” (6 reviews)
“soup” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
10 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

We had lunch here. They have an excellent gluten-free menu which includes sandwiches. The burger was the best my husband had eaten in a long while and my pasty was lovely with large chucks of meat. Good value all round.

Thank VickyP72
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We called in for tea before we set off home. Simple menu, freshly cooked, tasty homemade food. Immaculately clean, small and cosy cafe. What more can I say other than call in and see for yourself!!

Thank sarah v
Reviewed 28 July 2016

Visited recently and cafe was extremely busy. Were warned that we would have a wait due to everything being cooked/prepared freshly. It was definitely worth the wait, lovely freshly baked bread, nicely cooked fries and my daughter had a delicious bowl of vegetable chilli nachos,...More

Thank Jaz022
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Had lovely meals - vegetarian burger and a vegetable curry - couldn't fault it and was beautifully presented, Staff very helpful and friendly providing dog water etc. There was a bit of a wait for the food but was obviously cooked to order and was...More

Thank Vikki P
Reviewed 12 July 2016

A very bad attitude from the assumed manageress, 1) She flatly refused to modify our menu choice. 2) She refused 2 x young foreign girl tourists (who struggled with the English language) the use of the toilets stating that they did not pay any of...More

Thank Dennis R
Debbie I, Owner at Riverside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Replying to reviews is something I try to avoid, but when lies are written about you then I feel it necessary to respond. We have a set menu, which when possible we do what we can for customers but obviously in this instance it was...More

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

As the title shows, this place is average. Ok inside and average prices. The staff were very young and not clued up on what customer service is. They let this place down mainly. Food: we waited 40 mins for a cheese sandwich, and 2 burgers....More

Thank Thestudlibancritic
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Everything they sell here is made/prepared on site, even the pastries! And that's a welcome change on the seafront as so much is simply purchased frozen and then cooked onsite. The menu here was extensive with nice combinations, (Id never tried cheese and coleslaw on...More

Thank Don L
Reviewed 18 March 2016 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch as looked inviting. Fairly straightforward menu of mainly sandwiches, past/pies, soup etc, might be meals but didn't notice them. Had the pasty and sausage role. Everything homemade, confirmed by owner/server. Traditional pasty was large and well filled with more meat (in...More

Thank fco
Reviewed 15 March 2016

On a bitterly cold and sunny day we stopped in this lovely place with our little dog. I had the best hot chocolate, daughter had a lovely hot latte. We had salad baguette, and toasted cheese and tomato sandwich. The toasties were lovely, lightly toasted...More

Thank janedaisy2015
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We were grateful to find this welcoming-looking restaurant on a rainy lunchtime in October. The quality of the food was good, but unfortunately the same cannot be said of the service. When my husband went to the counter to order he was brusquely told that...More

4  Thank clc782015
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rising Sun Resturant
856 reviews
.06 miles away
The Nook
220 reviews
.17 miles away
7 The Bistro
370 reviews
.12 miles away
The Village Inn Pub
537 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lynton and Lynmouth Cliff Railway
1,338 reviews
.20 miles away
Lynton Cinema
185 reviews
.29 miles away
Lyn Valley Art and Crafts
44 reviews
.29 miles away
Watersmeet Trail
165 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
snapdogs
Do you offer gluten free? Do you allow dogs? thanks
22 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Debbie I | Property representative |
Hello...yes we allow dogs and we have a wide choice of gluten free food including our chilli, curry, our soups, burgers and even Lager. :-)
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Monday
10:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 10 Lynmouth Street, Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park EX35 6EH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Exmoor National Park  >  Lynmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1598 752390
  • E-mail
Description
Homecooked menu served in a warm friedly atmosphere.
Our menu includes sandwiches, banguettes, jacket potatoes, chillis, curries, All Day Breakfast, Beef or Veggie Nachos, Selection of Burgers, we even make our own pasties and sausage rolls. Or if it is just a drink and cake you are after then our coffee is well known for it's excellence.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing