We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 4/16
20:00
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £11
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (593)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
155
136
105
71
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
155
136
105
71
124
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today via mobile

Visited on Easter Saturday! All 4 meats were on, had the large plate and took the opportunity to fill up the plate! Everything was beautiful!

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic food and service from all of the staff. Our waitress Bethany was smiley and helpful. We are sure to return soon.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Kerry C, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Roborough! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

TC is great for your average Sunday roast. The variety of meats is great, although sometimes they're a little dry (probably from being sat under the lights). I found the variety of vegetables was okay and the sauces offered at the end were all gone...so we couldn't have any of them either which was a shame. For what it is, the Sunday carvery price is a bit much for what you get in my opinion and I didn't realise you could go back up for veggies (they don't advertise that anywhere which would have been nice to know). Their pricing seems more appropriate for a midweek carvery. In terms of gluten, their vegetarian gravy is gluten free which is great but they don't do any gluten free substitutions which I would like to see - a Yorkshire pudding for example. All that in mind, will probably dine again soon, just maybe not on a Sunday.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Food5gi1bk0, thank you for your review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Roborough! If you ever need anything else from us, please feel free to give us a call or stop by. Have an awesome day!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely welcome and very clean entrance area. Young lady sorted us a table as we were a bit early. Had turkey, gammon and beef. My favourite veg, red cabbage and cauliflower cheese, both looked and tasted amazing. Gorgeous roast tatties. Brad looked after us and...nothing was too much trouble. He even got me another Yorkshire pudding to save me getting up again. We had a £6 voucher for mains and Brad sorted the payments accordingly. This guy really is tops every time we visit. Thanks Brad xx An extremely good visit, again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Amanda T, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Roborough! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

This was my first visit to a Toby Carvery and I had a lovely time. The food was a normal carvery standard, but was very good value for money, although the red cabbage was cold. Brad gave us excellent service and was very attentive. I...would very happily return here for another lunch!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

G5443mrbm, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Roborough! Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Reviewed 8 March 2024

Not impressed, won't be going again, sparse meat, veg was just warm, and gravy table looked a mess, service from the waitress was good. Never had such see through slices of meat in my life, or so little in any other carvery.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

977trudiem, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Kind Regards

Reviewed 27 February 2024

We booked table for 5 for breakfast! Firstly given dirty cups for our breakfast. Cutlery also dirty had to clean with our own pack of tissues. The food was overcooked unappetising I asked if anymore coming out staff said No!. Two pots of burnt &...overcooked sausages & tray of solid eggs. Obviously not going to be thrown away? Bread for toast was still frozen. No cold drinks available without paying extra. Coffee was weak & cold. Yet still paid full price for a minimum amount of breakfast. After just 10min sat down we were told food being taken away. I asked staff if we could have fresh coffee he made two at first & than reluctantly made another two .We were than asked to move as needed our table? The place was empty my disabled Son doesn't eat fast. Too top everything off myself & other four have had diarrhoea & stomach cramps. We will never go back or recommend this place.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Elizabeth M, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We regret that you had a negative experience, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. Kind Regards

Reviewed 25 February 2024

Where to start , first off our waiter was very nice, my nephew and his wife came up from cornwall for a visit and as per normal we booked a table for them and myself my partner and 2of my sisters. After queeing for our...carvery we returned to our table whilst eating my Nephew noticed a hair of something similar on my partners plate which when we removed it it looked like a peice of a pan scripubber metal and approx 2inches long spiralled. I caught our waiters attention and showed it to him ( biggest regret we never photographed the item as the waiter took it away , he returned saying the manager was going to give us a 20% discount if our table’s bill which we accepted, but no sign of the manager to apologise it was left to the young waiter. We had finished our meal and were sat talking and catching up with each other when the waiter asked us if we could move to the bar area so they could clean up and we moved as per request no problem at all. We were sat in the booth where we were asked to move to having a few drinks I was on the coke as I was the nominated driver when a young woman came to the table didn’t apologies for interrupting our conversation ,” are you the guys that were sat in the booth around the corner “yes we replied “ can you come up and pay your bill “ turned and walked away no please no thank you . We all looked at each other gobsmaked, and we commented on how rude the young lady was. My sister went to get another drink and mentioned to the young lady that we believed she was abrupt in the way she asked us to pay,but she denied it. We wanted some more drinks and my other sister was refused service as the person we said was abrupt no longer wanted us in your establishment. I went with my sister to speak to the manager but we were directed to the shift manager who was the young lady that was abrupt. After talking with her she said she was the shift manager and she will not serve anyone that accuses her of being rude in her restaurant and we were to leave straight away or she was going to call the police, we were not aggressive we were just having a conversation as to why she did not consider the way she approached us and ask us to pay as rude or abrupt. as I have worked in the licensing trade for over 25years and would never talk to a customer the way the “duty shift manager “ did. If Toby Carvery believe that this is good customer service then I think your organisation need to readdress customer service.we will not be using Toby Carvery the George on Tavistock road again. And I will be telling all the people I know about this too. Kevin quite happy for someone to contact meMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

Here at Toby Carvery Roborough, we strive for excellence, and are disappointed to hear that you received anything less. We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Kind Regards

Reviewed 25 February 2024

Absolutely shocking, worst customer service from a manager I have ever seen /experienced. As I myself have been in the hospitality trade for 15+ years I would be embarrassed and totally ashamed to think that one of my members of staff let alone a manager's...attitude and customer service was totally rude and very unprofessional.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2024

We appreciate all reviews, and appreciate you giving us the chance to improve by providing us with this feedback. Kind Regards

Reviewed 20 February 2024

Good food, great service, brilliant price. Server Brad was excellent as always friendly and helpful. Yet another good meal for our regular visits . My friend wS helped also by Tim the chef who kindly carried her plate of food to our table. Service aboveand...beyond.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2024

Hi Gill R, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We will gladly pass these comments on to Brad and Tim. Have a great day!

Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

We were heading off for a weekend away and decided to fuel up for the day with a breakfast at the Toby, we didn't book and easily found a table at 9am but by 10am most tables were taken so depending on what time you...get there it's advisable to think about booking. We had a table in the bar area and you pay for your order at the bar and they give you your cutlery and cups if you have tea or coffee. You can gave as many hot drinks as you like as there is a station for you to help yourself. The food is at the carvery hatch and you help yourselves to what ever and how much you want, you can even have a big Yorkshire Pudding with your brekkie. All the food was fresh and hot and there is a toaster too so that you can have toast on the side or after.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2024

Hi Keefnjojo, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! If there is anything we could do to earn 5 stars please let us know

Reviewed 24 January 2024

Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww what a meal! Alex looked after us like a true gentleman. We will definitely be coming back for another fantastic meal soon. The food tasted amazing and the bar staff were very grounded and humble. We will definitely be returning soon ……. Much love!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2024

Steph O, we're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at Toby Carvery Roborough. Thank you and we hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

I visited in January with my partner and kids and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The food was tasty and even my picky toddler enjoyed it. Our server Dave, I cannot thank enough for how welcoming and friendly he was. Nothing was too much hassle...for him he was more than happy to help answer all our questions about food queries for my son’s dietary requirements . All in all we had a great experience but Dave made the experience even better with his customer service. Thank you DaveMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2024

Alice P, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at Toby Carvery Roborough. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 18 January 2024 via mobile

I’m not one to write reviews… but after seeing Ross, I have to! He made us feel extremely welcome, and was a top guy throughout our visit!

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2024

We appreciate your positive review about your recent experience with us! Ross sure is a top guy. Have a wonderful day

Reviewed 16 January 2024

Good food, good service, good price very satisfied. Server Alex friendly and helpful. Yet another good meal for our regular visits

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager A, General Manager at Toby Carvery, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Gill R, we are glad we could help! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Plymouth Derriford Hotel
884 reviews
.74 miles away
Future Inn Plymouth
3,089 reviews
1.10 miles away
ibis Plymouth Hotel
755 reviews
2.35 miles away
Elfordleigh Hotel
851 reviews
3.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Jack Rabbit Vintage Inn
1,288 reviews
.76 miles away
Lopes Arms
224 reviews
.96 miles away
Koh Thai Noodle Derriford
76 reviews
.79 miles away
The Woolwell Centre
22 reviews
.74 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
South West Coast Path National Trail
205 reviews
.41 miles away
The Lopes Arms
32 reviews
.94 miles away
Falstaff Inn
7 reviews
.96 miles away
Clip 'n Climb Plymouth
54 reviews
1.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Toby Carvery staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

TOBY CARVERY, Plymouth - 399 Tavistock Rd - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Toby Carvery

Toby Carvery is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 3
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3