We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sound Bites

Lynher Buildings Queen Anne Battery | 1 Lynher Building, Plymouth PL4 0LP, England
+44 1752 671100
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good17%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Fast food, Diner, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lynher Buildings Queen Anne Battery | 1 Lynher Building, Plymouth PL4 0LP, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2016

Arrived mid morning for breakfast and coffee with my wife and 2 friends. The coffees arrived promptly and the waitresses were very friendly, which was excellent for a small and busy cafe. After a short wait our breakfasts arrived and they were delicious, we particularly...More

Thank David16758
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your food and hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Kirstin

Reviewed 25 August 2016

I have visited twice in the last month. Once for a take away bacon sandwich on brown bread, delivered on white bread, the girl offered to change it and I asked if that was just a swap the bread exercise to which she replied "Yes"....More

2  Thank d152599a
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

So sorry to hear you have had a bad experience with us .... I do remember offering to change your sandwich for you, but would certainly have made you a fresh sandwich and not just swapped the bread, I must have misunderstood what you said...More

Reviewed 18 August 2016

It was a year to the day since I visited last. I was looking forward to the same great breakfast after 3 days of sailing over from Chichester, but unfortunately I was somewhat disappointed. The fried egg was overcooked, mushrooms dried up (actually crispy) and...More

2  Thank Nigel_Havant
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Hello and thank you for your review. I'm really sorry that you were disappointed when you last came to us. We are trialling new cooks at the moment and it is possible that that was the reason why. Your breakfast should have been checked before...More

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

The girl taking the order seemed very confused by our simple order of one Captains breakfast, one full English and a tea and a coffee. It was not helped by her not having a pen and having to borrow mine, which she then failed to...More

1  Thank ChrisK303
SoundBitesCafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

So sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us, at this time we were training a new Saturday girl and unfortunately new staff make mistakes and can be disorganised, while this is no excuse for your bad experience we hope that you will...More

Reviewed 16 February 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend visited Sound Bites very friendly welcome Newspaper's to read great views of Plymouth Sound. We had a light Breakfast and a Coffee. And passed our time there with a Lovely Lady who served us well worth a visit. Enjoy your meal.

Thank Mal S
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2016

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed you visit and that the service you received was good as well as the food and drink. We hope to see you again soon Bob and his team

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Visited for breakfast after finishing the Fastnet with our crew. A rapidly served breakfast was the order of the day and enjoyed by all. Highly recommended.

1  Thank Nigel_Havant
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Thank you Nigel for your kind review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and look forward to welcoming you all again soon. Bob and his team

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Stopped off here with my family for lunch, friendly staff and great service. Food was great and nothing was to much trouble. Great place with a great view. Highly recommend.More

2  Thank Zoe F
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Thank you Zoe F for your kind review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us. We have spent time improving the business but it is an ongoing project so we hope that you come and visit us in the future and...More

Reviewed 11 August 2015

I was really impressed with the updated cafe. Andy's food was lovely, well cooked and the service was really quick. Wonderful coffee and a lovely tucked away location. Perfect place to escape for a good breakfast in the peace and quiet.More

1  Thank Katie G
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Thank you very much for your review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We have taken some time to improve things and whilst it's been a difficult journey I believe that we are nearly there. Thank you again and I hope we...More

Reviewed 26 July 2015

The cafe has gone through a makeover and new management. Some of the staff are still there. The menu is much the same with all the old favourites and new items added. Still good value for money with easy parking and a great view. The...More

1  Thank JJ_Dragon
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Thank you for your comments. We have undergone a bit of a refit and that has taken a bit of time. The menus will continue to change until we manage to hit a happy medium. Im pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to...More

Reviewed 20 July 2015

Nice bacon sandwiches, waiting staff rather slow and lethargic, so if you're in a hurry it might annoy. I arrived 10 minutes before opening time and was briskly told they weren't open yet! Which was a bit bizarre, as I don't see the point of...More

1  Thank miltonkoi
bobseastendcafe, Owner at Sound Bites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding our cafe. We have undergone some changes recently and I think you'll agree that the cafe is now looking more spacious, cleaner and updated. The menu is a moveable feast and will always change. We at Soundbites will look...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Harbour Seafood Restaurant and Takeaway
331 reviews
.32 miles away
Supha's Street Food Emporium
344 reviews
.29 miles away
Mombay Brasserie
604 reviews
.16 miles away
Bella Italia Plymouth Barbican
493 reviews
.19 miles away
Nearby Attractions
National Marine Aquarium
1,897 reviews
.17 miles away
Mayflower Steps
156 reviews
.28 miles away
Mayflower Museum
61 reviews
.29 miles away
The Cawsand Ferry
44 reviews
.15 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jannerbloke
16 August 2016|
Answer
Response from bobseastendcafe | Property representative |
We used uncooked British back bacon. We do however use smoked gammon steaks Thanks
1
Vote
DevonRiddler
10 December 2015|
Answer
Response from bobseastendcafe | Property representative |
Hi. Our opening times are 8am to 3pm monday to friday. Thank you
0
Votes
Cr0wM
8 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jannerbloke | Reviewed this property |
Can't see any problem. I think Chandlers have it and the Yacht Club. Morning or afternoon tea/coffee accompanied by a tablet or phone has pretty well superseded the old tabloids and Racing Post.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$11
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
08:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:00
Thursday
08:00 - 15:00
Friday
08:00 - 15:00
Saturday
08:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lynher Buildings Queen Anne Battery | 1 Lynher Building, Plymouth PL4 0LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 671100
  • E-mail
Description
Small, friendly waterside cafe offering Full English cooked breakfasts, lunches, sandwiches, cakes, and snacks, some Vegetarian and Gluten free options are available. We have outside seating with wonderful views across the Sound and 2 hours free parking is available. Children and dogs are very welcome.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing