We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Pump House - CLOSED

Lopwell Dam | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7BZ, England
+44 1752 695978
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good22%
  • Average16%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (16 reviews)
“panini” (5 reviews)
“soup” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Lopwell Dam | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7BZ, England
All Details
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

Have been to the Old Pump House many times since it opened. It is well run, immaculate and a well kept secret. Jayne, the owner, always makes us feel welcome. Coffee is great, cakes are amazing and the view is as spectacular. The only downside...More

Thank Ryanontwp
Jayneyp24, General Manager at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for your very lovely comment. It's always appreciated. Kindest regards, Jayne :)

Reviewed 18 March 2016

Just to say a big thankyou to Jayne and Elliot for making the lunch and the visit by my sister and brother-in-law such a very pleasurable and tasty treat on Thursday. We all had a great time. The weather was sunny too.!! Many thanks John...More

Thank michael_kingdon
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Always a pleasure. Thank you for your comments. So pleased you had a lovely time. Jayne :)

Reviewed 7 March 2016

Had a fantastic meal at the Old Pump House this weekend, could not fault it. All food served hot and fresh with smiling faces. A lovely location for a spot of lunch or coffee and a cake. Thanks for having us Jayne!

Thank Laura M
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for your comments. Greatly appreciated Jayne :)

Reviewed 3 January 2016

We visited on 1st January not expecting to find the café open. The owner was there working on her own and was surprised to have so many customers. Despite a long wait for food the standard was consistently good and we were supplied with extra...More

Thank Sue R
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thank you for your lovely comments. Yes we were busy, much more than expected, and there was a delay and for that I apologise. I made the decision that all the staff had two weeks holiday which in hindsight was not a good one! This...More

Reviewed 11 December 2015

A wonderful location of a terrace overlooking the Lopwell Dam. Without rain protection available on the terrace, customers have to retreat inside if it rains. Try to visit at high water because the river dries leaving extensive mud banks adjacent to the terrace at low...More

Thank G B
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Thank you for your comments. Would like to make a few comments in return with regards to your review. Most people tend to come at low tide as this is when the river can be crossed and the nature reserve walk can be accessed. At...More

Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

What a lovely experience! So friendly! The cheese scones are exquisite! Mini breakfast delicious! Friendly and informative hosts. I thoroughly recommend a visit for yourselves. The setting is so beautiful and breathtaking. Wildlife, walking and cycling on trail. You won't be disappointed!

1  Thank Rowe007
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you and so glad you enjoyed the visit. Have to agree about the cheese scones struggle to resist those myself when they come out the oven :)

Reviewed 2 November 2015

Visited this café when we were out for a walk,we had a meal which was very good.excellent service ,very spacious ,and thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon.

Thank Wendy S
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for your comment. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again Jayne :)

Reviewed 15 October 2015

Staff very friendly and helpful. Drinks and cakes we had were very good. Overall highly recommended.

1  Thank jmtc68
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Many thanks for your comments

Reviewed 14 October 2015

Noon on a sunny Wednesday saw 4 of us in the Old Pump House. We had met for coffee but the menu was good so we decided to have lunch. The paninis were delicious: freshly made, packed full (mine had bacon, brie and cranberry sauce)...More

2  Thank 946JJ19
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Thank,you for your lovely comments. Food is always freshly prepared. Perfect spot for a bit of sunbathing and bird spotting. Glad our resident kingfisher obliged with a fly by :)

Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

Sent an email this morning asking to reserve a table for brunch for a group of seven. Walked in the door to find table reserved,and that the early arrivals had been greeted and coffee served. Scrumptious breakfast followed with the friendliest, most helpful service; all...More

Thank stephenandhazel
Jayneyp24, Owner at The Old Pump House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2016

Our pleasure. Perfect timed visit to enjoy the superb colours and scenery. Glad you enjoyed :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Olde Plough Inn
102 reviews
1.44 miles away
Drake Manor Inn
172 reviews
2.24 miles away
The Boot Inn
154 reviews
3.21 miles away
The Dartmoor Diner
318 reviews
2.14 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Buckland Abbey
530 reviews
1.37 miles away
Morwellham Quay- Historic Port and Copper Mine
533 reviews
3.41 miles away
The Garden House
207 reviews
2.45 miles away
Calstock Arts Centre
16 reviews
3.50 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$5 - US$9
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 15:00
Thursday
10:00 - 15:00
Friday
10:00 - 15:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lopwell Dam | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7BZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Plymouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1752 695978
  • E-mail
Description
The Old Pump House has now closed and Jayne and all the team have moved to Jayne's at Princetown Come and see us there for the same great food and service
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing