We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
The Bull and Bush in Torquay is situated just a short walk from the beach in the hustle and bustle of the main bed and breakfast district in the bay. We offer a warm, friendly environment to relax, eat and enjoy the drinks we have on offer. Our menu has a huge selection of delicious traditional pub classics including hand-battered fish and chips and many more. Come by and visit our lovely beer garden, it's the ideal location to chill out and enjoy the sea air in this beautiful coastal holiday location. Order a proper pint of cask ale, refreshing glass of wine, one of our spirits or a soft drink, there's something for everyone to enjoy. Your whole family is welcome at the Bull and Bush in Torquay;
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Reservations, Dog Friendly
Reviews (693)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
323
218
66
29
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
323
218
66
29
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pudding chicken fish and chips the pub ate here nice atmosphere visit torquay booked a table pint landlord
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went here with the missus, reasonably priced food steak was cooked perfectly and even have daily deals (Thursday steak & drink £12 etc). Had a game of pool on there new table. Run by a lovely couple.

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, General Manager at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Shane W, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bull & Bush! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Bull & Bush

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here before with work and was good, so brought the family in to try it. Food was tasty, some good drinks offers on. Sunday roast was amazing. Staff were polite and friendly. Will be back again 👌

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, General Manager at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is a rather potent smell before you enter this pub, but we decided to try it anyway. Huge mistake ! There is possibly more on sale here than there should be, it could do with a visit from the local police. The owner is...possibly the most miserable host I have encountered whilst in Torquay, possibly due to items that are not normally on sale in the venue. Plenty of decent pubs in the local area.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rude welcome to say the least not particularly clean food was average it was also spoilt by loud bad language from the pool room which is open plan would not go there again or recommend it.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, General Manager at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Michael R thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. Take care.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Casual dinner out with hubby. Had Scampi and chips. Hubby had pie and chips. Cooked beautifully . We both enjoyed our meal which was served quickly and was very hot. Staff were very friendly.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, General Manager at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Paulin E, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bull & Bush!

Reviewed 28 March 2024

Went to the Bull and Bush over the last 3 nights and was greeted by amazing food at reasonable prices with brilliant friendly staff. Would definitely recommend. The weekly deals on offer were absolutely amazing

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

Reviewed 27 March 2024 via mobile

Lovely pub who make you and your dog feel so welcome! Tasty generous sized meals, great location, clean, well run place with friendly regular customers as well as the staff. What tops it off is they'll accomodate dietary requirements if you make sure to mention...it when ordering your food. Excellent!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Adele C, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bull & Bush! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 24 March 2024

Visited a couple of weekends back. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, food was lovely and the free pool table enhanced our already fantastic visit. Most important though was the reasonably priced drinks. Will definitely be back when in South Devon again.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2024

Passenger55374384139, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bull & Bush! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 7 March 2024

Food was great. Pub was clean. Friendly staff. Smoking area. Dog friendly. Free Wi-Fi. Drink offers. Big TV’s. Pool table and okay toilets.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Siobhang157, thank you so much for the positive review! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you. We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

A quick phone call to check food was being served later that evening, and if we needed to book. Very friendly owner answered and said they were quiet that day so no need to book, but it is always worth checking. We had a couple...of drinks and some food. Chicken kebab served on naan bread was absolutely delicious. Burger was very tasty too. Lots to choose from on the menu, really friendly welcome. We will definitely return when in the area . Thank you so much ☺️More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2024

Glossybird, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Bull & Bush! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, Bull & Bush

Reviewed 8 February 2024

Love it and good pub and good service and good stuff and good food and good choices of food and drink. Amazing staff. Dog friendly. Reasonable price

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Henry E, thank you so much for the positive review! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

Popped in on the Sunday night at 10 to 9 and not expecting any kind of food. Ask the Lovely landlady if it is possible to get something to eat and she immediately said yes, I place my order and my food was on my...table within 15 minutes.. I had the home-made lasagna with chips and a side salad and have to say it was absolutely delicious and I totally cleaned my plate. I’ll definitely be going back again for some delicious home-cooked food, highly recommended..More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Powshrivenham, thank you so much for the positive review! Please don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything additional we can do for you.

Reviewed 3 January 2024 via mobile

Neo again big mistake staff weren’t remotely interested when we walked in to bossy having y laugh with each other finally got their y and order some food from a very limited menu opted for lasagne because who can’t do a lasagna turns out the...bull and bush can’t yeast less watery rago revery microwaved pasta ray some well a couple of mouth full and a few chips worse than microwave from Iceland barges tenge when asked how it was I didn’t air. My opinion gust pointed at the plate full I had left and side what do you think which was laughed off buy the guy serving a child when had no genuine interest in what I thought so we drunk up and left unfortunately as I was convent to where we were staying couldn’t bare to come back so spent our money eals where no wonder it’s emptyMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2024

Thanks for the feedback and we hope you have better luck elsewhere.

Reviewed 2 January 2024

Not a lot o atmosphere but we did go between Christmas and New Year so Torquay quieter than normal..

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2024

Hi Mobile43199774868 thank you for taking the time to leave us your honest feedback.

Reviewed 2 December 2023

Absolutely amazing pub. Great food 100% recommend for anyone! Lasagna is extremely delicious!! The staff are very welcoming and very nice!! 1000% come back again!! :))

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pub Service Desk, Owner at Bull & Bush, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Patricia Guest House
167 reviews
.02 miles away
Trelawney Hotel
582 reviews
.06 miles away
Beverley Hotel
46 reviews
.07 miles away
South View
31 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Indi-Yang
110 reviews
.07 miles away
The Noble Tree
86 reviews
.21 miles away
Aztec Bistro
319 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Torre Abbey
861 reviews
.29 miles away
South West Coast Path Walk- Meadfoot & London Bridge
71 reviews
.23 miles away
Play Cafe
175 reviews
.24 miles away
Torquay military museum
7 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Una C
16 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Pompal | Reviewed this property |
Yes, pub was crowded and there was a step up to a vacant table. However, a very attentive waiter ensured we were OK and helped my wife from her wheelchair to the table.
0
Votes
elga_stroud
13 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Joylep | Reviewed this property |
We stayed at the Riviera Hotel. It's about 3 minutes walk away.
2
Votes
Lou M
7 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Gatzy | Reviewed this property |
They do bed and bbreakfast The pub does do bed and breakfast but have only been once so not sure on prices . We had a couple of drinks with friends before an evening at the theatre so don't know the opening and closing... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

BULL & BUSH, Torquay - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bull & Bush

Bull & Bush is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5