We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


30 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5RY, England
+44 1803 864682
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good25%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (144 reviews)
“steak” (67 reviews)
“fries” (17 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Pizza, European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
30 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5RY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We have never left a restaurant without ordering before but after being seated in an awkward corner and then left for over 20 minutes without being offered a drink we took our custom elsewhere.

Thank Sunseeker943
Reviewed 1 week ago

Really unhappy about having to write this and have repeatedly tried to phone and speak to management, but Rumour do not seem to be answering their phone any longer. We are not typical Totnesians, having moved from upcountry some 16 years ago. We loved Rumour...More

Thank Martin P
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Martin P I'm really saddened to read your review, and would like to apologise that you have been unable to reach us over the phone in 20 or so hours since you dined with us. If you tried to call in the evening after...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely welcome from Alastair. We had a quiet drink and a chat. Will definitely visit again when I'm in the area. Thankyou

Thank kate w
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear kate w Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

took 6 friends here after hearing it was so good, the pizza was burned, fish meal (skate) was a joke, service average, maybe got a bad day with a bad chef, but had better pizza from the cold freezer at morrisons.

Thank cpc732018
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was busy on a Monday night but the food is really good and fresh so well worth the wait. We had mussels and fish stew as starters, which were delightfully tasty and then we had pizzas. A very thin crust crispy pizza with lots...More

1  Thank angelinat202
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear angelinat202 Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review of our food! We're really pleased you enjoyed it. See you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Met some friends for dinner in Totnes. None of us knew the town. We hadn't had a chance to book. So we took a chance. One Vegetarian, one Steak eater and two Omnivores. Rumour hit the spot for all four of us. Muscles were perfect....More

2  Thank Andrew B
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Andrew B We're really glad the four of you were able to find something that appealed to you all! Please do visit us again soon - our booking system is now online as well, so it is possible to book via our website!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is meant in the spirit of constructive criticism. I have been going to Rumour for years.It is solid if not adventurous. The prices are OK if the food is good. The other night was an exception,alas. The burger was a bit cool.The bun was...More

Thank maiewa
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear maiewa Thank you for the comments. Interestingly the Lamb pizza was one of the most popular we've had in a while - perhaps just not to your taste! We hope you give us another try in the future.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Not often in Totnes and decided on dinner at Rumour. One of Totnes's top restaurants. Been there before. Sadly, with management and, I fear, chef change, we were very disappointed. We were seated at an awkward table for conversation and comfort. Poor acoustic. Menu most...More

Thank largogoldoni
Luna_Rumour, General Manager at Rumour, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear largogoldoni It's a shame to read how disappointed you were with the experience you recently had with us. I can only encourage you to give our ever-changing menu another chance in the future, and urge you to let staff on duty know if you...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table, on arrival we were ignored initially until a pleasant young gentleman eventually took us to our table. He was pleasant & knowledgeable about wine & recommended an expensive but really good red wine. Starters - musseles were mostly empty shells, sauce was...More

2  Thank Annie D
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We were a group of five and we had an enjoyable evening in a good atmosphere. Unfortunately, two of the steaks arrived a bit cold or at least not very hot. One of them was whisked away and reheated. I decided to keep mine and...More

1  Thank david_warden2000
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Royal Seven Stars Hotel
687 reviews
.25 miles away
The Old Forge at Totnes
205 reviews
.47 miles away
The Durant Arms
129 reviews
2.34 miles away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
723 reviews
4.94 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Delphini's Gelato - Reopening April 2019
72 reviews
.05 miles away
Pie Street
304 reviews
.01 miles away
Mangetout Delicatessen & Cafe
212 reviews
.13 miles away
Seeds 2
185 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Timehouse
479 reviews
.08 miles away
Totnes Elizabethan House Museum
73 reviews
.09 miles away
Totnes Guildhall
77 reviews
.07 miles away
St Mary's Church
75 reviews
.02 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
31 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Catherine T | Reviewed this property |
I'm not sure, but the tables are quite small and close together, so not ideal for doggies.
Neil W
13 May 2017|
Response from Luna_Rumour | Property representative |
Hi Neil. We don't make our own - but some customers bring their own and we add our sauce, cheese and toppings to it. Please note we bake often twice daily on site so can never guarantee no cross contamination.
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$7 - US$24
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 High Street, Totnes TQ9 5RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Totnes
  • Phone Number: +44 1803 864682
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing