We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Pizza
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Wine and Beer, Dog Friendly
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
307
192
43
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
307
192
43
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swordfish burger pies ham sunday roast fish and chips real ale the pub dog friendly pub good selection of ales guest ales great traditional pub favourite pub friendly atmosphere beer wadsworth landlord
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Well with these strange times - times in which it can be very difficult and frustrating to just pop into a pub, chat with the landlord and landlady, eat a great home made meal and whilst tucking in it would be rude not to try...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in advance during the tier 2 covid restrictions . Took our dog and the safety precautions were exceptional. We were shown to a safe-distance table, the dog was brought a bowl and biscuits and the staff were very attentive. We ordered drinks and burgers...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 14 December 2020

We live in strange times - times in which it can be difficult to just pop into a pub, chat with the landlord and landlady, eat a good (and substantial, of course) meal and try a beer or two. Thankfully, the Goat and Tricycle serves...More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 November 2020

We have just moved to the area and were pleased to find this place what i call a proper old school pub with great beers and really good food that is well priced. the staff work so hard and manage to serve all the customers...More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
GoatandTricycle, General Manager at The Goat & Tricycle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

Thanks so much.. it was a pleasure to serve you.we look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

Covid rules makes things difficult, however upon arrival we were taken to our take and given a menu, it was a bit abrupt and a little unfriendly. Service was slow and given you have to stay seated added to the angst. Food good but not...More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
GoatandTricycle, General Manager at The Goat & Tricycle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2020

So sorry to hear this.. we appreciate your feedback and hope you will come and see us and show you that this must have been a rare blip!

Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

Great range of ales and food and dog friendly. Friendly staff. Lots of space and lovely covered garden. Very slightly off the beaten track but worth it.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
GoatandTricycle, General Manager at The Goat & Tricycle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

Many thanks for your kind words... we hope to see you again!

Reviewed 13 October 2020

We visited here two years ago when we were last in Bournmouth as it was near to our hotel we were very pleased to find it had reopened again just recently .Very well organised covid friendly good menu food very tasty as usual went twice...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
GoatandTricycle, General Manager at The Goat & Tricycle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

We are pleased you enjoyed the experience... please don’t leave it for another two years!😀

Reviewed 4 October 2020

Although the pub staff were very friendly and polite and the website says dogs are allowed, unfortunately children are not allowed and we were asked to leave, I think is quite sad in the 21st century

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
GoatandTricycle, General Manager at The Goat & Tricycle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

Thanks for your feedback.. we are currently exploring our licensing opportunities.

Reviewed 30 September 2020

What a lovely pub - welcome was friendly and service excellent, especially in these ever changing times. Well Done

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
GoatandTricycle, General Manager at The Goat & Tricycle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

So pleased you enjoyed the experience.. thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback.

Reviewed 24 September 2020

Popped in for a drink after having dinner and we were made to feel really welcome. Such a selection of drinks we were spoiled for choice. Lovely staff and really comfortable relaxing atmosphere, wish it was our local!

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
GoatandTricycle, General Manager at The Goat & Tricycle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2020

We wish you were one of our locals too! Glad you enjoyed it!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Durley Grange Hotel
505 reviews
.08 miles away
Bournemouth West Cliff Hotel
2,610 reviews
.13 miles away
New Westcliff Hotel
633 reviews
.14 miles away
The Croham Hotel
471 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Olive Cafe
297 reviews
.05 miles away
Steam Vintage Tea Rooms
467 reviews
.03 miles away
SORRISO
484 reviews
.06 miles away
Koh Thai Bournemouth
1,349 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Square
618 reviews
.35 miles away
Canvas
68 reviews
.02 miles away
Poole Hill Brewery
33 reviews
.02 miles away
The Winchester
10 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
J2342XTcarolineh
28 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Karenboothroyd | Reviewed this property |
Just turn up but think they stop taking orders around 9pm
1
Vote
Eileen K
12 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from tonytinaL | Reviewed this property |
They just say no children allowed perhaps ring them...
0
Votes
ClaireS4318
30 July 2017|
Answer
Response from tonytinaL | Reviewed this property |
No they don't allow children. Bizarre I know but that's their decision
-1
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Goat & Tricycle
    How is The Goat & Tricycle rated?
    The Goat & Tricycle is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4
    • Service: 4
    • Value: 4
    • Atmosphere: 4.5