We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spyglass & Kettle

25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth BH6 3PW, England
+44 1202 424888
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good29%
  • Average19%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible17%
Travellers talk about
“scampi” (4 reviews)
“nice pub” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth BH6 3PW, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Jo and her team are a credit to the company. Every member of staff were helpful and informative. Nothing too much trouble and always a smile. Food stunning and hot just like the gorgeous coffee!! Atmosphere brilliant in the busy pub, and regulars made us...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Lorraine910
Reviewed 4 days ago

The website advertises Steak Thursday. We asked a member of staff about it and he said they didn't do it. When we ordered the Steak Thursday discount was applied. Staff need much better training to help customers. Steak was average but not great.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank R_719228
Reviewed 1 week ago

A decent pub for stop off after a delightful walk along the beach from Bournemouth. The pub had a warm friendly atmosphere and seemed to be a popular place. If you get one of the Greene King season ticket cards you can get 10% off...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank thedealhunter2018
Spyglass77, Public Relations Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Glad you had a good time woth is at the Spyglass Look forward to seeing you again Regards Spyglass Team

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Often pop in here for a pint with my son, but not eaten for years. I had the Southern fried Chicken burger (£9.29) and my boy had the Gammon and chips (£9.59). Was great. Ordinary unpretentious pub grub, but tasty, hot, and well presented. Lovely.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank DorzetDave
Spyglass77, Public Relations Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Pleased you enjoyed your meals Regards Spyglass

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we booked in for a night stay .we booked food .the staff were friendley .the food arrived hot very nice enjoyed . we will return .thank you

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank hugoss2011
Spyglass77, Guest Relations Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Spyglass See you again soon Regards Team Spyglass

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I can’t say enough how wonderful the team at spyglass and kettle was for my sons 18th birthday this evening, sectioned off a area for us, and couldn’t do enough to make sure he had a wonderful evening with his family, went above and beyond,...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Faromi26
Spyglass77, Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We’re so pleased he had a great 18th with us Thankyou for your review and your kinds words I’ll be sure to pass onto the team Look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Jo

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food and service was spot on. Our Italian waiter Pierro and the manager Jo could not do enough to ensure our day was special; even our dogs were welcome. We will be back.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Debbie P
Spyglass77, Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for you fantastic review We’re so pleased you and your furry friends had a great Christmas with us Hope to see you again soon Spyglass & Kettle

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think the recently new Manager, Jo, and her husband, have really turned the Spy around... back to a friendly and pleasant place. A big thank you and well done to all the team for a super ambience and service over the Christmas period. We...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Tour630485
Spyglass77, Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou for your comments We as a team really appreciate your great feedback Pleased you had a great time seeing the new year in with us and hope you were not too worse for ware the next day I’ll be sure to pass on your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice and comfortable, staff make you feel welcome, they work as a good team, the food is excellant, selection of beers and wines are very good, good value for money

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Tour63362785032
Spyglass77, Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thankyou so much for your review We look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Team Spyglass

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Table of 8 chose to have xmas eve Christmas dinner together as some of us were working Christmas day. Food was awful prawn cocktail still frozen veg wattery turkey cold in the middle water on plate stuffing balls could not get your fork into let...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Damnnicelass
Spyglass77, Public Relations Manager at Spyglass & Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I apologise you had a unsatisfactory visit woth us Thankyou for your comments though, I will ensure to pass these on to the relevant team to ensure this doesn’t happen again Thankyou again for your feedback Regards Spyglass & Kettle

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 65 hotels in Bournemouth
The Southbourne Grove House
39 reviews
.34 miles away
Captain's Club Hotel
904 reviews
1.40 miles away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
675 reviews
1.45 miles away
Chine Hotel
1,150 reviews
1.52 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Deli Rocks
200 reviews
.42 miles away
The Larder House
704 reviews
.43 miles away
Brewhouse & Kitchen - Southbourne
632 reviews
.51 miles away
Velo Domestique
53 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Southbourne Beach
169 reviews
.57 miles away
Shelley Theatre
71 reviews
.99 miles away
Yemanja Therapy
42 reviews
.31 miles away
The Wight Bear Ale House Micropub
83 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Spyglass & Kettle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Free Off-Street Parking
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25-27 Stourwood Avenue, Bournemouth BH6 3PW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bournemouth
  • Phone Number: +44 1202 424888
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing