We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trumpet Major

Claimed
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveller rating
126
159
109
74
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
126
159
109
74
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding buy one get one free children's play area family meal served promptly specials board extensive menu car park sunday lunch carvery dorset
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited here with family and food is very good the two for one deal is all worth while. Relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant. Staff behind the bar, waiters and waitresses were very helpful, would definitely return and recommend

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 366lizzieh
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visiting over the last 20 years or so this pub has been variable, but this time it was the last straw. Real ale was off (vinegar) At least 6 specials were off, one of the meals on the BOGOFF we ordered was off, then the...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Littlejohn67
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, firstly im sorry you feel this way. Food items do sell out that's the nature of our business with over 60 dishes im more than confident something would of taken your fancy. The specials board photo you provided...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everytime I have visited the Trumpet Major it is an experience, you can never tell what the meal or the service will be like! The food is generally hot and some is quite appealing but like a lot of things in life the thought is...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Andrew S
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us went to the Trumpet Major for a meal for my daughter's 8th birthday, without any prior booking and the place being relatively busy, the staff were very accommodating and found us a table quickly and an enjoyable evening was had by...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Chrissi321k
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your postive review, Paris was delighted to hear of your experience. Regards

Reviewed 11 January 2019

Went here as a belated celebration for a friends 0th birthday that I could not make as there were engineering works on the railway lines and I was working ! We were greeted promptly and taken to a suitable table, and drinks were delivered straight...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Ann L
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for you postive feedback, we are all glad you enjoyed your visit to us.

Reviewed 6 January 2019 via mobile

A very disappointing carvery. Cold plates, chewy beef, hard veg, uncooked stuffing. Not asked once how the meal was and if everything was ok and to top it off the server stank of body odour. Toilets left a bit to be desired tooMore

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Foodnmorefood
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that somehow we didn't check back your table. I am sure if you had actually spoken to the duty manager we would of looked after you, we have had no other coments about the need...More

Reviewed 27 December 2018 via mobile

In short Christmas Dinner was terrible should of went for the two n one would of cost half the price of the frozen veg (aunt Bessie’s) toast Potato’s. Assistant Manager who was rude and arrogant after going back 3 days later and she couldn’t even...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Planejoker
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, as you are aware I have already responded to your feedback earlier today, but it appears you want to use every social media platform. Well for the public let me correct you inaccurate feedback, you have complained 5...More

Reviewed 24 December 2018

If you want frozen partly cooked food, then this is your place. We made the horrendous mistake of having our Christmas Lunch here - a mistake we will NEVER repeat. The waiting staff, while polite in a grunt a smirk kinda of way, could do...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Chris M
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2018

Dear Sir, Could you please contact me in regards to your allegation of food poisoning, I will log your allegations with the local EHO immediately once you have contacted me. On the evening it self you didn't complain at all infact the person paying the...More

Reviewed 16 December 2018

I only ever write a review if something is extremely good, or extremely bad, and this wasn't a good one. Went with a group of volunteers for our Christmas lunch, and chose the pre-ordered Christmas menu. We contacted the restaurant several times, as they had...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ToniG1348
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Dear Guest, Thank your for your feedback, I didn't want to get into a long winded response to your feedback as you seem to think my responses have a undertone. I would say my responses are fair. Anyway should you wish to contact me feel...More

Reviewed 15 December 2018 via mobile

The Trumpet Major is a well situated pub that offers food at very good prices. In addition, there are two for one deals which makes the visit very reasonable. There are plenty of tables and the staff are friendly. The menu is what I would...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ATC147
737simonm, General Manager at The Trumpet Major, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for your response, we look forward to seeing you again. Merry Christmas and a happy new year.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
The Casterbridge
180 reviews
.65 miles away
Premier Inn Dorchester
1,119 reviews
.66 miles away
Junction Hotel
136 reviews
.70 miles away
Best Western Wessex Royal Hotel
460 reviews
.88 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 147 nearby restaurants
La Caverna
330 reviews
.67 miles away
Potters Cafe Bistro
344 reviews
.70 miles away
Wagamama
301 reviews
.68 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Dorchester
541 reviews
.68 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 64 nearby attractions
Shire Hall Historic Courthouse Museum
109 reviews
.84 miles away
Max Gate
282 reviews
.14 miles away
Dorset County Museum
427 reviews
.79 miles away
Borough Gardens
85 reviews
.86 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Saucelady
15 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 737simonm | Property representative |
Thank you for your questions, offcourse we control expiry dates. To say we have make shift expiry labels show how much you actually know about food safety, the labels used are industry standard , if you read the... More
0
Votes
CliveT90
16 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kellybelly94 | Reviewed this property |
Well wat did I ask
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing