The Secret Garden Café

The Secret Garden Café

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+44 1305 457300+ Add website
Hours
Mon
9:00 - 15:00
Tue
9:00 - 15:00
Wed
9:00 - 15:00
Thu
9:00 - 15:00
Fri
9:00 - 15:00
Sat
9:00 - 15:00
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
£7.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
features
Is this restaurant a hidden gem or off-the-beaten path?
About
The Secret Garden Cafe specialises in Vegetarian, Vegan and Gluten-Free delights. Our menus have been designed so that there is always something for everyone and our interior is as unique as our menu. We are currently in the middle of moving to our new Dorchester home and can't wait to re-open very soon.
PRICE RANGE
£7.00 – £25.00
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles34 reviews
Excellent
22
Very good
2
Average
6
Poor
3
Terrible
2
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Sian P
Chickerell4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 friends
We travelled from Weymouth to Dorchester to experience our favourite cafe in their new location and weren’t disappointed! The atmosphere was cosy and we were happy to see our favourites still on the menu. We ordered a goats cheese and bettor salad, avocado and grilled mushroom sandwich and waffles, plus coffees too. We are so glad we can enjoy our favourite vegan and veggie food again after having withdrawals, and we can’t wait to experience the cute courtyard in the Spring!
Written 3 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hi Sian, Thank you for making the not-so-long journey to check out our new digs 😁 Once the team have gotten used to the new layout and we've found our Dorchester feet then we'll be putting on some new and exciting specials I'm sure you'll want to try. The courtyard is almost done so all we need now is a little sun and we're all set 😎 Thank you for the review and we'll see you again soon.
Written 17 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lucy McDiarmid
Wimborne Minster26 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 friends
A little disappointed, took my friend out for her birthday, booked a table for 1pm and we were really looking forward to eating here. However,we were told there was no quiche left ,then no pie left so we ordered paninis with a portion of chips and waited about 15 mins,drank our tea and chatted.Then my friend was told they'd run out of her panini choice and they had no chips left.We were offered sweet potato fries instead and my Friend chose a different panini.The food finally arrived about 45mins after we'd ordered .The staff were polite and apologetic and the food was good ,just wished they'd not run out of so much by 1pm !!may come back but at 12md 😉
Written 16 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Catz
Weymouth6 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 family
First visit to new location and whilst the staff were very friendly, the service was very, very slow. It took twenty minutes to get our drinks (not complicated drinks, just water and cold bottled drink) and 40 minutes for our food. It was not overly busy so I’m not sure why everything was taking so long to accomplish. Vegan quiche was served cold, which was odd, and it had a weird consistency. This is a shame as I’ve always enjoyed the food and experience at the secret garden. Maybe I’ll just have coffee and cake next time…
Written 10 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review. Please accept my since apologies about your below-par visit. Half the team is very new and we're all still adjusting to our new and very different layout, so we'd like to reassure you that this is not the norm and your feedback has now been passed onto the team. Hopefully, you also passed this on to the team while you were there. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again where we can hopefully turn this 3 into a 5
Written 17 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

NodimaCC
Castle Cary3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 couples
Visited Saturday 24th Feb 24. On the plus side the cafe is attractive and had plenty of staff. We are vegan & Gluten Free. Menu says ask server about burger option which we did. Waitress after checking with kitchen advised that Moving Mountains cheese burger was Vegan & GF, we know that Moving Mountains don’t do a GF burger but the kitchen insisted that this option was GF, so we asked to talk to the chef which she happily agreed to. Chef never came but another waitress then advised us that MM burger was not GF but they had a chickpea burger which was, so we ordered this option, along with the lasagne. Requested vegan mayo as well. Not sure why but got the feeling from the staff that we were a pain. Meals took along time to arrive. Food was very nice although the burger was very dry. Had a tiny smear of mayo on it, so we asked for a side dish of mayo which we were happy to pay for, again made to feel like we were a nuisance. When the mayo eventually arrived the waitress placed it on the table without words and out of reach deliberately. All in all not a great experience. When running a cafe specialising in vegan and GF food, the staff really need to know about food intolerances and the ingredients used in their food otherwise someone could end up very ill. If they want to attract customers with special dietary requirements the staff need to have more training and not make you feel uncomfortable. We travelled 36 miles to visit this cafe and were hoping to make this a regular venue for us but unfortunately we won’t be returning. If we didn’t know about Moving Mountains burgers not being GF we would have end up very poorly and that is not acceptable.
Written 24 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hi there, Firstly I'd like to offer my sincere apologies for the allergy issue. This is not normal and retraining has since been given to all stream members. Considering part of our niche is being a Gluten-Free cafe, this is something we take very very seriously. Please could you drop us an email and we'd be happy to discuss your visit further as we'd hate to lose a customer due to training issues just after launch. Kindest regards Barry
Written 3 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Stellsbells4
28 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 friends
From the outset this visit was a disaster. First the order for drinks was misunderstood and when delivered were asked to pay for another drink; we were advised of a 30 minute wait when in fact it was around an hour - not good enough when a guest is dependent on medication around meal times. Twice we had to go to the desk and ask how much longer the food would be. Finally the food came out and it was all wrong! Run by a couple of young girls we believe the ‘cook’ was on her break but guests just not told. Chairs not nice as covered in bird droppings It’s a lovely location just a shame this experience of Dorchester was spoilt by dreadful service
Written 19 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

megan m
Somerset2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 family
Service was good, they have made a great spot and made what was Nappers Mite look great. It was clean & tidy, but unfortunately the food did let it down. I ordered an orange juice and a scrambled eggs on toast… of which once it arrived it was lukewarm barely toasted white sliced bread with a little bit of microwaved scrambled egg on. I thought that it was going to be more higher standard of food, considering there are local bakeries in town of which they could use freshly baked bread… but won’t be returning for breakfast I’m afraid.
Written 21 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hi Megan, I'm so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience with us yesterday. We went through our tickets from yesterday but there were no scrambled egg orders. What day did you visit and did you speak to a member of the team so we can investigate further? Please be assured that our scrambled eggs are cooked in the pan not microwaved. As for the bread situation, we can only apologise that it was not toasted enough and we would have happily corrected the situation if you had spoken to a member of the team. We are already looking at different bread/suppliers so again, we can only apologise for the current bread not being up to standard. Please contact us via messenger and we'll be happy to discuss further. Kindest regards Barry
Written 22 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lucy L
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 friends
We visited on open day and as always we really enjoyed the food and the choice for those with dietary needs. It was easy to keep my toddler happy with your gluten and dairy free waffles with almond based icecream! We noticed how friendly the staff were and the new cafe has a lovely atmosphere. Looking forward to coming again soon!
Written 2 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hi Lucy, Thank you for taking the time to review us and also for popping in on day 1. We're so happy you enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. We have been very lucky to have such an amazing team over the years and our new additions are no exception. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Written 17 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

StaffordshireFreddy
100 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 family
First time here for the three of us. We ordered two soft drinks a coffee and two slices of cake. We sat down and waited ages for the two soft drinks to arrive and had drunk these before the Coffee arrived and now we were waiting ages for the cakes. Eventually the cakes were bought but they were both the wrong ones, by this time we were rely fed up as all our drinks had been drunk and the waitress was now fumbling over the cakes being wrong so we told her to leave the cakes and we would pay for the drinks. She did this then asked it we wanted the cakes boxed to take anyway, she seemed oblivious to the fact that we didn't order these ones so I said no. She tried to make excuses saying she was short of staff etc. but we counted a number of girls working. We eat out every evening and mid day and have been doing so for years so e are well versed in how good or bad a place is. Of course we will not be going here again!
Written 17 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Clare M
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 friends
So happy the Secret Garden has come to our town! I am a returning customer from their previous location so have enjoyed many dishes on their menu - today's oat latte and Garden Porcine chips were excellent. The waffles are amazing. Many items are gluten free so a return visit is a must to try them all! The staff are all great and the atmosphere busy yet cosy.
Written 2 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hi Clare, Thank you for the kind words. We're beyond happy with our move to Dorchester and have no plans to move again... ever 😁 Just so you are aware, around 90% of our dishes (maybe more) are Gluten-Free and we have plans to add more very soon. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Written 17 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue Rushton
Weymouth29 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 friends
Made the journey from Weymouth to be part of their special first day in the new venue. Food is as wonderful as ever, I had the jacket potato with avocado and mushroom and my friend had the home made pea and mint soup. Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our food. The new surroundings are warm and cosy and I can’t wait to sit outside in the courtyard when warmer weather arrives. Apart from the delicious food what I also love is being able to choose from the main menu and not being made to feel awkward and given a separate menu because of my food choices. The menu literally caters for everyone and does it exceptionally well. Post Christmas dieting stopped me from ordering my normal waffles for dessert, they really are the best in town. First of many visits.
Written 3 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hi Susan, Thank you for taking the time to come and visit us in Dorchester and also for reviewing us. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed the new premises and we can't wait to get the rest of it finished. The courtyard is almost complete and we'll have the garden ready before the warmer weather arrives so you can treat yourselves to our glorious offerings in the sun 😎
Written 17 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chris P
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 solo
This has become my most frequent haunt in Dorchester. I'm almost always served by Shanice who is always friendly, attentive and efficient. Whether I come in for a quick coffee or for food/waffles with my daughters I always leave happier than when I arrived. 5 stars.
Written 31 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Taz2471
Southampton13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 couples
We went in on Saturday. Asked if we could bring the dogs in. Lady said yes. Showed us to a table, said she would bring menus over. 15minutes later we went and got the menus ourselves. Another 10 minutes & no one came to take our order, despite all 4 waiting staff walking past our table numerous times on the way to the kitchen. Only 6 other people inside besides us, so not busy. We finally left when the 4 waiting staff were all eating cake at the till & enjoying a laugh. They didn’t even take a drink order from us! Rubbish service. However, we did find a really nice place to eat, with friendly helpful staff at "The Horse With The Red Umbrella".
Written 5 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jen
Weymouth2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 friends
Visited for the first time today with a friend, lovely atmosphere. We both opted for the butternut squash soup with a crème freche swirl, chilli oil and the most amazing caramelised onion garnish. Thoroughly enjoyed it and was excellent value will definitely return.
Written 27 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hi there passenger (not a dark passenger I hope - a little Dexter joke), We're so happy you enjoyed your first visit with us. The soups have definitely proved very popular since our move to Dorchester. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and we hope to see you again soon 😃
Written 3 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Em N
14 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 couples
The most AMAZING vegetarian food. My partner and I are not vegetarians, but its the kind of good food where you don't even miss the meat. My personal favourite is the homemade vegan and gluten free Berry burt waffle with Nutella and whipped cream😍
Written 29 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Thank you Em, We'll be back open and serving amazing waffles real soon 😁
Written 30 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

pinksugarboat
Dorchester4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 family
Thankyou so much for a lovely brunch to celebrate a family member's birthday today. Between us we had waffles, avocado on toast, eggs on toast, fruit with yogurt and a small breakfast, all of which were very much enjoyed. Good portion sizes - especially the waffles. Fresh fruit for all relevant meals. With wonderful service. Will definitely be back. Welcome to Dorchester!.
Written 17 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Barry Whettingsteel
Hello and thank you for the kind words. We're so happy that you folks had an enjoyable time visiting us and we look forward to seeing you again soon 😁
Written 18 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 35
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Al Molo Dorchester
££ - £££ · Italian, Seafood, Contemporary
Drgnfly Pan Asian Restaurant - Dorchester
££ - £££ · Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Japanese Fusion
The Brewers Arms Pub
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
The Thimble Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub
The Posh Partridge
££ - £££ · Cafe, British
The King and Thai
££ - £££ · Thai
Potters Cafe Bistro
££ - £££ · Cafe, British, Contemporary
The New Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Wagamama
££ - £££ · Japanese, Asian, Healthy
The Sun Inn
££ - £££ · Bar, British, Pub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SECRET GARDEN CAFÉ, Dorchester - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

All Dorchester HotelsDorchester Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Dorchester
Things to DoFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire