We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coppleridge Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Single-use or sanitized menus
Read more
Updated 21/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 21/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$19 - US$40
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
121
36
16
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
121
36
16
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken roast cod pudding stayed here friendly venue the usual pub grub sunday lunch hope to visit again helpful and friendly staff family celebration lovely dinner country pub the portion size lovely pub wonderful food wedding rooms
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 December 2020

We visited as a family group (2 households, so adjacent tables to conform with Covid rules). I was delighted to see that the restaurant was busy. The roasts were superb, as were desserts, and service was excellent. Children very happy with their meals too.

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 26 October 2020

I love this place! Went for a meal last night for our anniversary and, as usual, we were not disappointed. The food is fantastic. (The duck spring roll starter was a revelation! - recommended by Emilie who was serving us. Great advice!) We live in...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 25 October 2020 via mobile

An absolute gem of a find! Perfect location for a stop over on route to Devon but good enough to be the destination in itself! Huge, well appointed rooms which are spotlessly clean despite being dog friendly. Stunning meal in a homely inn with roaring...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Sat outside on the terrace in the autumn sunshine to have sunday lunch and all the trimmings. Beautiful grounds, autumnal trees and great food. Chicken roast was good as was the trio of lamb, beef and chicken. Delicious leek and cauliflower cheese. A great asset...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
PaulGraham1, Owner at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2020

Dear Stuart T, Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch with us! What's better than a delicious heart-warming roast in the autumn sunshine! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Graham, Tina & team Coppleridge.

Reviewed 8 October 2020

Stayed here with our dog just for one night and had a meal in the restaurant. Staff were following all the required Covid regulations and our waitress at dinner friendly and helpful. Large portions,well- cooked food and the chef's homemade ice cream was the best...More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
PaulGraham1, Owner at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2020

Dear RplusH, Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate your comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. Chef Claire is very happy that you enjoyed her ice cream! We are very much looking forward welcoming you back in the...More

Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

We had dinner at the Coppleridge Inn for the first time on Friday evening. It's a lovely pub with beautiful views. The waitresses were friendly on arrival and it was easy to scan the NHS test and trace QR code. Great food and portion sizes,...More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
PaulGraham1, Owner at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Dear Lauren R, thank you very much for your feedback on your dinner here at The Coppleridge Inn. We are very pleased to learn you had an enjoyable time and look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon. Tina

Reviewed 4 September 2020

This is the first time I've written a review on trip advisor. We stayed here on the weekend of the 21st and 22nd August this year and i have to say, its the poorest accommodation i have stayed in for a long, long time. Whilst...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
PaulGraham1, Owner at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Dear Jason F, I am very sorry to read your comments on your recent stay here. We were very surprised, as we pride ourselves on our attention to detail, including cleanliness, and offering every guest a relaxing and enjoyable stay. I have spoken to our...More

Reviewed 16 August 2020

Try the smoked trout salad, abosolute show-stopper. Really great food for adults and childrens menu was perfect in size and price. Really superb place to dine, different rooms to book in from more formal to laid back and al-fresco.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

Yes!!!! Always a pleasure to find somewhere that does the usual pub grub but whose specials are in fact a bit special. Looking forward to returning. My friend had chicken and gnocchi- divine. I had cod and ratatouille- also amazing. Puddings were fab and yeh-...More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

First class. Slightly up market. Suitable for the disabled. Rustic out in the country plenty of parking. Good value two course £12. Further menu all reasonably priced with varied selection. Nice touch cheese bread in table when we sat down first. Coffee served with small...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
thecoppleridgeinn, Owner at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2020

Many thanks Vanessa. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit. I hope to see you again soon. Chris Goodinge Owner

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Grosvenor Arms
824 reviews
2.59 miles away
The Kings Arms Inn
126 reviews
2.88 miles away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
551 reviews
3.08 miles away
The Ship Inn & Hotel
159 reviews
4.41 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Fleur de Lys
312 reviews
2.49 miles away
The Dolphin Inn
31 reviews
2.43 miles away
The Ugly Duckling Cafe
173 reviews
2.61 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Light and Land
56 reviews
2.03 miles away
Gold Hill Museum
294 reviews
2.64 miles away
Visit Hillbrush
41 reviews
4.43 miles away
Shaftesbury Abbey Museum & Garden
137 reviews
2.63 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
74KP
30 July 2018|
Answer
Response from EastendBoy1 | Reviewed this property |
Yes
1
Vote
graham881
10 April 2016|
Answer
Response from thecoppleridgeinn | Property representative |
sp7 9hw
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Coppleridge Inn

  • Yes, The Coppleridge Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

  • The Coppleridge Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 4