We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Swan Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Socially distanced dining tables
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Dog Friendly, Family style, Non-smoking restaurants
Reviews (1,306)
Filter reviews
1,297 results
Traveller rating
862
295
71
34
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
862
295
71
34
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish pie ribs whitebait beef pudding sunday roast chilli potatoes salad the pub french chef gluten free menu book in advance large portions great menu lovely meal booked a table
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

Very good, varied menu. I had a delicious fish pie and people around all enjoyed their meals. The staff were extremely efficient and place felt Covid safe.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Booked here a few weeks before our holiday to Swanage...so glad we did. Food and service all first class. In my opinion best place to eat in Swanage and highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Although busy, the service was speedy, efficient and polite. We were a bit worried about being seated in the garden but it was fabulous…,,, undercover, lovely plants and heaters. Food was also great. No wonder it’s so busy there. Will certainly go back and highly...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 days ago

We visited three times in the last few days - once during a family holiday and twice during Folk Festival weekend. The food was exceptional, with very attentive service. The Black Swan catered for a celiac and two small children, and also with a largish...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I Chose a Lamb chop with a port jus and dauphinois potatoes with assorted vegetables it was the last one on the menu. In the middle of the night the pains in my stomach started followed by diarrhoea which lasted for 3 days. Unfortunately the...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Ericoswan, Owner at The Black Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jackie, We are sorry to hear that you have been unwell. However, we do find it hard to understand that this would have been as a consequence of your meal here. Your lamb chops were delivered, prepared and cooked fresh on the day as...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate out 3 times in our week in Swanage and this was definitely the best. The food is not haute cuisine, but it’s also way above average pub grub. Some really good flavours snd lovely dishes. The prices are really good value for the...More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Was visiting sites in the area, this pub was recommended, so we decided to try it out. Due to time of year and impact of pandemic we knew we should probably have booked ahead, but as they opened at 1700 and we were in the...More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was beautiful. Cheerful staff. Great fun at the Thursday quiz. Plenty of first rate customer service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We purchased a holiday home in Swanage in December 2018. We've spent many a day walking past the pub on our way back home to the most wonderful smell of enticing aromas coming form the pubs Kitchen. During 2018 we were finding our feet as...More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time in the Black Swan, from the kerb it looks like any other town pub however we were recommended it and booked while on holiday. All the tables were reserved, which was a great sign and I was not disappointed. The food was excellent,...More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
696 reviews
.17 miles away
Gainsborough House Hotel
1 review
.24 miles away
Grand Hotel Swanage
1,308 reviews
.86 miles away
The Pines Hotel
656 reviews
1.00 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Java Independent Coffee House
277 reviews
.28 miles away
Bliss Food Co.
288 reviews
.25 miles away
Love Cake etc
797 reviews
.26 miles away
Castaways
288 reviews
.22 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Swanage Railway
3,086 reviews
.20 miles away
Swanage Information Centre
104 reviews
.33 miles away
Swanage Beachfront
37 reviews
.32 miles away
Purbeck New Wave Gallery
8 reviews
.29 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pam C
21 September 2020|
Answer
Response from Ericoswan | Property representative |
Yes we are.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Black Swan Inn

Yes, The Black Swan Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Black Swan Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4