We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bath Arms

££ - £££, British,
3-4 Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
+44 1273 731864
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good33%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (32 reviews)
“sunday roast” (27 reviews)
“rarebit” (5 reviews)
Closes in 8 min
12:00 - 01:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3-4 Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Considering this place is ranked 2nd on trip advisor for roasts I had very high hopes but found it a bit disappointing and not worthy of that rating. The Yorkshire puds were the lowlight, having the consistency of cardboard and not really edible, the carrot...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Nuclear W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I had such personal great service from the staff. Both behind the bar and kitchen who gave up his break.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank dkitson74
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came across this pub whilst wandering the Lanes in Brighton on a drizzly day.We walked in and was immediately taken aback by the warm, cozy and welcoming feel of this pub. It was busy but not too overcrowded and service for a drink was swift....More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Amanda S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All I can say is that service was excellent , as was beer as was the food. Excellent choice and decent sausage sandwich. Just the place to relax in the Lanes - proper old school pub with friendly service .

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank AbarcaBoy
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

If I could give this 0/5 I would. Thoroughly dissapointed in both the service and some of the food. We sat down&ordered before another table and they had eaten & left before our food even arrived!!! Shocking. We ordered a bottle of Peroni, didn't come...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank lhinkley98
Manager B, Manager at The Bath Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Hi there lhinkley98, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor. We fully encourage feedback at The Bath Arms, so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any of our customer's disappointments. I am displeased to hear that...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018

What a great trad pub hidden away down The famous Brighton lanes! The atmosphere is buzzy, the staff charming, the Landlord Mick was super hospitable & friendly, and the Sunday roast was the best ever...I chose the slow roast pressed pork.....perfect crackling, beautiful vegetables that...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Anna W
Manager B, General Manager at The Bath Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi there Anna, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor. We fully encourage feedback here at The Bath Arms, so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any of our customer's disappointments. I am very pleased to...More

Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

Went to the bath arms for lunch love this pub right in the middle of Brighton lanes great place to go friendly staff and good drinks would definitely recommend the bath arms burger is was absolutely delicious and the fish and chipsMore

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank juliemY3634CA
Manager B, General Manager at The Bath Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Hi there Julie M, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor. We fully encourage feedback here at The Bath Arms, so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any of our customer's disappointments. I am very pleased...More

Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

We booked dinner here because we’d had such good meals and service in the past. Sadly we were very disappointed with both. The most obvious problem was the sheer lack of seasoning. Everything tasted bland and unremarkable. The burgers just didn’t give you that juicy...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank penquite
Manager B, Manager at The Bath Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi there Penquite, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor. We fully encourage feedback here at The Bath Arms, so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any of our customer's disappointments. I am displeased to hear...More

Reviewed 12 September 2018

We used to really enjoy this pub with its cosy and friendly atmosphere and good food. We went here for dinner expecting what we were used to, but it appears they have a new chef since we were terribly disappointed. The burger was simply bad...More

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank FACL86
Manager B, Manager at The Bath Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi there FACL86, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor. We fully encourage feedback here at The Bath Arms, so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any of our customer's disappointments. I am displeased to hear...More

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

My father was the Landlord of a pub and some of my earliest memories are of the sounds and the smells of a sixties pub, long before Watneys Red Barrel, Fosters Lager and Wetherspoons. I was bottling up at three years old, child labour was...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank McCLg1962
Manager B, Manager at The Bath Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Hi there McCLg1962, Thanks for taking the time to write us a review here on Tripadvisor. We fully encourage feedback here at The Bath Arms, so that we can celebrate any successes and learn from any of our customer's disappointments. I am very pleased to...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Brighton
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
2,934 reviews
.09 miles away
Hotel du Vin
1,594 reviews
.12 miles away
The Old Ship Hotel
2,888 reviews
.13 miles away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
1,808 reviews
.14 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
64 Degrees
1,300 reviews
.03 miles away
Riddle And Finns The Lanes
1,087 reviews
.04 miles away
Olive Grove
531 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Lanes
5,538 reviews
.06 miles away
The Font
21 reviews
.00 miles away
Choccywoccydoodah
44 reviews
.00 miles away
Bath Arms
29 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bath Arms staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3-4 Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 731864
  • E-mail
Description
However popular the North Laine becomes, the heart of Brighton will always remain The Lanes themselves. There are plenty of pubs among the twisting narrow streets, but none is as well known as the Bath Arms, which enjoys a reputation among tourists and locals alike as THE pub of The Lanes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing