We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OHSO Social

250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 746067
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (6 reviews)
“bread” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

We had our wedding reception at OhSo Social this past weekend and we couldn't have had a better day! Daisy was our main contact at the restaurant and nothing was too much trouble; anything we wanted was accommodated and it all came together brilliantly. We...More

Thank vickym27
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

So Glad we were able to live up to the expectations of your special day! Hope to see you at OHSO again soon! Anniversary party? ;)

Reviewed 14 September 2017

First visit today, ordered fish and chips. It came with mushy peas which we didn't want but no garden peas alternative. when the meal arrived we noticed it was a small meal, chips white, needed more cooking, fish had skin still on it and smelt...More

Thank Yasmeena
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

We do have a disabled toilet just before the gentleman's and Lady's toilets.

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Great location to keep an eye on the sea and catch some sun but some the layout invites seagulls to poop on you (seen happen to many tables around us and happened to my mother in law at our table too) which then prompts a...More

Thank RJ36F7
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

Oh dear, must have been a bad day for Gulls, the down side to our fabulous seaside locations can be the wildlife though more than once in a day let alone a month is rare. Thank you for your feedback about the soap dispensers I've...More

Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Visuted for fish and chios with the kids. Have to order at bar and there was only 1 person taking orders at busy lunchtime. Sat inside as was very windy. Staff efficient but not engaging. Asked for table to be cleaned as felt sticky. Fish...More

Thank cervantes2016
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

Glad you enjoyed our fish and Chips and thanks for the feedback. We are currently looking into refitting several areas of the venue so hope you'll visit us again in the spring to see the changes!

Reviewed 25 August 2017

I want to say a huge thank you for hosting us last Thursday for our WordCamp Brighton volunteers dinner. Everyone had a great time and I can't describe how amazing it was for the organising team to be able to just turn up and have...More

Thank alice12344321
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

So glad you enjoyed your time at OHSO, we certainly enjoyed hosting you! Hope to see you all again soon!

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a friendly place to go with great food for breakfast then this is it. Excellent view of the sea but we were there on a beautiful sunny morning.

Thank clairehR8084SZ
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

So glad you enjoyed your morning by the seaside at OHSO. I hope you'll join us for breakfast again soon!

Reviewed 20 August 2017

A busy cafe/bar right on the beach front. Stopped for drinks and nibbles at lunchtime, large tables for groups on one side and smaller tables with table service on the other. Slow service, drinks and nibbles (chips and onion rings) were good. Portions good value....More

Thank Shimmystars
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

I'm glad you enjoyed you food and drinks and the atmosphere at OHSO. I'm sorry service was slow on the day you stopped in. I do hope you'll come round again soon!

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Have visited this restaurant for lunch in previous years and found it to be of a good standard. However, on visiting Ohso this week just for coffees we were very disappointed. Although it is in a nice position right by the beach they seem to...More

1  Thank SurreyHappyhols
Reviewed 17 August 2017

A menu which suited the whole party from 10 to 70 years old at reasonable prices for a light lunch given the postion, would not go there for dinner, but OK for drinks and nibbles. In a good position looking down the beach and to...More

Thank Denis438
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

It was warm enough to eat on the beach so it would have been wrong not to have done so and Ohso is one of a relatively small number of places right on the beach. I ordered the wrong thing but it was perfectly pleasant...More

Thank fender1961
Management response:Responded 30 September 2017

Glad you enjoyed your time with us hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Boho Gelato
352 reviews
.07 miles away
Terre a Terre
2,289 reviews
.07 miles away
AguaDulce Restaurant
1,091 reviews
.06 miles away
Scoop & Crumb
271 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Old Police Cells Museum
81 reviews
.11 miles away
The Doughnut
185 reviews
.03 miles away
Fishing Museum
79 reviews
.13 miles away
Zorian Artworks
47 reviews
.01 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
arodg01
27 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rachel N | Reviewed this property |
I take my dog in there all the time during the day xx
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$13
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
View, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 746067
  • E-mail
Description
Ohso Social is Brighton's best seafront beach bar! By day we've got a family friendly cafe bar feel, open for hearty, feel-good classic pub grub, tasty salads and Mediterranean inspired sharing platters. Food is sourced from local suppliers and served from breakfast (9am on-season or 10am off-season) right through 'til an early dinner service. In the evening, OhSo turns down the lights and transforms into a beach-side party spot, with DJs at weekends. Bookings are welcome and off-season we offer full venue hire, making us ideal for corporate functions, the 'big 40' party, networking events and more.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing