We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

OHSO Social

250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
+44 1273 746067
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good30%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible20%
Travellers talk about
“mussels” (7 reviews)
“stag do” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Bar, British, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

101 - 110 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2016

We decided on a whim to have fish and chips for lunch. I hadn't checked reviews and we found OHSO Social whilst walking along the beach. We sat outside in the sunshine and were served by a very friendly young girl. Our experience was on...More

1  Thank lobsterchaser
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

lobsterchaser Thanks for your honest review, we are pleased you felt you had a good overall experience, especially as only a few weeks previous someone had said they had not enjoyed their exact same dish. We are working hard to ensure there is consistency with...More

Reviewed 23 May 2016

I hadn't looked at OHSO Social prior to visiting and if I had, I probably would have gone elsewhere based on the reviews on here. However, my experience was a very good one indeed. Seated outside in the glorious sunshine, with superb sea views we...More

Thank Lee B
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Lee B Thank you for your honest review; proof that you cannot believe everything people say in online reviews, and hopefully people take the reviews they read on this site with a pinch of salt when choosing where to eat, as we work hard to...More

Reviewed 1 May 2016

Back to brighton for a day....A walk by the sea...Is a must to have a fish and chips...Very expensive fish and chips....You pay for the location for a fish and chips smaller every time...This is my third time in this place but definetely the last...More

Thank AlfonsoAlongi
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Hi AlfonsoAlongi We are sorry you feel that your portion size was smaller than the last time you came to visit OHSO Social, but after checking with kitchens, we have not intentionally cut down portions, and although we might be a couple of pounds more...More

Reviewed 30 April 2016

My husband's sandwich was dry. I ordered fish and chips. The chips arrived first with the fish coming a couple of minutes later - the mushy peas and tartare sauce were nowhere to be seen. The fish was cold in the middle. I went inside...More

Thank cj0nes50
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

cj0nes50 Thank you for your review and sorry you feel that your fish was not acceptable. A response posted a few weeks after yours reads, "...Our experience was on the whole very good. Our fish and chips arrived quickly – so quickly that our wine...More

Reviewed 17 April 2016

We were disappointed by this restaurant, as it had appeared on a number of family friendly websites. Yes, they do have plenty of space for pushchairs. However, they only appeared to have one high chair (which I had to find myself as the staff couldn't...More

Thank DAMair
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

DAMair Thanks for posting your review, some of people's feedback is constructive for us to be able to take on board and improve training and our facilities. We are sorry that you felt your visit to us was under par. We do have more than...More

Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

Went there with a group of 18 ladies on a hen w.end, we pre ordered meals. The Meals were lovely and huge portions we all enjoyed so much we all went back there for breakfast the following morning before we left. Again breakfast was lovely...More

Thank Becky R
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Hi Becky Thanks for leaving your review we are glad you had such a lovely time with us and yes we apologise for the coffee at Breakfast we were a little short that morning but this was rectified. We look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 7 April 2016

Feeling the need to eat inside rather than outside after being poo'd on twice by seagulls whilst walking along the seafront( no food involved) we saw Classic Fish and Chips advertised on the A board outside Ohso Social. There was nothing 'classic about it! Large...More

Thank Suzanne T
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Suzanne Thank you for feeding back this information, however all of our food is freshly prepared on site, did you mention your concerns to our staff as we do not recall any conversations before you posted this online? Menus should be on the tables and...More

Reviewed 5 April 2016

We went for a "fish & chips" beach-side lunch. "Classic Fish & Chips" turned out to be frozen triangular fish & frozen chips. Really disappointing.

Thank TallGuyNottingham
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

TallGuyNottingham Thank you for your recent review, we are a little confused as all our fish is fresh (being by the sea) and all our dishes are made on the premises, there is nothing frozen?

Reviewed 5 April 2016 via mobile

Went on Sunday morning for brunch. Had to work out how to get into the restaurant as most of the doors were shut. The response from the guy serving the coffees was that we were obviously an incovienance to him. (late night, hangover? ) Not...More

Thank SmartieMartie
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

SmartieMartie We do not condone that behaviour towards our customers and will have a look into who was working so that we can improve our customer service. Please accept our apology and that as part of our wider recruitment strategy over the summer we will...More

Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

We went for lunch on good Friday and I understand the weather is good and it's busy. But having one member of staff serving is unacceptable! We queued for 40mins to get in which I understand as its busy but waiting well over an hour...More

Thank sampatty15
Anthony N, Public Relations Manager at OHSO Social, responded to this review

Sampatty15 Thank you for leaving your review we are totally aware that we have been understaffed and this has had a knock on effect to our customers over the Bank Holiday weekend and we are in the process of sorting this so that we do...More

Nearby Restaurants
Terre a Terre
2,109 reviews
.07 miles away
Indian Summer
1,073 reviews
.07 miles away
Boho Gelato
295 reviews
.07 miles away
1,035 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Zorian Artworks
44 reviews
.01 miles away
The Doughnut
153 reviews
.03 miles away
Grosvenor Casino Brighton
49 reviews
.05 miles away
Kellie Miller Arts
12 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Coming down with the London to Brighton cycle ride, are you dog friendly?
27 August 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Rachel N | Reviewed this property |
I take my dog in there all the time during the day xx
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$13
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
10:00 - 21:00
10:00 - 21:00
10:00 - 21:00
10:00 - 21:00
10:00 - 21:00
10:00 - 21:00
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 250A Kings Road Arches, Brighton BN1 1NB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 746067
  • E-mail
Ohso Social is Brighton's best seafront beach bar! By day we've got a family friendly cafe bar feel, open for hearty, feel-good classic pub grub, tasty salads and Mediterranean inspired sharing platters. Food is sourced from local suppliers and served from breakfast (9am on-season or 10am off-season) right through 'til an early dinner service.

In the evening, OhSo turns down the lights and transforms into a beach-side party spot, with DJs at weekends.

Bookings are welcome and off-season we offer full venue hire, making us ideal for corporate functions, the 'big 40' party, networking events and more.