We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Highchairs Available
Reviews (352)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
236
59
25
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
236
59
25
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cupcakes brownie yummy cakes gluten free cakes take away slice slab buttercream maltesers
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 December 2023

I ordered an 18th birthday cake, the giant cupcake with specific instructions on the decoration. I collected the cake and was overwhelmed with complete disappointment at staring at the ugliest cake I've ever seen. It was expensive and the idea was that it would be...special, a centrepiece. Clearly, the person making the cake has no artistic ability, it was ugly, my instructions were not followed, it was hard to understand the thinking behind producing a giant cupcake in shades of beige that I can only describe as resembling a large turd. I definitely would not recommend spending money on the giant cupcakes for special occasions, a cheap shop brought cake is a much safer and less expensive option. I did my best to remove the ugly brown biscuits plonked on top of the cake which I had requested were not added but it still looked awful, a few brown chocolates placed on a beige buttercream, with cream writing on the cake base that was so faint, it wasn't worth making the effort of putting it there. Unbelievably bad for the price.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2023

I tried the pecan and banana brownie, which was very nice. The texture was very soft and the banana added a nice flavour to the chocolate. It was like the halfway point between a brownie and a banana loaf. Will be coming back to try...the ice cream.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2023 via mobile

I only popped in to get a vanilla cupcake as a little birthday treat for myself to take away, but I have to say it was so delicious. This is why I always pay this little shop in the Lanes a visit every time I...am in Brighton. Best cupcakes ever!More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2022 via mobile

Great service! Lovely cake! I managed to get a birthday cake the same day I called, as they often have 6 inch birthday cakes for sale for last minute people like me! Walked in and was in heaven! Lovely cakes and brownies everywhere. Gorgeous. Will...be returning soon! Biscoff cake was lovely. Had pools of biscoff in the sponge as well as a biscoff buttercream and drip, quite obviously sweet, but was delicious.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

Always gorgeous, yummy cakes! We order all our cakes from here & so do all our family. Staff are super helpful and will always do the upmost to fulfil whatever you need. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2022 via mobile

This is a mandatory stop every time in Brighton. Love a Malteser slab and a coffee (iced in July!). Always really nice and great service.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 June 2022 via mobile

Wow this cake cafe is amazing for their cakes mainly, muffins to slices, slabs cookies. I loved ice mocha it was to die for. They do ordering for birthdays and weddings etc. I would go there again.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2022 via mobile

I’d seen this place on tripadvisor so wanted to take my coeliac daughter for a treat. Unfortunately we were told the gluten free cakes weren’t ‘gluten free’, but ‘gluten wise’. A shame.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul M, Owner at Cloud 9, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2022

Hi, Thanks for the review, im afraid by law we are unable to call item we sell Gluten free as that would require its own area where we make only those cakes, which we do not have the space for. However we are very careful...More

Reviewed 3 January 2022

Cloud 9 was a great find and full of gluten free cakes. It is always nice to be able to go somewhere that does such a variety of gluten free cakes that taste amazing! Wish I had bought more to take away!

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2021

Wandered in for a very nice cup of coffee. I wish I'd had some of those cakes, as they did look good. Friendly service. I passed a pleasant half hour chatting to staff and customers. Toilets were spotless. Nice handy little place in a fairly...bohemian part of town.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2021 via mobile

Excellent Italian ice cream in a wonderful location. Sit outside, if the weather permits, for a great view of the Church and an opportunity to people watch. Highly recommended: -The Biscotti - The Peanut Butter.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2021

Just popped in this afternoon for a quick coffee and cake each as it looked from the outside like a nice place with plenty of Vegan options. We had a Vegan Chai Latte Cupcake and a Vegan Banana Pecan Brownie between us. Both very nice...cakes and the coffee was good too. A very pleasant visit, staff were very friendly too.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

We had an agreed appointment booking for today (Sunday 12th Sept) at 1pm after waiting 2weeks for this appointment. We arrived slightly early but waited to be seen. Upon being asked to sit down in order to discuss our wedding cake options and designs we...were told that they checked their diary and that 2 other wedding cakes for the day of the wedding (23rd October 2021) had already been booked and that they could not cater for us!? So considering they had our contact details and had booked us to come all the way from where we live approximately 1 hour and approximately 30 miles away, then we got stuck getting into the city as the Brighton Marathon which we were unaware of and had to navigate our way around the city to avoid the event with our 11 month old daughter in the car, all there was from the staff member was a simple in-heartfelt and repetitive apology with no intention of any resolution for the situation, no compensation for our wasted time, fuel, travel/mileage/wear and tear on our vehicle and most of all having my partner upset when we have enough wedding things to organise already, being let down this badly to try and find another business to provide us a wedding cake in short notice! Not happy or impressed at all, to be honest we are absolutely appalled, disgusted and disappointed! Disgraceful from a business! Certainly not left us with a “Cloud 9” service and wouldn’t recommend to anyone. Will be contacting the owner and making them aware of this. If we could actually take ‘stars’ away from the review it would actually be a -5 ⭐️ !!! TOTAL let down! AVOID!!!….More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul M, Owner at Cloud 9, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2021

Hey, Thank you for the review, we have responded to your emai, but again I must apologies for your wasted trip today. When we took this wedding chat we had two spaces in our diary for cakes, and we had slots on the Friday. However...More

Reviewed 27 August 2021

So many lovely cakes - my tip get more than one and share! Good coffee and tea comes in a really cool pot - it's the little things. Also found out they do custom bakes for birthdays and celebrations - so cool! Both locations are...great for people watching, york place or lanes [lanes for extra doggie petting!]More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2021

Came on Sunday with a friend , it was lovely weather so sat outside. I had and iced coffee and an Oreo cake, both delicious

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Leonardo Royal Hotel Brighton Waterfront
3,728 reviews
.13 miles away
Hotel du Vin Brighton
2,210 reviews
.14 miles away
The Old Ship Hotel
4,626 reviews
.15 miles away
Queens Hotel
3,385 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Flint House
364 reviews
.02 miles away
IL Bistro
805 reviews
.02 miles away
Olive Grove
777 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Lanes
6,251 reviews
.02 miles away
Labyrinth Art Gallery Brighton
20 reviews
.05 miles away
Kellie Miller Arts
24 reviews
.04 miles away
Cuddly Colony
8 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
NamiY11
12 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Emily M |
I need almond croissants
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CLOUD 9, Brighton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cloud 9

Yes, Cloud 9 offers takeaway services.

Cloud 9 is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5