We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sportsman

Tongdean Lane | Withdean Stadium, Brighton BN1 5JD, England
+44 1273 330055
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent14%
  • Very good22%
  • Average17%
  • Poor18%
  • Terrible29%
Travellers talk about
“sundae” (2 reviews)
“park and ride” (3 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tongdean Lane | Withdean Stadium, Brighton BN1 5JD, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is one of the best I have been to :) I come here most days to visit on my travels!! They have amazing chefs who make the food and are funny characters and always polite to customers! The bar staff are sociable and...More

Thank Livvy H
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Livvy H, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Sportsman, Withdean! Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you; we are more than happy to help! Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had high hopes for this place as it has been recently renovated. Upon entering this establishment we were initially ignored until bring served by a very bored barman. We opted for the carvery. We normally frequent The George in Shoreham but as that is...More

3  Thank ToriToriToriTori
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. It is discouraging to learn of your experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve. Kind regards.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked at this venue last night for 7. When we arrived it was rather confusing. I eventually found a member of staff that looked at me like I was an alien. Clearly my command of the british tongue did not compute! Although I was...More

1  Thank Valerie R
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Valerie R, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We regret that you weren't satisfied with your experience. We hope you will give us another chance. Kind regards.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a Saturday morning to have a family brunch as a party if 8. No welcome when we arrived so we found our own table, there was plenty of choice as the place was very quiet. There was a minimal selection for cooked...More

1  Thank MrsVocal
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Kind regards.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

clean and tidy but took to long to wait family of 4 which 2 ordered carvery and 2 pizza sadly carvery eaters had finished and no pizzas had to go up several times to ask from time on reciept to time pizza came 58 minutes...More

Thank HAPPY48ENGLAND
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. It is discouraging to learn of your experience with us. Your feedback helps us improve and...More

Reviewed 5 October 2017

We have been here before and enjoyed it but our visit last night was marred by poor service. My husband had the carvery and I chose fish and chips. I checked that there was some fish on display but by the time I got to...More

1  Thank M0n0r
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again. Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We went there for a family meal the food was average they had RUN out of chips so 5 of our meals were incomplete and i wasn’t informed about this and there was no customer service what so ever !! You have to go and...More

1  Thank Mandy R
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Mandy R, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we can improve. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Fairly good selection of meets on offer and reasonably priced drinks. The bar team do need to learn to manage the queue as they would only serve the guest shouting the loudest and not in order

Thank Joshwash
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Josh, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this is improved. Kind regards.

Reviewed 16 September 2017

This place has had many owners changing hands more time that I can remember. It not seems to cater for people after going to the excellent gym next door. It has a carvery - which means the food is stewed by the time you get...More

Thank doug t
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Doug T, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. Kind regards.

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Visited yestoday with my 15 year old daughter, food was ok but service was awful , I had finished my dinner so put my plate aside, my daughter carried on and ( slow eater) and was chatting away to me when the waitress came and...More

1  Thank gosslandfamily
General Manager A, Manager at The Sportsman, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Gossland's, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. Thank you for providing us the opportunity to improve our service. Kind regards.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Nevill
193 reviews
.98 miles away
Galileo
100 reviews
.54 miles away
The Coach House
83 reviews
.85 miles away
Galeleos
8 reviews
.75 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hove Park
62 reviews
.92 miles away
Coral, Brighton & Hove Greyhound Stadium
256 reviews
1.04 miles away
Brighton Open Air Theatre (B.O.A.T)
28 reviews
1.31 miles away
Booth Museum of Natural History
193 reviews
1.24 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
seh2010
31 January 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Richard W | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I think it's £7.49 for the standard Carvery, you can look at the menu on the crown carver its website website
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$4 - US$13
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Television, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:30
Monday
08:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:30
Thursday
08:00 - 21:30
Friday
08:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tongdean Lane | Withdean Stadium, Brighton BN1 5JD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 330055
Description
We provide hearty British food from our carvery deck at very reasonable prices and have a fully stocked bar. We also do a buffet English breakfast from 8am until 11.30am 7 days a week.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing