We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (61)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
28
22
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
28
22
4
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful spot to have an ice cream and a drink. Friendly and helpful staff, great choices of drinks and a fantastic selection of ice creams. Beautiful in the sun.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

Great homemade food, shakes. Watch the volleyball, watch the sea or chill- sandpit for children and a door directly onto the beach - catch the Volks railway to the halfway stop from Brighton pier or marina!

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie Mintram, Owner at Yellowave Beach Sports Venue And Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2023

Thanks for your lovely review - come back soon for lunch on the beach.

Reviewed 7 June 2023

came across a tiktok by one of the staff,great to see people enjoy working there. This made me check it out

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 July 2021 via mobile

We came to the café on a warm, sunny day. To order ice cream took 20min. Order in café as loads off due to covid, which is understandable, but to have only 1 till on site to cope with drinks, food, clothing, ice cream, etc....is crazy. You need more service points or cut back on what services you offerMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie M, Owner at Yellowave Beach Sports Venue And Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2021

So sorry you received slow service today. We have 3 service points. One on reception, one in the cafe and another on the ice cream / beer bar. However, like much of the hospitality industry at the moment we are under immense pressure with a...More

Reviewed 29 June 2021

One of my preferred beach place in Broghton, Yellowaves is not only good for sporty people, and is definitely less busy and less chaotic than your average cafés on the beach. It serves excellent beers and wonderful snacks (including vegetarian) and a very good pizza.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2021 via mobile

Great location. You can sit here for hours looking at the sea, volleyball and railway. Nice and clean. Lovely big sandpit for little children. Food and coffee nothing special, but perfectly good and tasty..toasties, brunches etc. Good selection of cakes and baked snacks. Fine for...veggies. Coffee good. Really lovely staff and atmosphere. Definitely worth spending a few hours here chilling out rain or shine it's greatMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 February 2020

Lovely staff and fab food for snacks and lunch. A lot of vegetarian food and some excellent shakes. I imagine it gets very busy in the summer but there is plenty of outside eating.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2020

Always seems to be open (not Monday’s in winter) and we usually stop for a coffee or hot chocolate. Today tried dish of day. Excellent vegetarian dish and sat outside in sun.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

What a great place to go as a family. Good place for the children to play, then you can view others playing serious sport and just have a drink bite to eat. The nachos with guacamole salsa and cream cheese was such a big portion...we could not finish it. Really relaxed and friendly with a good buzz. Try it!!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

I've been playing beach volleyball at Yellowave for the last 3 years and just love coming down here - placing my feet in the sand and play a friendly game never fails to make a day brilliant. Instant holiday feel, especially when the sun is...shining. Lovely café and very friendly staff.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2018

For volleyball players and non-players alike, what's not to like at the best beach bar/cafe in Brighton. Great food, brilliant atmosphere and friendly and helpful staff.

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Whether your a local looking to make new buddies, a seasoned Volleyball regular, or simply after some great food in the sun, Yellowwave is a home from home, I started going when I moved to Hove 3yrs ago having never played & not knowing anyone...and Spencer, Dammo and the team welcomed me & everyone else to create a great social, easygoing network with awesome coaching and a lot of fun. Play all year round if you’re brave enough or just come down for a beer!More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2018

Superb coffee and great cafe food in a chilled out beach front sports venue. The staff have a brilliant attitude and although it has a trendy young person feel, all ages are welcome.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

I agree. Poor service! RUDE waitress , food ok if you like that kind of thing. Not good value for money at all. Ps don’t take your dog into the cafe what ever you do. Not worth the fight over your £30 lunch when you’ve...sat down to eat. Really .. never again !!More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Katie M, Owner at Yellowave Beach Sports Venue And Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2018

I’m really sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your visit. We take pride in providing excellent customer service so are disappointed to hear you didn’t feel you were looked after well enough. I understand no one on our team noticed your little dog when you...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Yellowave is the premier beach volleyball facility in the UK. If you are in Brighton and haven’t been check it out. It’s a fantastic place and brings the golden sand to the pebbles of Brighton.

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lanes Hotel
585 reviews
.29 miles away
Blanch House
1,773 reviews
.37 miles away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
1,350 reviews
.44 miles away
A Room With A View
1,832 reviews
.46 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Vel South Indian Kitchen + Bar
178 reviews
.20 miles away
Nanima Asian Kitchen & Cafe
100 reviews
.13 miles away
Suriya's Thai Kitchen
162 reviews
.18 miles away
Proud Cabaret Brighton
2,337 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Volk’s Electric Railway
611 reviews
.03 miles away
Brighton Flea Market
43 reviews
.28 miles away
Naturist Beach
73 reviews
.02 miles away
Brighton Beach Crazy Golf
11 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
amalin2016
4 September 2021|
Answer
Response from sluciani | Reviewed this property |
The venue hasn't got its own parking, but there is plenty of parking space along the road. You will not have problems.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

YELLOWAVE BEACH SPORTS VENUE AND CAFE, Brighton - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Yellowave Beach Sports Venue And Cafe

Yes, Yellowave Beach Sports Venue And Cafe offers takeaway services.

Yes, Yellowave Beach Sports Venue And Cafe is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Yellowave Beach Sports Venue And Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5