We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
With a team of staff with extensive knowledge in a variety of sectors within hospitality, The Thomas Kemp can offer a specialised approach to your function. With an acclaimed kitchen and spacious garden our venue can provide the services to most needs. We also have a vast list of DJ's and live bands we can arrange at your discretion. Our kitchen can provide buffets for larger groups as well as our comprehensive set menu with daily changing specials. For more information our staff are more than happy to answer any queries you may have whether it be over the phone or email, The Thomas Kemp Team
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Mediterranean
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (230)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
103
65
19
12
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
103
65
19
12
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday roast burger fish and chips the pub specials board cooked to perfection tasty food
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 24 December 2023 via mobile

We came here for the second year running for my husband's Christmas Eve birthday lunch. There were 9 of us including 2 small children. The menu was Christmassy but interesting and the service was excellent. They coped with a nervous dog and a very active...3 year old. We had a lovely lunch...thank you!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2024

Thank you for the 5* review , i m glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Reviewed 12 December 2023

I never got a chance to make it to the restaurant. My fiance and I made a booking for Christmas day, which was confirmed, just got an email that its cancelled. No other explanations given. Thanks, for doing us a favor, unprofessional place like that,...shouldn't earn our time or money!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2023

Hi Jonitea, Unfortunately we are not serving food on on Christmas day. We had turned off bookings for the Christmas Day, this look's like it hasn't worked. We apologies for your booking slipped through, as soon as we noticed (36 hours later) we cancelled it.

Reviewed 3 December 2023

Superb! Fifteen of us for lunch on a busy Sunday and it was all amazing. Good food, service and atmosphere. Nothing but empty plates to photograph sadly.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Lovely to hear Mitch, Thanks for the reveiw.

Reviewed 16 November 2023

It was a friends Birthday so we did a surprise meal for him several friends and his family all arrived just as he thought he was going for a quick drink. We had a really good night food was awesome the staff are really very...good, They really made the night for us. would not hesitate to go back, on my own as a couple or in a party. very very good all round.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Great to hear Stephen. hopefully see you soon. thank you.

Reviewed 8 November 2023

OMG love this little gem in the back streets of Kemptown. Not only is it warm, friendly and inviting but a lovely pub aesthetically. Garden has just been done and feels like you on holiday and as for the food, it is second to non,...best pub food in Brighton, hands down. The kitchen, Arissay bring Mediterranean dishes, full of flavour, great for sharing and goes down with well with a nice bottle of Pinot Noir! Also pop in for a roast!More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2023

thanks for the glowing review Libby, hopefully see you soon. Thanks Dan

Reviewed 6 November 2023

I'm writing this review as I eat a plate of pasta at home after my visit to the Kemp for dinner. My £15 serving of veggie lasagna was so small I queried if it was a starter portion. Alas no, it was the main. Came...with no sides, just a small square of lasagna looking lonely and lost on the plate. I left hungry, hence the pasta at home. I mentioned it to the lovely bar person who agreed that it was a surprisingly small portion. I was there with colleagues from the hospital close by. We regularly meet up for food in Kemptown. That was our first and last time at the Kemp I'm afraid.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2023

Hi Yallam, This doesn't sound great, or portion sizes are normally a good feed if choosing off our big plates. If you would would like to discuss further please send me a message at Manager@saintgeorges.pub and we will get you back down to enjoy the...More

Reviewed 30 October 2023

Booked Sunday lunch with family. Great food; delicious roasts and side dishes; friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Thoroughly recommend. Thank you Rebecca & family

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2023

Thanks Angela, Glad to hear you enjoyed your lunch. see you soon! Kind Regards Dan

Reviewed 19 October 2023

I've reviewed this place before, Not giving the menu much of a write up, So Damn confusing Menu, A small dish disruption per dish Might help the customer understand it, Over 40 yrs as trained Chef, Working around this little planet, I can honestly say...I get confused with Dishes/Ingredients, NO explanation-description on Menu, Menu Pricey for What you get, There is a cross between "Spanish Tapas / and Little Portions, It does appear Most buy the Fish and Chips, Good Old Traditional Pub Fare Menu, It has been noticed that the Day time trade, Lunch trade has fallen away, Nothing like it was 2-3 yrs ago, Daytimes hey have lost the "Local Trade" Fingers crossed for the Winter trade here.. Food, well, Confusing, Costly for portion sizes, But Who wants to eat Lunch in an empty Pub.....!!! Not me... And for some extremely weird reason.... food stops at 3pm until 4.30... ? How weird is that ?? This is Brighton...... You'd expect Pub food 12 to 9pm ??. All I see is a food establishment SINKING Monday to Saturday, Wet sales would reflect this, Although there does not seem to be ANYONE at the Pub or the Brewery who gives a toss..... As for the Décor, Breweries hate to spend a £10 Tenner, It is totally Obviously missed the "Refit" Budget, Even So .... I personally think there should be a "Cleaner" Budget...... as it appears NO ONE Cleans this PUB.... (Shame really, As The Tomas Kemp, Kemptown, This was once run by someone who knew what they were doing, Good old fashioned "Landlord's" Today.... Everyone thinks they can run a Pub !!! They can not, Who is to blame, The Novice ? who will close down a pub and owe money everywhere ? OR is it the Breweries .... NO interest in Pubs at all, As long as you sell THEIR Stock. and If you go BUST... Bad Luck.... Brewery still owns the property... Wicked CON, for All Breweries... Sadness to those who think they are Licensees / Landlords, .... There is always another Mug around the corner, who dreams of the Simple working life and making Thousands in Profit per day. And believe me........ THIS IS ONE of those establishments..... See this Space 2024 ???More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2023

Hello, YOU'RE BACK! Our favorite reviewer, i think this is the third time this year now, so must really love us. thank you. The strange thing is you keep reciting the same thing, all of which sounds like your worried that what we are doing...More

Reviewed 13 September 2023

Lovely spot for a drink and lunch with friends. There was a good atmosphere and the staff there were very friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Thanks for a great review James. glad to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 10 July 2023

Great pub! Brilliant menu and the food is amazing. Good mixture of classic dishes and Mediterranean sharing plates which I love. Really enjoy trying lots of different dishes so we really like the tapas style menu. The food really is out of this world and...prices are great in comparison to other places at the moment - had the fish and chips this time which I think were about £16 and I paid £22 for the same thing except in a greasy chippy last week (Poppies) so was quite chuffed with the Kemps pricing!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Thanks for a great review

Reviewed 10 July 2023

Overpriced - £14 for a small chicken skewer with some mayo! And £4 for a tiny portion fries. £18 - not well SpentMore

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2023

Hi Cari, Were sorry you didn't enjoy visit this time round. Food is expensive at the moment and we spend a lot of time reviewing prices and competition. We feel we are fairly priced in the local area, however we will rereview the chicken dish....More

Reviewed 9 July 2023

This is a must visit if you’re in Brighton! The food is absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend the small plates in the photos below but everything we’ve ordered from the menu has always been incredible - crispy potatoes, asparagus with whipped feta and chilli oil...and manouri cheese with babaganush and candied walnuts. So yummy! The roasts are also incredible… would definitely recommend booking a table. It’s a lovely setting with a wee beer garden, great atmosphere, amazing service and the prices are very reasonable too! Without a doubt my favourite spot in Brighton.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Thanks for a great review Sarah.

Reviewed 16 June 2023

Good to see Jo is still here. Menu is now limited and baffling not sure what a lot of it acts ally is - been better in the past

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2023

We don't want Jo leaving! Sorry you didn't enjoy the menu, staff are always on hand to give advice, especially on some of the more unusual dishes. but we do highly recommend giving them all a taste, the chef's are brilliant! Thanks Dan

Reviewed 13 April 2023

Visited Easter 2023, Read Reviews, So comfortable going to this place, Staff BRILLIANT!, Lady behind bar could not do enough for us, Surprised she was on her own?? Easter ?? Busy ? One person?? MENU... Damn Confusing, 35yrs in the Catering trade I had to...use the Internet to work out the menu, Shame, We thought it was more Traditional Pub Fare, But NO, Some right concoctions, Unfortunately, We ended up with 2 burgers & 4 Fish n chips, I would say Expensive for what you get, ( we had Sunday roasts too, again, Expensive for what you get or they were running out of food @ 2pm?? ) We got chatting to the other table, great family, But they made a point commenting on you never see the owner/leaseholder, apparently he lives at the bar along the road not his pub, We used to come here when it was called The Tomas Kemp Pub, It is a Big Shame someone new has taken over and has done Nothing to improve/change/Repair/add his/her Stamp on Pub. It appears Staff run this Pub, Not any owner !! Typical of the Pub trade today. So sum up.. Great staff, Brilliant lady behind the Bar(think...Manager) Food Expensive-Very Confusing dishes, (NO Menu Descriptions) Small portions, Fish n chips good size for £15..? But nothing spectacular about it..! Shame New Owner has done Nothing to improve pub décor, Tidy back area/ sort out electrics/ Terrible Outside marquee attempt, Looks run down, untidy, needs some little cash or staff labour to upgrade this wonderful public house, I'm afraid, Who owns lease has No intension or cash to improve the establishment. Excellent Staff 10/10, Owner/Management 2/10, No effort made... Shame could be a fantastic busy well loved Public House, But hence at this time there is NO CHANCE, We will return when we have seen an improvement by owner. You can not just pay for a lease on a Pub, Open the doors and think Profits will flood in..!!! Does Not work that way. Such a Shame.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis Stewart, Owner at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2023

Morning Jo, Firstly I'm glad your enjoyed the service. Jo is great as is all our team. This is one of our number one priority's when training and employing new staff, so I'm glad we got that right. As for the food, we offer a...More

Reviewed 8 April 2023

Just 1 Street back from the seafront but a million miles from the crowded cafe bars just a few minutes away. Popped in for a drink when we arrived in Brighton for the bank holiday weekend and liked it so much we came back for...dinner the next day. Great choice of drinks, friendly staff who went out their way to get us the perfect table in the front window (with a lovely glimpse of the sea) and absolutely fantastic food. Good value too; for 3 burgers, 1 fish and chips (but fancy), a couple of rounds of drinks - incl beer & wine - it came to about the same as we'd spend at a chain restaurant the prev evening but this was miles better. If we were here another night we'd be back again for dinner! Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louis, Manager at The Kemp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2023

Thanks for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Dan

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lanes Hotel
585 reviews
.19 miles away
Blanch House
1,773 reviews
.24 miles away
Drakes Hotel Brighton
1,350 reviews
.33 miles away
A Room With A View
1,820 reviews
.34 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Nanima Asian Kitchen & Cafe
97 reviews
.12 miles away
Metrodeco
593 reviews
.17 miles away
Cosiez Cafe, Kemptown
170 reviews
.19 miles away
Egg & Spoon
165 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Volk’s Electric Railway
609 reviews
.18 miles away
Brighton Flea Market
43 reviews
.14 miles away
Naturist Beach
74 reviews
.18 miles away
Thomas Kemp
27 reviews
.00 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
CMLDJ
21 March 2021|
Answer
Response from sallyadams130 | Property representative |
Hiya Yes we are still doing NHS discounts when we open from the 12th and absolutely yes, we are dog friendly!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE KEMP, Brighton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kemp

The Kemp is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5