We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riddle And Finns The Lanes

12B Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
+44 1273 721667
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (144 reviews)
“crab” (66 reviews)
“razor clams” (21 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12B Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

If there is a place that will leave you memories that make you beam from ear to ear, with delicious and fresh seafood cooked both in innovative and traditional ways in a simple yet effective quite romantic setting, by dimmed candle light, it's sure Riddle...More

1  Thank sylviaaak
Reviewed 3 days ago

Lovely restaurant with extensive seafood choice.menu.Between 12.00-07.00pm they have a 2 course set menu for £14 which is very good value.Both the mussels and hake were delicious.The only criticism was that the samphire made the hake alittle too salty.This restaurant has a good concept.Customers can...More

Thank helenwinton156
Reviewed 3 days ago

So good! We thought the wait would be long, but it was just a few minutes. We wandered down thru 'the lanes' and found a pub to have a drink while waiting. They also had a stand up bar to use while waiting. The seafood...More

Thank Cheryl B
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

As you cannot make advanced bookings we popped in and left our names and a number. They said the table would be an hr and half and it was, they called us as soon as it was ready. Food was great - decent seafood. Beautiful...More

Thank 333kp1982
Reviewed 5 days ago

a nice restaurant with a good atmosphere. food is amazing I had the fish pie and was probably the best I ever had. staff were very helpful and friendly.

Thank mjn44
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service. Friendly staff. Accommodates food requirements. Good food.Central. It's a kind of laid back place and you share table.

Thank Rosilda A
Reviewed 1 week ago

we visted the Lanes for the third time in 3 months and it never fails from the service to the food its always great but this time was made more fun at being seated at the back of the resturant and our waiter Harry trying...More

Thank IanM4586
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here at the weekend and had a fabulous night with amazing food and wine. The service was probably the best we have ever received in a restaurant, so well looked after, the food was amazing (great calamari ) The restaurant itself is beautiful and...More

1  Thank Jo O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My 30 quid bit of fish wasn't fully cooked and bit poor..chips too thin and no potatoe. Wine ok but wouldn't rush back..yet again.

Thank Jonathan H
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were recommended by a local to eat seafood here. We chose the classical seafood platter to share and the catch of the day fish ( seabream and Dover sole) as a main. A lovely sancerre white wine a two coffee. Food quality is excellent,...More

Thank Anschwae
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Brighton
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
2,915 reviews
.07 miles away
My Brighton
2,431 reviews
.15 miles away
Hotel du Vin
1,592 reviews
.16 miles away
The Old Ship Hotel
2,851 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Olive Grove
526 reviews
.02 miles away
The Bath Arms
424 reviews
.04 miles away
Casa Don Carlos
1,435 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Lanes
5,512 reviews
.07 miles away
Theatre Royal Brighton
536 reviews
.06 miles away
Fabrica
11 reviews
.07 miles away
Pavilion Theatre
8 reviews
.06 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bushkim
23 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ManagerRF | Property representative |
Hi Unfortunately our license does not allow us to accommodate animals inside the premises in either of the restaurants, with exception of guide dogs. We do however allow dogs on the terrace at our beach restaurant and on... More
0
Votes
Lisa G
29 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Riddles_Manager | Property representative |
Hi there, Yes we will be trading as usual on Monday 16th for both lunch and dinner. Thank you
0
Votes
Craig L
7 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Riddles_Manager | Property representative |
We are operating strictly no bookings policy in our lanes restaurant. We operate on the first come - first served basis and we do run a waiting list in our busy periods, meaning you have to wait for tables (we take your... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16 - US$78
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12B Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 721667
  • E-mail
Description
Our original Brighton Lanes Oyster Bar is lit by candlelight and features tiled walls and high tables and stools. You will be seated side-by-side, allowing for a focus on casual dining and ambience. We have fresh daily specials and catch of the day on offer. Our open kitchen adds to the experience of The Lanes, allowing you to watch your food being prepared. Our marble topped tables act as the perfect setting for grazing on local seafood and enjoying a chilled glass of Champagne. Strictly no reservations.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing