We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riddle And Finns The Lanes

12B Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
+44 1273 721667
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good15%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (112 reviews)
“crab” (52 reviews)
“razor clams” (20 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
12B Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 758 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

If you ever go to Brighton have a lunch or a dinner at Riddle and Finns, I can assure you that you won't be disappointed! The food is delicious and the fish is fresh and well prepared. The staff is really nice and smiley.

Thank Gio F
Reviewed 2 days ago

We visited, as a couple, during a recent trip to Brighton and could have not been more delighted with the superb quality of the meal we had, It was obvious from the filled tables on a Tuesday night that it was incredibly popular but the...More

Thank Crumblesthree
Reviewed 3 days ago

We came here with friends of ours who eat here regularly on their recommendation and we were not disappointed. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was 10/10. We were first in the queue as the doors opened for lunch and you can see...More

Thank titmitch
A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
1
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Let's start with the venue: the place looks pretty retro, warm and cozy at the same time, there are a few seats and you may share a big table with other people which means it could not suit for pretentious guests. Other seats are located...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 days ago

We happened to be standing right outside this little gem, looking at the menu, when it opened. I did wonder what the queue was for and then I realised they were all waiting for this place to open. So we walked in and were seated...More

1  Thank dollyxdimple
Reviewed 6 days ago

I have eaten here so many times over the last 5 yrs.... Lunches, dinners, dates & work. I love this place. Love the food, whole wok fried crab and all the oysters. With a great bottle or two of wine. Amazing service and everytime super...More

Thank SundayLoves
Reviewed 1 week ago

We absolutely love this restaurant when we are in Brighton. Having been to the restaurant in the lanes several times we tried the one on the beach. We love the lanes because you share a table with other people and we have met and enjoyed...More

Thank kitley42
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice restaurant wit good food. But overall impression is spoilt by overly firendly service coupled with some tricks that i would expect from a restaurant for tourists. If you want catch of the day, you will have to pay for a side and sauce separately....More

1  Thank Даниил К
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped in here on a one night visit and couldn't have picked a better place to eat . When we arrived without booking the restaurant was full but the manageress simply took our phone number and arranged to call us when a place was available...More

Thank Neil C
Reviewed 1 week ago

I keep raving about the amazing crab with Singapore chillies I had there during my last visit! If you love fish and seafood you simply must visit this cozy and elegant restaurant (and its beachside counterpart) - you won't be disappointed, but better book in...More

Thank Sylvia M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Olive Grove
415 reviews
.02 miles away
Casa Don Carlos
1,250 reviews
.04 miles away
Choccywoccydoodah
895 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Lanes
4,631 reviews
.04 miles away
Theatre Royal Brighton
470 reviews
.06 miles away
The Clock Tower
50 reviews
.04 miles away
Gustamps
2,363 reviews
.08 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Craig L
7 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Riddles_Manager | Property representative |
We are operating strictly no bookings policy in our lanes restaurant. We operate on the first come - first served basis and we do run a waiting list in our busy periods, meaning you have to wait for tables (we take your... More
1
Vote
snapdogs
21 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Riddles_Manager | Property representative |
Sorry for a late reply We do indeed have gluten free options, full list can be found in both of our restaurants and it includes many dishes from our menu so plenty of choice. We also offer gluten free alternative to our... More
0
Votes
Victoria P
7 March 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Nathan R | Reviewed this property |
Hi would book for the beach restaurant as better seating arrangements and also on the beach! the laines restaurant is a little to stiff for our liking, have a fabulous time in this great City
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$77
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12B Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Brighton and Hove  >  Brighton
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 721667
  • E-mail
Description
Our original Brighton Lanes Oyster Bar is lit by candlelight and features tiled walls and high tables and stools. You will be seated side-by-side, allowing for a focus on casual dining and ambience. We have fresh daily specials and catch of the day on offer. Our open kitchen adds to the experience of The Lanes, allowing you to watch your food being prepared. Our marble topped tables act as the perfect setting for grazing on local seafood and enjoying a chilled glass of Champagne. Strictly no reservations.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing