We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (324)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
171
80
30
19
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
171
80
30
19
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curries chicken coconut rice dhal indian food memorable meal curry house booked a table mains chutney
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was absolutely delighted to find an Indian restaurant that serves the kind of food I remember from eating Indian food in the Gulf. Much as I love it, a lot of what is called Indian is actually 'British Indian Restaurant' and is really a...kind Bengali fusion food adapted over the years to British tastes. Chaula's serves the kind of food you find in India which to me has a lighter feel especially the vegetarian dishes which I prefer. From the moment you walk in, you feel like you're in India. The smell of Nag Champa incense blends with the gorgeous smell of curry coming from her kitchen. I ordered the Vegetarian Thali, something that you rarely see on the menu of your regular curry house. I fell in love with Thalis in the Gulf, its like a tasting platter of different flavours and textures which finishes with a tantalisingly sweet and delicate Gulab Jaman. If you want something different to your usual curry house, this is the place to go. As close to India as you can get on the banks of the River Ouse!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Amazing delicious authentic Indian food, you won't find better in the whole of Sussex, lots of different things on the menu, so much more interesting than any other Indian restaurant around. The service was exceptional and super friendly too.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaula Patel, Owner at Chaula’s, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2024

Dear Rosie Thankyou for your kind words and beautiful review hope to see you soon🙏🏽

Reviewed 6 March 2024

Super nice food, friendly staff. All the dishes taste homemade and traditional which is a nice change from regular indian restaurants. I come here once a month or so as a treat to myself as it's just so lovely inside, love the music and the...decor. Highly recommend!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaula Patel, Owner at Chaula’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Dear Tristan Thankyou for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed the food. Hope to see you soon🙏🏽

Reviewed 24 February 2024

Disappointed. The food was as others have said, bland. We were excited to find vegan bhajis on the menu, sadly soggy in the middle. The portions sizes are very small, which makes the high cost even more irksome. The asmosphere is not great either, not...helped by the loud s***faced bloke nearby, and multiple guffawing hooray henries and henrietta's. Best things... the waiter was very nice as was the £23 bottle of wine (that probably sells in tesco for 7 😫) Unlikely to return if current standards maintained. 🙁More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaula Patel, Owner at Chaula’s, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Tracy When you had your onion bhaji I came on your table asking how is your starter you said all good. Price of wine is already mentioned you can have a glass of water which is free. Food was bland we came twice on...More

Reviewed 29 December 2023

Food was bland but service friendly. I had a biriani, my favourite dish and Waitrose do a better ready meal.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaula Patel, Owner at Chaula’s, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Hi Thanks for your review if you were eating customer you would have let us know or takeaway customer could have called. We sell lot of Biryani your is the first complaint. Next time you come ask for more spicy food.

Reviewed 28 November 2023

Disgraceful along with there little corner shops Disgraceful disgusting behaviour towards females I've been over charged 3 times in there little shop in St pancreas Gardens lewes how Disgraceful and repaid why over charges you think I'm stupid female????More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaula Patel, Owner at Chaula’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Hi This review does not belong to this restaurant secondly this lady comes to my shop gets a bottle of whiskey and get drunk and constantly keep phoning to shop and restaurant we have charged wrong so now we have banned her so she has...More

Reviewed 9 September 2023

In our recent visit to this restaurant in Lewes, our intention was to enjoy some drinks and starters. However, during our time there, we encountered a rather surprising and disappointing incident. A lady, who we assumed either owned or managed the establishment, approached us and...requested that we leave. Her reason was that the restaurant did not solely serve starters. What made this encounter particularly perplexing was the fact that the restaurant was completely empty at the time, with no other patrons present except for us. This led to a sense of disbelief and astonishment regarding the situation. Our disappointment stems from the treatment we received and the apparent lack of courtesy exhibited by many Indian restaurants in the Lewes and Brighton area. It's disheartening to encounter such rude behavior, especially when customers were willing to patronize their establishment. This experience highlights the importance of hospitality and customer service in the restaurant industry, and it's unfortunate that it fell short in this particular instance.More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chaula Patel, Owner at Chaula’s, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Dear Gaurav You have made this review very long. It wax 5.30pm when you came restaurant was not busy but we have bookings regardless we just don’t serve starter's as the cost is not covered of washing up, water bills, Gas bolls, and staff wages...More

Reviewed 8 August 2023

We had a lovely time at Chaula's tonight! We were seated immediately, served immediately and checked upon regularly. The waiting staff were polite and attentive. The food itself was perfect, good sized portions and full of flavour! No complaints whatsoever.

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023

Lovely food and excellent service, lots of helpful advice. Plenty of choice for veggies like us too .Thoroughly recommend this restaurant

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2023

My other half and I hadn't been to Chaulas for a while but went for an early evening midweek dinner and had a really excellent meal. Nothing fancy, just a curry and rice each with a naan, preceded by a couple of poppadums and chutneys,...but it was all excellent. The curries tasted freshly cooked and really nicely spiced, the rice was well cooked and the naan lovely. really enjoyed the food, all unpretentious and good value. Service was very pleasant and friendly and despite it being early evening, there was a nice atmosphere in the place. We'll be back again soon.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2022

Great meal for group of 15 and great service. Restaurant was bit nippy but I think that's a one-off and it did not detract from the evening

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2022 via mobile

10th December 2022. Great food and generous portions. Everything was well cooked, perfectly spiced, tender and well presented. Unfortunately let down by it being so cold in the restaurant that we were all shivering and one of our group had to resort to wearing his...coat.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2022

We had a delicious meal on a damp autumn Thursday evening. The Bombay potato was so delicious - unlike any I have ever eaten before, full of sauce and flavour. The Dhal was so good, too. I ate these two dishes with coconut rice which...was perfect. I look forward to returning.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2022 via mobile

This is a special Indian restaurant. First class food. I’m a local but haven’t been here for years …. And I’m now regretting that decision. My son said ‘it’s the best curry I’ve had ‘ and I wouldn’t disagree. You’ll need to book but you...won’t be disappointedMore

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2022

We went for dinner very recently twice within a week. This is an authentic genuine Indian restaurant. This is so very different from the many Bangladeshi restaurants pretending to serve Indian food. This is a proper Indian restaurant serving delicious dishes. Our experience was simply...wonderful from non veg platters starters to the many main courses and desserts. The chef Tarun knows his business and the service was great. I would highly recommend this restaurant to one and all. A great pity we live a few hundred miles away but hope to visit again in the not too distant future.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
White Horses
694 reviews
5.86 miles away
Horsted Place Hotel And Restaurant
499 reviews
6.03 miles away
The Bull (Hotel)
396 reviews
6.46 miles away
Buffalo Bills
19 reviews
6.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Zorba Meze & Grill - Lewes
226 reviews
.09 miles away
The Patch
83 reviews
.14 miles away
The Royal Oak
74 reviews
.19 miles away
John Harvey Tavern
370 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cliffe High Street
114 reviews
.10 miles away
Pells Pool
77 reviews
.26 miles away
Lewes Tourist Information Cente
58 reviews
.19 miles away
Lewes Flea Market
89 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Chaula’s staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CHAULA’S, Lewes - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chaula’s

Yes, Chaula’s offers takeaway services.

Yes, Chaula’s offers delivery services.

Chaula’s is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4