We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wickle Cafe

24 High Street, Lewes BN7 2LU, England
+44 1273 487969
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average6%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (12 reviews)
“salads” (4 reviews)
“hummus” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24 High Street, Lewes BN7 2LU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I live in Lewes and this is absolutely my favourite place to eat. There are so many reasons to visit. The shop has some super cool bits in it The staff in the cafe and the shop are REALLY friendly The cafe food is freshly...More

Thank Georgia T
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Georgia T, Thank you for your amazing review. I will give my great café team your feedback, they are so hardworking in our tiny kitchen and cafe, it is so lovely when someone shows appreciation. Thank you again. Elisabeth

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When I first moved south 10 years ago with my hubby, Wickle was one of the reasons we decided Lewes was the place for us. As it turned out we ended up in Hove but we often visit Lewes and we ALWAYS go to Wickle...More

Thank kathyfromhove
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Kathy, Thank you for your very kind words, it is very much appreciated that you took the time to review us. Hopefully you enjoyed our rearrange and how it is back to how the set up was 10 years ago! I hope you come...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I often meet for chat coffee and lunch at wickle and have never been disappointed until last week. We ordered flatbread with sweet potato and halloumi filling. We were the only customers which was unusual for the time of day but thought...More

Thank sara a
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sara A, I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your food. I wish you would have told us at the time, and I am sure my team would have rectified the order. I am certain it would have been a...More

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We popped in to have lunch (their vegan cakes are delicious) and to feed our daughter. We were told we could not feed her the lunch we had bought with us but would have to buy something from the kids menu, which the shop assistant...More

Thank K1ttyj
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Kitty, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you are upset you could not have your child eat your own food in our small café. We have recently reduced the seating area to 10 seats and it is very difficult for us...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

The selection of food and drinks here is very good, and they all taste amazing. The only downside is the relatively high price, however this is Lewes, so that is to be expected.More

Thank Joss P
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Joss, Thank you for your kind words. As for the prices, what can I say, we live in an expensive world and to use good ingredients and offer a large range of gluten free cakes, where the flour has been replaced by almond flour...More

Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

A perfect, extremely child friendly place to stop for a decent coffee and almost endless browsing. The range of clothes, toys, kitchenware and many other assorted gems is staggering, and frequently changing with new items appearing often. The atmosphere is very friendly and tolerant of...More

Thank Martin G
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Martin G, Thank you for your very kind words! We cant believe it has been over 11 years in Lewes now. We feel very lucky to be part of the family life here and see all our lovely regulars young and old having fun...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

Was visting Lewes for the day and decided to pop into Wickles shop, without realising there was a sweet cafe in the back! Just had a coffee which was nice. Plenty of people in there and lots of families with small children as there was...More

Thank GeorgiaH1995
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear Georgia H, Thank you for your very kind words and description. We look forward to having you again. Kind regards Elisabeth

Reviewed 14 May 2017

We found this cafe in the rear of a shop of the same name and decided to have a snack lunch. The surroundings are quite basic but suitable for a short visit. The cafe appeared to be aimed at parents with children, but was not...More

Thank Travelexperience12
wickle, Manager at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Dear Travelexperience12, Thank you your review. We are pleased you enjoyed Wickle. You are right in your guess, we are a treat room aimed at parents with children, making it possible for children to get used to being in a café. We do have a...More

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Not to visit if you have a little baby who wants to sleep in the pram. We were demanded to move our pram in the garden because of health and safety. They should have demanded it before we started eating, we would have picked a...More

1  Thank Trish8383
wickle, Owner at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Trish, We try very hard to fit everyone in, unfortunately prams are very big and becomes a trip hazard when serving food, as well as for other customers. We would hate for coffee or tea to be spilt on your baby should someone have...More

Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The flatbreads here are totally worth ordering - so absolutely delicious. The range of cakes is always different and the salads are fresh and so tasty, make sure you have a side order! They have just redone the cafe so there is more room, much...More

Thank Georgia T
wickle, Manager at Wickle Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Dear Georgia, Thank you for your kind words. Our team works so hard to make nice food, we are grateful that it is appreciated. Do let us know next time you are in, should you need help finding a present or even just have fun...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Hart
26 reviews
.14 miles away
Aqua
283 reviews
.08 miles away
Lemongrass
102 reviews
.00 miles away
Limetree Kitchen
269 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lewes Castle & Barbican House Museum
414 reviews
.21 miles away
Southover Grange Gardens
180 reviews
.32 miles away
Anne of Cleves House
298 reviews
.50 miles away
Cliffe High Street
83 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Wickle Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:30 - 18:00
Tuesday
09:30 - 18:00
Wednesday
09:30 - 18:00
Thursday
09:30 - 18:00
Friday
09:30 - 18:00
Saturday
09:30 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 High Street, Lewes BN7 2LU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Sussex  >  Lewes
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 487969
Description
We are a mini department store with a cafe at the back of our premises. We aim to sell and serve locally made, fairly made and unusual products. We have our own style of food, mixing Scandinavian, with Japanese, Czech and British flavours as well as other European influences, evolving with the current food trends we explore. We have a small menu using fresh fruit and veg and our staple Greek flat breads. Our space might limit us a bit, but our creativity will never be limited.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing