We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greatfield

££ - £££
Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Caernarvon Road, Cheltenham GL51 3BW, England
+44 1242 863149
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 132: English reviews
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We thought we would try The Greatfield again as we had a disappointing visit a few months ago and unfortunately it has not improved! The service from staff was poor from the beginning when our drinks order was wrong and then we waited an hour and a half for our food to arrive with no apology in the meantime for... More 

Thank julieX7410RK
General Manager A, Manager at The Greatfield, responded to this review

We regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. All I can do is assure you we are now under new management and hope in the future you give us a chance to show the standards you experienced are not acceptable to us here at The Greatfield More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

45 minutes wait for food and no one made any reference to that when we ordered. Problem with dishwasher so glasses look dirty on the outside. When food did arrived it was overcooked, chips and peas were barely luke warm. Added to that, there was about a dessertspoonful of peas and a puddle of oil under the fish. Yuk!!!!

Thank Julie S
General Manager A, Manager at The Greatfield, responded to this review

Julie, as the the new manager I can only apologise and assure you that steps have already been taken to ensure the quality of our food and service is greatly improved. I hope in the future you give us here at the Greatfield another chance to show you we can deliver the standards you (and I) expect. More 

1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We have not been eating here because of the previous experience of food being not good, so we thought we would give the place another chance and wished we had not bothered. Very sub standard food and will not be eating there again unless something changes for the better. Such a shame i can only put it down to ember... More 

Thank shelley p
General Manager A, Manager at The Greatfield, responded to this review

Hi, Shelley, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. I am very sorry for your poor experience. All I can do is apologise and assure you that new management is now in place and we have already taken action to address the issues you have experienced. We hope in the future you give us another chance to show... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

we went to the greatfield for a birthday ,we have been going there for many years ,last week the food was sent back as we have always liked the food we thought maybe it was a one of so we went on sunday they said there was a wait of 30 mins so we waited and waite 1 hour and... More 

Thank suelee6171
General Manager A, Manager at The Greatfield, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We here at The Greatfield are very sorry for your multiple poor experiences. I can assure you however that we are now under new management and many of the issues you experienced have already been noticed and actions put in place to ensure standards improve greatly. I hope in the... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Haven't been in the Greatfield for many years, so I thought I'd give it a whirl as I was in the vicinity. I was not disappointed as I was given a warm welcome & service with a smile. I ordered a pint of "Dave" as the name alone made my mind up. What a wonderful ale, dark and full of... More 

Thank Maz M
General Manager A, Manager at The Greatfield, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Maz. More 

Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2016

We had a very nice lunch here. Not expensive and good quality. We were made to feel welcome by the barman who was cheery with a good sense of humor.

Thank Mechanicalman64
General Manager A, Manager at The Greatfield, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments. More 

Coventry, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Came here for lunch, four adults, one 20month old. It was very cold as the boiler had broken. No extra heating was being used to address it. I am not local, or would have gone elsewhere. We ordered food and was told there would be a 20 minute wait. This turned out to be 50 minutes and a further 30... More 

Thank harvey10
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2016

Went for lunch with my wife and uncle, the food is always good and very reasonably priced. The decor is very pleasing and spotlessly clean. The staff are always friendly and cheerful and we were well looked after by Sophie and Kirsty. A very pleasant lunchtime.

Thank Colin J
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

Quick lunch with the work lot. As always lovely hot food. Great service and a lovely hot fire Posh fish finger sandwich was amazing

Thank Ami C
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

What's happened with GREATFIELD!!!!!!!!😞😞😞😞😧 Went to the bar at 17.21 and ordered drinks and carried drinks to the table and chatted. Ordered food at approx 17.35 and continued to unwind. Chatted and had enough time to order a number of Christmas presents via Amazon and still no starter!!!!. Eventually, after about 30 minutes the starter arrived as there was clearly... More 

Thank Terry H

Travellers who viewed The Greatfield also viewed

Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds

Been to The Greatfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Bar, British, Pub
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Caernarvon Road, Cheltenham GL51 3BW, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1242 863149

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Greatfield staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?