We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Grill, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,198)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,196 results
Traveller rating
788
157
66
59
126
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
788
157
66
59
126
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pudding curry hungry horse family meal quick service brilliant service lovely meal be visiting again the pub piping hot lau severn
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not surprised this place shut down, it's been going down hill for months, waiting ages for food, short staff, can't order after 7, poor management , rubbish, shame as kids used to like it.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A favourite haunt of mine whilst working throughout the Cotswolds during summer harvestime. Often a late steak with work colleagues. So sorry to see it closed.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2023

Travelled 20miles for my Husbands birthday was looking forward to the cluck and cheese sharer but they didn't have that, so ordered fish and chips to be told they didn't have any fish. I had the tandoori chicken on peppers with a herb,chilli and spring...onion salad but got given a pile of lettuce with a sauce on it. Desert ordered the horseshoe doughnut with Strawberries, ice cream and cream. When it arrived I was told I had an extra scoop of ice cream as no Strawberries wasn't given the choice to change my mind. We couldn't fault the staff as they were polite and helpful. We could of understood if busy but only about 3 tables. Disappointed as used before and been really happy but a long way to travel to not have food you like.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2023

Hi Benny806, I am sorry to hear of the difficulties you faced with items from our menu. Our staff will always try their best to accommodate your meal requirements if there are items missing. I'm very sorry that it was not the best it could...More

Reviewed 11 October 2023

Just wanted to say what a lovely time we had this eve at dinner for my daughter’s birthday, as it’s where she chose to go, we love the place it’s always grate food and fantastic service!! Even though you were busy and short staffed, it...was still excellent food with little waiting and amazing service, and they even made it extra special for her when they brought her dessert with a candle in it!More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2023

Hi Emma, Thank you for such a lovely review! I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Dan and the Team

Reviewed 1 October 2023

As returning customers since 2020, we sadly will not be coming back anymore. We have supported this restaurant since the first lockdown and left a glowing review after our third visit. The last two visits were not great but weren't bad like today. I typed...an essay worthy review this time, but decided I would not add as much detail as it was so bad. So I'm shortening it to this. Undercooked food, inc a bloody steak that had to be mopped on the plate as it was all over the chips. doughy onion ring side dish, underwhelming burger, no salad except the centre of the lettuce and bits of onion. No garnish atall on any of our food, and smaller portions, apparently as the menu has changed. Very sad and upsetting as a meal out should be special. Even had to ask for the Guinness to be topped up as was an inch short from the top of the glass. Nothing like the review I left two years ago. Lau is the only consistent they have there, still polite and friendly and as attentive as could be as he was busy. The surly young woman who begrudgingly topped up the Guinness and remarked. "There you go" from the side of her face, no eye contact or friendliness atall. The other two women who we encountered weren't any better either, but at least they made eye contact when they asked if we'd finished with our plates. That was the most attention we had, when we'd finished. We were never asked how our meals were or if there was anything else we needed. Waste of £60 and wish we'd have gone elsewhere.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2023

We are terribly sorry to hear the experience you have had with us on this occasion. We will pass this feedback onto the relevant team members. This isn't our usual standards and we hope you'll try us again to receive standards you are happy with

Reviewed 23 September 2023

A massive thank you to the dedicated team at this restaurant. I am aware of recruitment issues, but this does not prevent the staff from being friendly, attentive & helpful. The food today was delicious! Couldn't fault it. The special plates are £10 on a...Saturday, which is great value. Tasted Sea Bass for the first time today & it was cooked really well & was very tasty. Look forward to visiting again soon. 😁More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2023

Thank you for your amazing 5* review. The whole team really are doing there upmost to ensure everyone gets a great experience. We really do hope to see you very soon and again show you we are a great value restaurant with great service. Dan...More

Reviewed 19 September 2023

We use the Hungry horse in chippenham ( rowden arms) and we are always more than satisfied with it so was extreme disappointed with todays outcome It was a leaving meal for one of our members of to the navy , hardly worth the £100...for 4 of us Upon entry was told the kitchen was closed at 6’oclock when we had a online booking (which doesn’t mention this at all) at 6 we then ordered starters and mains together via app and after we were finishing our starters they took some of our empty plates away whilst some family was still eating and immediately brought mains out. there was no garlic on the ciabatta with mac n cheese , the burger and chicken was dry, mushrooms were old and dry on the starter and the peas had lost all the colour . We ordered 2 horseshoe homers for desert and they came out very quickly and one was still frozen and had 2 at best strawberry’s , had it swapped out for another desert as wasn’t impressed at all!! the customer service was terrible , no pleases or thank yous they never told us to order at the bar or app you had to work it out yourself They only cared about closing the kitchen as quick as they canMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2023

We are really sorry for the service you received on this occasion. It’s not our normal standard so I will discuss with the relevant team members. We do hope you can give us another try and show you this isn’t our normal standards.

Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

We have been going to this restaurant for many years and tonight the service and quality of the food was absolutely 💩 some of the dishes was served cold and had to send back went to this restaurant for my daughter’s birthday and so disappointed...with the food and service we received tonightMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2023

Hi Ian, we are terribly sorry to hear about your experience with us on this occasion. We are sorry that you felt the service was unsatisfactory, we are very short staffed at the moment and the Team are trying their best to ensure you still...More

Reviewed 4 August 2023

We use this establishment fairly regularly and have always been pleased with our experiences both with the food and the lovely staff. Today we fancied a visit and duly checked their website for opening hours as we were caught out once and found the pub...closed. Sure enough, the website confirmed that they were open as usual so we set off. Arriving at the pub we were met with closed doors and a notice pinned up stating that they had changed opening hours. What an utter waste of a 20+ mile journey. Please keep your website updated! I suspect that we probably weren't the only ones disappointed today. We shan't be visiting again which is a pity. Extremely disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2023

Hi outandabout49er, Unfortunately as you have seen we have had to change our opening times for the foreseeable future, we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused by this. Our website is updated through greeneking head office and they are working to get this sorted...More

Reviewed 29 July 2023

This was one of our many amazing visits at this pub, they’ve all been more than perfect but this one was extraordinary, me and my family (8 of us) had a table booked this evening, one of the staff welcomed and directed us to our...table, the food came extremely quick which was not expected as the pub was absolutely full. We were also celebrating one of our child’s birthday which the staff brought out the cake after finishing our mains (as we requested) and also sang happy birthday with us which put a smile on my son’s face! We highly recommend this pub it’s honestly wonderful and very welcoming, 10/10!!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2023

Thank you so much for the amazing review! We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 28 July 2023 via mobile

Absolutely awesome restaurant/pub, Big shout out to Dan and Lau, fab food and brilliant service, Really friendly staff, Deffo recommend here for a bite to eat and a drink, You will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2023

Hi Karen, Thank you so much for your lovely review! be sure I will pass your feedback onto Lau and the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Dan & the Seven Springs Team

Reviewed 11 July 2023

Friendly staff, lots of options at good prices too. If your not expecting Micheline star food you'll love it.

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, General Manager at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Thanks James for a fab 5* review! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Dan and the Team

Reviewed 11 July 2023 via mobile

We visited on Sunday. The team were slightly short staffed, but the service they gave was just amazing just like our other visits. The food was great also, lovely and hot, and came surprisingly quick. There seems to have been some decorating since we last...visited and it does start to look good. We’ll be back very soon. Keep up the good work.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, Owner at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2023

Thank you for such a fantastic review on your return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Dan and the Springs Team

Reviewed 7 June 2023 via mobile

Amazing service from mihaela. Very friendly & attentive . Good food at fair price thanks to the chef Stoyan. Will be back

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, Owner at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2023

Hi kieran, thank you for the lovely review about our team! We will be sure to pass on this feedback to them! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 14 May 2023

I ordered a roast it was awful the mash was grey the chicken tough, frozen inedible, the other meals were bad a mixed grill that’s made my husband feel unwell , the waitress was rude , we didn’t receive some items of food, won’t be...going back againMore

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Greene King, Owner at The Seven Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2023

we are very sorry to hear about your experience here, please feel free to email us on 3273@greeneking.co.uk to send us more feedback on your experience and how we can do better for you next time

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cowley Manor
1,241 reviews
1.42 miles away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
1,301 reviews
1.65 miles away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
1,145 reviews
2.98 miles away
Royal George Hotel
1,283 reviews
3.03 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Royal
597 reviews
2.16 miles away
The Golden Heart Inn
667 reviews
2.48 miles away
The Old Rectory Restaurant
151 reviews
.71 miles away
Clock Tower
551 reviews
1.65 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Walks With Hawks
454 reviews
1.88 miles away
Sibling Distillery
50 reviews
2.07 miles away
Crickley Hill
438 reviews
2.45 miles away
Colesbourne Park
46 reviews
3.02 miles away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SEVEN SPRINGS, Cheltenham - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Seven Springs

The Seven Springs is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4