We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Spoon

8 Well Walk, Cheltenham GL50 3JX, England
+44 1242 228555
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“custard tart” (8 reviews)
“beef” (33 reviews)
“bread” (32 reviews)
Closed
Hours
CUISINES
European, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
8 Well Walk, Cheltenham GL50 3JX, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 469 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Visited with my wife and both our parents. My wife and I have eaten here before so took our parents so that they could experience the food and drink. As before the food and service were excellent, both parents echoed this and throughly enjoyed the...More

Thank Mark S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A wonderful relaxed meal for four in this Michelin rated restaurant. Chef and front of house exceptional. Great value for money for this high quality fine dining. Intimate friendly and laid back surroundings. Wine exceptional value too.

Thank canoesrus
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time at the white spoon. Again the food was incredible, service was so good. The waitress answered all of our questions so easily and had so much knowledge! The chicken Kiev was particularly good and I would highly recommend the side...More

1  Thank Amy S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We love the White Spoon the food is always such a high standard. I went for the set lunch menu & chose the BBQ vegetables, they were amazing, so much flavour & the triple cooked chips were the best I'd ever had. The set lunch...More

Thank Toothy2
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited last week and had a lovely lunch. We opted for the three course set menu; soup, bbq vegetables and eton mess. The flavours were outstanding, portion size good and the price was unbelievably good value.

Thank Nics1981
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We met friends and the six of us had a great meal. The food was very good, service attentive but not obtrusive, ambience relaxed and comfortable, and the pace gentle. We weren't in a rush and really got to catch up while dining. The octopus...More

Thank Waseem I
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Our hotel recommended this restaurant during our stay in Cheltenham and it was everything they said it would be. Lovely atmosphere, very comfortable, great service and superb food. We had a terrific evening.

Thank Andrew J
Reviewed 17 August 2018

This is just THE best place to eat in Cheltenham. Outstanding food and service. We were there for our 27th anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a better place to eat at. The food is A+++ , as is the service. We will be going...More

Thank Rachael P
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Ate here on 21 July. Fantastic food and attentive service would happily visit again next time we are in Cheltenham.

Thank lizsandford
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Had a lovely time with friends. Food was good and would definitely visit again when next in Cheltenham. The only issue and its not just this restaurant is getting the bill split. their were eight of us and we asked if we could have separate...More

Thank June W
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in Cheltenham
Strozzi Palace Boutique Suites by Mansley
386 reviews
.06 miles away
Premier Inn Cheltenham Town Centre
304 reviews
.10 miles away
Central Hotel Cheltenham
327 reviews
.19 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Cheltenham
788 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lumiere
766 reviews
.07 miles away
L'Artisan
802 reviews
.03 miles away
Well Walk Tea Room
495 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Everyman Theatre
384 reviews
.14 miles away
The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum
374 reviews
.03 miles away
Neptune Fountain
141 reviews
.11 miles away
The Play Farm
75 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Andrea D
17 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Spoons80 | Property representative |
Unfortunately, our restaurant is accessible via a number of steps upwards, in addition, there is a staircase down to our toilet facilities, therefore not accessible by wheelchair users. We do apologise, but due to the... More
0
Votes
Roland S
12 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Spoons80 | Property representative |
Hello No we are child friendly and we have high chairs available. We ourselves have a little girl who eats here regularly. Although we don’t have baby changing facilities or offer a children’s menu, but can offer smaller... More
1
Vote
Max210677
17 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sandrachandra2000 | Reviewed this property |
i don't think they offer discounts to NHS staff, why should they?
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$16 - US$52
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
18:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Well Walk, Cheltenham GL50 3JX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cheltenham
  • Phone Number: +44 1242 228555
  • E-mail
Description
The White Spoon is a restaurant born from the ambition and commitment of our Chef Director, Chris White. It is a relaxed dining experience where you can expect to see dishes that showcase individual ingredients, each elevated, using modern techniques, into something truly exciting, without losing their original charm.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing