We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fleece at Cirencester

) #18 of 95 Restaurants in Cirencester ££ - £££ Bar, British, Pub
Market Place | GL7 2NZ, Cirencester, England
+44 1285 658507
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“risotto” (10 reviews)
“sea bass” (7 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
££ - £££
Market Place | GL7 2NZ, Cirencester, England
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Don't sit at the table looking out onto the patio because you won't be able to see through it for the dirty windows. which don't look as though they have been cleaned in months! While you're at it, don't look at the skirting boards or...More

Thank brizemail
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Enjoyed a very good lunch in pleasant surroundings. Friendly staff too. Ate a very good sausage and mash accompanied by some good bottled beer. The Fleece is in the centre of Cirencester and is always packed, usually a good sign. Would recommend a visit for...More

Thank Puss100
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! Our Cumberland Sausage and Mash has gone down really well on our new menu! Please do pop back in soon to sample the rest of our fantastic food!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pub at the front is loud, raucous and full of energy. The dinner seating at the rear is genteel and quietly chic. Service is unobtrusive but efficient. The menu is eclectic and exotic and is unfortunately, too ambitious for the chefs. Result - nice...More

Thank Jairaj H
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take your comments very seriously. After a chat with our chefs we have rectified these slight hiccups in our high standards. With it being our brand new menu we have now straightened out these teething issues and hope you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked during the day in person, told we would be in restaurant, however ended up in a corridor with NO atmosphere. We did complain, told a party was now in the restaurant. Food fine but evening disappointing. Manager did give us a discount,doubtful if...More

Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

I'm very sorry that you didn't receive the standards you expected here at The Fleece, I hope you can try us again and give us the opportunity to showcase the exacting standards we normally operate to.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I popped in for lunch. We shared the platter of bread and olive oils and BBQ coated sausages which was nice but the smallest amount of butter (about the size of a 50p!) to spread over 6 pieces of bread. We had...More

Thank Marmitelover1
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a family meal, there were five of us. The menu was expensive and there was little choice, £12.50 for three new potatoes, dried up chicken breast and a bit of green, not a vegetable in sight. One had pasta and two had steak. I...More

Thank christine w
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take all feedback very seriously. We have recently started our new summer menu and I apologise if you experienced a few teething problems with it, they have now been rectified and we hope you can visit again soon. If...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic pub/ restaurant we all had the roast beef which was lovely and sticky toffee pudding. Friendly staff, there's a nice courtyard garden to eat if the weathers good.

Thank Niki B
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 9 April 2017

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Fleece, the atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed and the staff helpful. Our room was beautifully decorated and comfortable making it a great base to visit the Cotswolds. Our room included Breakfast which was delicious and...More

Thank kandt184
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments, it's great to get feedback and our staff really enjoy hearing them! We hope you can visit again soon.

Reviewed 4 April 2017

The staff were very friendly and offered us a table in their reception area, after a few unsuccessful attempts at other pubs. The children opted for the sausages and mash from the children's menu - portion size was plentiful but the chipolatas wrapped in bacon...More

Thank sjjch
Fleece C, Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we aim for you to leave The Fleece, excited for your next visit, while this time you may not have, I hope you can over see our slight hiccup in our normally fantastic standards and try some more items on...More

Reviewed 27 March 2017

Table booked for 2-00pm, shown to table at 2-45pm, public bar and restaurant very busy. The staff were very young and inexperienced. But very polite. The food was disappointing,when we received the bill they had included a bottle of wine that was not ordered. The...More

Thank Peter B
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Mosaic
331 reviews
.05 miles away
Toro Lounge
198 reviews
.10 miles away
234 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Corinium Museum
510 reviews
.18 miles away
Parish Church of St John Baptist
373 reviews
.07 miles away
Cirencester Park
70 reviews
.33 miles away
Cirencester Amphitheatre
84 reviews
.56 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Hi I was looking at your review about Sunday lunch. You've not said anything about the food etc Could you let me know about the food as looking for a booking this weekend but uncertain whether to book Thanks Steve
8 September 2015|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$13 - US$65
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
08:00 - 22:30
07:00 - 23:00
07:00 - 23:00
07:00 - 23:00
07:00 - 23:00
07:00 - 23:00
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Market Place | GL7 2NZ, Cirencester, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cirencester
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 658507
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at The Fleece at Cirencester
Located in the heart of Cirencester, we're a popular bars and restaurant for all occasions. From a relaxed, heart breakfast in the morning, cakes and sandwiches for lunch with friends to a big family dinner in the evening to celebrate a special occasion.

Our food is our passion. Our menu is forever changing to reflect the best produce form the local area and the seasons. To wash down your dinner we have an enviable selection of real ales on the bar alongside world wine and some great cocktails!