We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jacks

44 Black Jack Street, Cirencester GL7 2AA, England
+44 1285 640888
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good32%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (151 reviews)
“chocolate cake” (15 reviews)
“victoria sponge” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
44 Black Jack Street, Cirencester GL7 2AA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here as we called in a few years ago but left disappointed. We visited at 1pm and several sandwiches were dold out. We asked for a pot of tea but we had to have a paper cup like McDonalds as the dishwasher wasn't...More

Thank neiljaffa
137Sue_s, Manager at Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Golly.. we're so sorry you didn't voice your opinion whilst you were here. We made the decision not to serve our normal crockery as we had no means of sterilisation this weekend and we really didn't want to pass any contamination between customers. This was...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this place on the internet and thought I'd give it a try. I wasn't disappointed. The cakes are just amazing. I went last Thursday for the first time and went back again on Saturday, and will be going again this week. There is a...More

Thank Seaburngirl
137Sue_s, Manager at Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Well... thank you for your positive, kind review. We greatly appreciate this. And hats off to our cook for producing such yum cakes. There's no place like Jacks.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited Jacks on many occasions and enjoyed the experience, but not yesterday. We were showing friends around Cirencester and, having been to the museum, the obvious place to go was Jacks. We arrived about 4:00. The tea we ordered was fine, the cakes...More

Thank PeterBCirencester
137Sue_s, Manager at Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello and thank you for your review. I'm very sad to hear about your experience and I will look into what went wrong that day. Please don't let it put you off in the future, it will be addressed.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with my son earlier this month. It was fairly busy and the staff seemed a little disorganised bit the coffee was good and the cakes all looked so good it was hard to choose. Definitely worth a visit

Thank eek-i-saw-a-mouse
137Sue_s, Manager at Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We do have some busy days in Jacks. As it is always so popular. Happy you enjoyed the coffee though. Please come again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great atmosphere, limited menu choices were very good, Cakes?!! Too many to choose and all looked scrumptious AND it was! Obviously very popular and not hard to see why unfortunately not local enough to visit as much as we'd like

Thank Simon W
137Sue_s, Manager at Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Let's hope you pass this way again. Always working on what we offer so hopefully most people are happy. Thank you for you kind review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All i can say is the cakes are awesome - they are the right size and very much moreish. Well worth a visit and in a nice part of Cirencester. The service is a little bit slow by that service behind counter could be slicker...More

Thank Faceyreviews
137Sue_s, Manager at Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for reviewing Jacks.

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lovely coffee and the cakes looked amazing but as we had had such a large breakfast at our hotel, sadly we didn't have room to sample them.

Thank Claire S
137Sue_s, Manager at Jacks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hopefully next time you'll find room for our cakes. Thank you for your kind review

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Great little cafe. Menu is through and the coffee very good. Cakes went down well with the children. Good service from staff. My only gripe is why do eating establishments allow people to bring their dogs in. I know dog owners expect everyone to love...More

Thank Matthew R
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

A charming tea & cake shop with a very impressive & delicious cake range. Canned drinks somewhat expensive though.

Thank NickyEl
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Disappointed. The quality of the food has gone down. No quiches. No soups. Not artisan breads any more. No homemade salads. Ham and beef lower quality. What's happened? Used to be so good.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cote Brasserie - Cirencester
506 reviews
.05 miles away
LBs at Swan Yard
154 reviews
.04 miles away
Piazza Fontana
469 reviews
.06 miles away
Jesse's Bistro
370 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Corinium Museum
568 reviews
.02 miles away
Parish Church of St John Baptist
420 reviews
.10 miles away
Cirencester Park
91 reviews
.17 miles away
Cirencester Amphitheatre
98 reviews
.41 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lynedoch13
10 August 2017|
Answer
Response from 137Sue_s | Property representative |
Hi and thank you for your observation. We are currently shifting Jacks menu after extensive research and what the customers are buying. We will be adding to the menu so keep an eye.
0
Votes
Lauren E
24 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 137Sue_s | Property representative |
Yes you are. Call the cafe on 01285 640888 We look forward to seeing you.
0
Votes
Jel hg
19 September 2015|
Answer
Response from Angela J |
Yes dogs welcome
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 17:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 44 Black Jack Street, Cirencester GL7 2AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Cirencester
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 640888
Description
Small cafe in a side street in Cirencester. Really busy and most of the things are home made mentioned in other reviews but deserves a review of its own
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing