We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Royal William

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
+44 1452 813650
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have tried the carvery three times over the past couple of months and we've always been very impressed with the food and service. Would definitely recommend and great value too. We will be visiting again soon.

Helpful?
Thank abbeyangel
newent
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited for a birthday meal sat downstairs which was nice but a little dark! Service was slow but was friendly and helpfu,l we had sharing platter to start which was nice but the dips were a bit odd one of which was burger sauce!! the carvery was lovely with 3 meats and fresh veg, my husband ordered a deluxe burger... More 

Helpful?
Thank casperboo
Eastwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We didn't eat here but I wish now we had, we had a few drinks the atmosphere here was lovely a beautiful log burner and comfy chairs etc what more do you want the staff seemed friendly I think next year I will see about stopping here for a couple of days xxx

Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here by chance with seven friends. We were very pleasantly served. My beer-drinking cronies were impressed by the real ales. We all enjoyed our food which was freshly-cooked. I had a venison burger with cheese which was very tasty. Recommended if you are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyInglesi
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Revisited the Royal William as had such a great dining experience previously, not disappointed! Fabulous friendly welcome from all the staff and wonderful lunch again, many thanks and keep up the good work!

Helpful?
2 Thank S1571SFnicolab
cheltenham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited previously we were suprised when we were able to book a table for Sunday lunch at such short notice but then on arriving we noted several empty tables! Sunday roast was no where to be seen on the menu until we spotted "carvery" hidden at the back in small print under desserts! As the waitress hadn't returned after... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lizr935
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this review

Dear LizR935 May I first say thank you for spending the time to write a review on our business. It is so nice to know that such a skilled and admired food and business critic takes the time to visit our family run business. I am saddened however to understand that you were not impressed in what we have tried... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016

Went there on a Saturday night with friends, one of whom is disabled It is an old building which doesn't lend itself naturally to being disabled friendly but it wasn't a problem. Staff were friendly and attentive. Drinks were served promptly. The restaurant appeared to be quite full but we weren't kept waiting for our food. We all selected from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Louise S
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016

A group of us went there for lunch. We had booked and they were expecting us. The waitress was very friendly and nice but the service was slow. Took ages for the drinks to arrive, then forever for the food. We were about to expire from hunger. It wasn't even busy. The food was pretty good if a bit heavy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Went there with friends for Sunday lunch. A friendly welcome and service throughout the meal. We had the Carvery which is excellent value for money. I had the beef and turkey which were well cooked and tasty as were the Yorkshire pudding and roast potatoes. Others also had the roast pork which was to the same standard Only gripe is... More 

Helpful?
Thank bluekipper3
LCPC, Owner at The Royal William, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. It is so nice when someone takes the time to commend our efforts. I would point out thought that all our Sunday roast vegetables are freshly prepared and cooked on site. I will pass your comments on though as clearly these may have been overcooked on this occasion. Thank you once again and we hope... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

Meeting up halfway with family we had not seen for some time, the Prince William seemed an ideal place for lunch. It certainly was. The two meals for £10 offer gave us ample choice, and even the one of us with an onion allergy was able to choose something. All the waiting staff were attentive and our meals were very... More 

Helpful?
Thank TessaPolis

Travellers who viewed The Royal William also viewed

 
Painswick, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Royal William? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$34
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, International
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cheltenham Road | Cranham, Painswick GL6 6TT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Painswick
  • Phone Number: +44 1452 813650
Description
Food served daily from 12.00 Until 9.00

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Royal William staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?