We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£6 - £17
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (604)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
303
158
59
36
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
303
158
59
36
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pie fish and chips lasagna soup bread sandwiches the pub sunday lunch market square nice food stow wadsworth ales pint pubs dog roast
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed today

Stopped for lunch , the service was awful ordered 5 Pepsi which we received plus an orange juice which we didn't order,after waiting an hour for our lunch we were very disappointed food was cold badly cooked needless to say we paid for the drinks...and walked out ,we were not the only customers to complain ,a place we will not be returning toMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped in here while touring this quaint little village. The restaurant/pub is very nice. Filled with many locals on a midday Sunday. Friendly staff and nice selections on the menu. Chicken Ceasar Salad was large and well made. Char-broiled burger also good. Service was a...bit slow but we were told that the food was prepared as ordered, so no problem. Had an extra beer from their fine selection. Very enjoyable.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was OK but service very slow- took the kitchen over an hour to make two sandwiches and then another 10 mins for the fries to arrive.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We placed our order for food and waited 50 minutes before we heard the waitress apologise to others about the delay with their food, nothing was said to us but she was clearly the messenger and run off her feet. Gave it another 5 minutes...and still no sign of our food! We asked for the bill for our drinks and said we was not prepared to wait any longer.. we had no apology. Advice... if you can’t cope with lots of orders on a busy Easter weekend maybe get more staff so you can offer a great service.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Glister, General Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We can only apologise, we are not a restaurant and yes we were overrun, it's a hard decision to turn new clients away, but then, if too busy it affects service, we agree. Unfortunately we are too small to get extra staff, but we really...More

Reviewed 26 February 2024

Had Sunday lunch and was great! Staff very friendly and could not do enough to help plus great value for money! Well worth popping in and they have live music during the week and weekends 👌🏻

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Glister, General Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you so much, we hope to see you again soon x 😊 ❤️

Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Fancied a pint and a pub with atmosphere and that’s what we got. We went Friday and Saturday night and both evenings they had entertainment on which was very good. The price of drinks was about £6.40 for a pint of lager ! Not too...bad composted to other pubs we had been toMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Glister, General Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Awesome, thanks guys, we can't wait to fet you back in x see you soon

Reviewed 17 February 2024

A host of great reviews on here so we may have been unlucky.. A lot of items not available from the menu at the time of visit, but it was lunch time so would have expected better. Main reason for the review was due to...the poor value for money and we felt very overpriced menu compared to other nearby establishments as we discovered afterwards. We made no complaints at the time and perhaps we should have given our feedback, but waited over half an hr for a ‘club Sandwich’ and at £14.00 would have expected a bit more than 2 slices of Bread, some chicken, some bacon and a side salad. Extra for chips ( however, to be fare this was not charged due to the long wait) Very expensive for a pub, or for any establishment really. Felt robbed and couldn’t wait to get away from the place. Nice staff but clearly struggling on the day.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Lovely friendly staff that weren't having a chat because it was their job. Dog friendly which was important because we are trying to socialise one of ours, the staff interacted with ours. It was a nice space to sit in not over crowded a lot...of the other pubs sit you on top of the next table and perfect fir a bit of people watching over the square. Oh last but not least a good pint, cheers.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

This is a cute restaurant/pub right in the center of town. The service was okay, but to be fair, there was just one person working hard! The beer was very tasty and the food decent (just not outstanding). The atmosphere was charming.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

We were enjoying a day in Stow-on-the-Wold and wanted some lunch. We were turned away from about half a dozen pubs and restaurants because they were too busy and then tried The Talbot. Although it was also busy, Jay found us some space to have...a drink and look at the menu while we waited for a table to become available. He brought us drinks and looked after us notwithstanding the fact that he seemed to be looking after the whole pub by himself - clearing tables, serving food, taking orders and ALL with a smile on his face. The food was home cooked, delicious and reasonably priced. We were made to feel extremely welcome and had a lovely lunch on a wet December day. We will definitely be back next time we are in the area.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2023

Jay and Larna was amazing friendly welcoming and amazing hosts had such amazing night. Definitely going back tomorrow

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Glister, General Manager at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2023

Thank you so much, we loved you company xx

Reviewed 24 November 2023

came here on the off chance and had an amazing time with live music, dancing and great service from Alana who served drinks really quickly and was really friendly and we ended up staying here all night rather! Will be back to Stow-on-the-Wold very soon!!

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2023

Alanah, Ryan and Adam were the most phenomenal hosts and businesses owners in all of the UK. Great food, amazing service, live music and and amazing atmosphere that you can't match at any other establishment. Will be returning as soon as we can.

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Glister, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2023

Thank you so much Noah, we loved having you here and also we loved the singing my friend. x

Reviewed 17 November 2023

Fantastic pub, owner Adam and team are wonderful; really pleasant and welcoming. Would definitely recommend. We went on a Wednesday during their open mic night and it was a great night for all ages

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Glister, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2023

Thank you, Thank you... we loved having you here too.

Reviewed 10 November 2023 via mobile

First visit to THE TALBOT staff are very welcoming and friendly. Me and my partner will definitely be visiting again for a meal next time

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adam Glister, Owner at The Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2023

Thank you so much, that means alot, see you again soon... The Talbot Team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Stow Lodge Hotel
512 reviews
.06 miles away
The Stag at Stow
302 reviews
.07 miles away
The Old Stocks Inn
750 reviews
.08 miles away
Sheep on Sheep Street
1,128 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Old Bakery Tearoom
1,241 reviews
.08 miles away
Cotswold Baguettes
375 reviews
.04 miles away
The Hive
691 reviews
.09 miles away
New England Coffee House
420 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Edward's Church
357 reviews
.05 miles away
Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square
201 reviews
.01 miles away
Fosse Gallery
46 reviews
.10 miles away
Tara Antiques Centre
33 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MikeyP007
6 January 2018|
Answer
Response from thetalbotstow | Property representative |
Yes of course you can.
0
Votes
JennyWr
8 August 2017|
Answer
Response from thetalbotstow | Property representative |
No unfortunately we do not. The nearest disabled toilets are at the edge of the Square, about 300 metres from the Talbot.
0
Votes
Bernhardt G
7 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thetalbotstow | Property representative |
Hello there, we do smaller sizes of most of our meals, for children or those with smaller appetites. Sunday roasts included. Cheers.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE TALBOT, Stow-on-the-Wold - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Talbot

Yes, The Talbot is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Talbot is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4