We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lucy's Tearoom and B&B

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$2 - US$15
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Lucy's Tearoom and B&B
Updated 30/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (1,064)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveller rating
709
245
31
18
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
709
245
31
18
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews scones cake brie rarebit cream and jam salad afternoon tea tea room bay window lovely tea tea shop lovely place visiting stow home made market square lovely lunch hot chocolate
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I never leave a review if a place is not great but I will for this one. I'm not sure what other people liked, but besides the terrible service (we waited for 35 minutes to get any drinks), the quality of everything in the tea...room was terrible. Very bad coffee, completely burned, microwaved scones, supermarket - quality brownie. It's a shame because the place is lovely but you need to put some more attention to your products. The scones were not bad if they weren't so soft but the coffee, honestly, how difficult is it to make some nice coffee with the professional coffee maker you have there? I wouldn't recommend it or go back.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Companion64288882975, Owner at Lucy's Tearoom and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Christina, Thank you for the feedback. We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to our tearoom. We work really hard to make sure that everyone who comes to Lucy's Tearoom is well looked after and well fed. Our coffee is...More

Reviewed 16 May 2022 via mobile

We’ve been here a few times and I don’t recall ever having an issue before, but on this visit my husband ordered the quiche and salad which was disappointing to say the least - a very small slice of cheese, onion and tomato quiche (so...not even expensive ingredients), a few small pieces of new potato and a huge heap of green leaves, not even a proper salad. It cost £10.95 which I thought was extortionate. Especially as they also charge £3.15 for a bottle of coke! Other items were better but I do think this one needs reviewing by the management team - either in terms of the price or the portion.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Companion64288882975, Owner at Lucy's Tearoom and B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Gill, Thank you for leaving your comments. We try very hard to make sure that every customer feels that they have value for money and we are sorry that on this occasion that we didn't achieve it. At £10.50 we think our quiche, new...More

Reviewed 12 May 2022 via mobile

Travelled solo for my birthday. First time in Stow-on-the-Wold. Stumbled upon Lucy's which looked the most inviting place. Arrived as it opened. They were so friendly and smiley, polite, place clean, and food scrummy. The view was great too. Absolutely nothing to complain about. Would...highly recommend.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 8 May 2022

We enjoyed a tea with milk and a scone in the back garden. The staff was really nice with us. Really recommended.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 April 2022

We stopped off in Stow on the Wold to see the famous door in the the church. Then went to Lucy's and glad we did , we sat outside as we we had our large dog with us , the staff was lovely and the...service was quick and the scores were to die for . The tea was lovely too . Definitely recommend a visit hereMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 April 2022 via mobile

Beautiful tea room . The BEST cream tea ever . Sneaking a look at other peoples food on next door tables , all the food looked fabulous. My partner had a bacon bap which was delicious. The coffee was great and the staff are so...lovely aswell . We came here twice and it was worth the drive . Perfecto!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 18 April 2022

Great portions, really friendly and efficient young staff, decent price. Huge omelette! Hard reccomend!

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 7 April 2022

We popped in here one weekday afternoon recently to grab a small snack and a cup of tea. After carefully navigating my mother in her wheelchair into this relatively tiny place we sat at a decent sized table in the main part of this tea...room. We ordered the sausage rolls - nice and warm and full of herbs. Service was good despite the place being quite busy. On seeking out the loos out the back I discovered a little courtyard area which would have been nice to use if the day had been a little warmer. And in the restrooms I was intrigued to find some high quality liquid soap and hand cream. A nice, special touchMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 5 April 2022 via mobile

A nice tearoom offering good lunch and cake options. The scones were really lovely. Service a little slow (wanted another tea, but nobody came back upstairs after taking initial order). Great for afternoon teas.

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 28 March 2022

Lovely little B&B attached to the Tea Rooms. Warmly greeted on arrival and the room was clean and cosy. Was very quite in the evenings after the tea room had closed and is well situated in the centre of town. The breakfast was lovely and...the staff were all very friendly and helpful and made sure we had everything we needed. There is no designated parking, and the town square parking is only two hours until 18:00 and the car had to be moved by 11:00 , but this was not an issue at all, as there is a free 72 hour car park just a minute walk away. A lovely stay and would stay again.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Stow Lodge Hotel
477 reviews
.02 miles away
The Stag at Stow
204 reviews
.03 miles away
The Old Stocks Inn
689 reviews
.03 miles away
Sheep on Sheep Street
938 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Old Bakery Tearoom
1,040 reviews
.12 miles away
Cotswold Baguettes
347 reviews
.09 miles away
The Hive
610 reviews
.13 miles away
Alexiou's
81 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Edward's Church
325 reviews
.11 miles away
Stow-on-the-Wold Market Square
182 reviews
.05 miles away
Tara Antiques Centre
26 reviews
.11 miles away
Stow Visitor Information Centre
50 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
catladyBerkshire
22 November 2020|
Answer
Response from harrietj2015 | Reviewed this property |
We went there recently and there was a dog inside.
0
Votes
Diwark
22 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Max270243 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure but there is plenty of public parking free just outside the frontage
1
Vote
BabsandNancy
31 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LucysTearoomStow |
Hello, we do allow dogs, as long as they are well behaved and you don't mind them being fussed over by us!
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lucy's Tearoom and B&B

Yes, Lucy's Tearoom and B&B offers takeaway services.

Yes, Lucy's Tearoom and B&B is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Lucy's Tearoom and B&B is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5