We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Isambard Kingdom Brunel

) #112 of 503 Restaurants in Portsmouth £ , British,
2 Guildhall Walk | Hampshire, Portsmouth PO1 2DD, England
+44 23 9229 5112
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good42%
  • Average26%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (15 reviews)
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“curry” (6 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Guildhall Walk | Hampshire, Portsmouth PO1 2DD, England
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 206 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I am a 58 year old professional married man out celebrating my son's 21st birthday, with my 63 year old brother and about 10 of my sons mates. None of us have any record of causing a disturbance. I haven't been out on a Friday...More

Thank 449Jeffs
Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this a most convenient location to visit and as usual it is such good value for money. We had 4 breakfasts and 3 evening meals there during our week's stay. Only one problem one evening when vegetables were not really hot enough but they...More

Thank GMutt10
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's Wetherspoons. You know what you're getting. Ok food at a fair price and a cheap pint. The problem with this pub is that the staff prefer to chat to each other and try to look busy rather than serve staff. The pub was quiet...More

2  Thank ted1001
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Away again, fancied a change from hotel food. Spoons! Food ok, standard fayre really. Beer: good in fairness Staff: bar 1 of the bar staff and waiting staff simply awful. More interested in talking to each other, even after finishing serving (making customers wait to...More

Thank Neil G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Saturday 20th may. First time here. Food was great. Customer service was so amazing polite, friendly, understanding, nothing was too much trouble. The till man got the order request correct first time. . Sitting eating the breakfast i am shock and the attitude of the...More

Thank tellthetruth123438
IKB_Manager, Manager at The Isambard Kingdom Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the service your recived in our pub and hope you return to us again soon The IKB team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the restaurant for both Sunday brunch and Tuesday Steak Club, this restaurant can give you an amazing experience of the British cuisine. Highly recommended to taste steaks and English breakfast.

Thank pygmalionas
IKB_Manager, Manager at The Isambard Kingdom Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi there, Thank you for review. We are pleased you were happy with your stays with us and hope you keep returning in the near future. The IKB Team

Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

Good: friendly staff and quick service. Kid's scampi meal good and a decent portion. Bad: I had the new York style pastrami bagel but it was missing key two ingredients of gherkin and rocket :(More

Thank Christian J
IKB_Manager, Manager at The Isambard Kingdom Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Christian, Thank you for your review. We aim for friendly and efficient customer service so we are pleased to hear that you were happy with the service you received. As for missing items on your meal, I am sorry to hear that this happened....More

Reviewed 9 May 2017

We had breakfast and dinner here during our visit to Portsmouth and found the food excellent and good value.

Thank pauline a
IKB_Manager, Manager at The Isambard Kingdom Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Pauline, Thank you for your review, we hope you have visited us again since. The IKB Team

Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

Perfectly placed within walking distance of the guildhall, plenty of seating Area and in general a decent pub environment. Staff could be more attentive and serve those who had the manners to acknowledge others who had waited longer but sometimes old school pub etiquette gets...More

Thank Davedrys
IKB_Manager, Manager at The Isambard Kingdom Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Dave, Thank you for your review, We can get busy when events are on at the guildhall, rock challenge is one of these. We do aim for friendly and efficient customer service, however we must have missed this on this occasion. We sure hope...More

Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

Was eating food and a bouncer came up and rudely ask me to remove my hat but when I asked him why he neglected to give me a reason.More

Thank George M
IKB_Manager, Manager at The Isambard Kingdom Brunel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi George, The request of the hat removal would have been due to security reasons relating to CCTV, However a reason should have been given at the time and I can only apologise if you felt our door staff were rude. I ensure you that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Brewhouse & Kitchen - Portsmouth
479 reviews
.07 miles away
Delicatessen Too
113 reviews
.15 miles away
All About Tea by Andrew Gadsden
56 reviews
.21 miles away
Canvas Coffee Shop
47 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Portsmouth Museum
188 reviews
.44 miles away
The Groundlings Theatre
55 reviews
.45 miles away
New Theatre Royal
40 reviews
.05 miles away
Cascades Shopping Centre
47 reviews
.30 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
RoseRed7
Does IKB have free Wi-Fi? If so what is the password, please? Thank you!!
11 April 2016|
Answer
Response from IKB_Manager | Property representative |
Hello Yes the pub does have free WIFI. We use a network called the cloud. There is no password but you do need to sign up to an account. Once you have done it, it works in any of the pubs.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 00:00
Monday
07:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 00:00
Thursday
07:00 - 00:00
Friday
07:00 - 01:00
Saturday
07:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Guildhall Walk | Hampshire, Portsmouth PO1 2DD, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9229 5112
  • E-mail
Description
We're a busy town centre Wetherspoon pub, serving food from 7am - 11pm daily. We have a full range of club nights which include -
Tuesdays - Steak Night
Wednesdays - Chicken club
Thursdays - Curry Club
Friday - "Fish Friday"
Sunday - Sunday club
We also run a "Monday club" which has a whole range of drinks at adiscounted rate.
Whether it's for a quick lunch whilst out shopping, coffee's in the morning, or a few relaxing beers in the evening, we hope we'll be the place you'll choose to visit. We value your feedback, Anything and Everything. Feel free to let us know what you think.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing