We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

££ - £££, British,
2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO8 0DT, England
+44 23 9259 3202
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good30%
  • Average17%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“chicken” (14 reviews)
“mixed grill” (3 reviews)
“potatoes” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO8 0DT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Wonderful service and very pleasant staff. I visited last night and had the spinach lasagne which I may add was piping hot and delicious. My waitress Tracy was very attentive and pleasant throughout my visit. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to visit as it has...More

Thank rcw76
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Friendly staff and great atmosphere. Perfect antidote to the January blues. Well worth a visit and highly recommended.

Thank Des L
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Had a lovely time. The staff are amazing and couldn't do enough for you. Great food and lovely atmosphere.

Thank James M
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We have never eaten here before. The food except for my husbands all our meals were average but Luke warm. My husband ordered a ribeye steak what was presented was not that. He mentioned it to Tracy our waitress who made no comment. So we...More

Thank Ann B
RedLionDM, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Ann B Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us here at the Red Lion. I am very sorry and disappointed that you didn't enjoy your visit with us. Not just the issues with your food but our appearance also....More

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

What a terrible place. The food was not properly cooked. One of 2 meals was just acceptable but the other was inedible. The atmosphere was dark and dingy. One of those places where you want to wipe your feet on the way out. I would...More

Thank Chris B
RedLionDM, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Chris B I am very sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us, its very disappointing when our guests leave unhappy and unsatisfied with our service and our standards. The issues you have raised above have been addressed and unfortunately there are...More

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

This sunday I poped in for a breakfast and was very impressed. As someone who gets to stay in many Premier Inns I know that the quality of breakfast can vary and the typical buffet is often cold and unappealing if caught at the wrong...More

Thank Matt T
Reviewed 16 October 2017

I made an online booking for early Saturday evening & specified we would be 3 adults and a toddler, for whom we would need a high chair. When we were shown to our allotted table there was no high chair in place, so we had...More

Thank janre50
RedLionDM, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear janre50 Thankyou for taking the time to write a review for us. However I am very sorry that its not a very positive one. The issues you have raised in your review have been addressed, and attention has been bought towards the whole team...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Went for dinner on my birthday weekend. I had Chicken Forestiere and my partner had the mixed grill. Food came promptly, it was well cooked, stayed hot until the end, which can be tricky with mixed grills. It all tasted wonderful. We had the G&T...More

Thank Joy D
RedLionDM, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Joy D Thankyou so much for your lovely review of us here at the Red Lion. I love reading reviews from our guests and seeing that you have had a lovely experience with us, and that you will be joining us again soon. I'm...More

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Have not visited The Red Lion in over 2 years, and was keen to try their new menu. Booked a table for 2 for 7pm. Had a warm greeting, and shown to our table, which was a spacious 4 seater by the window. Our waitress,...More

Thank JohnK265
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

I ventured out of my usual hotspot on my lunch break today and visited the Red Lion in Horndean. Upon arrival I was pleasantly greeted by a lady on the front desk who was more than friendly, she swiftly took me to my table in...More

Thank Rhys C
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 39 hotels in Portsmouth
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
261 reviews
.07 miles away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
100 reviews
2.37 miles away
Meadow View Guest House
1 review
2.72 miles away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
453 reviews
4.30 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Oh So
94 reviews
.06 miles away
Four London Road
44 reviews
.07 miles away
The Ship and Bell
85 reviews
.08 miles away
Blendworth Furnishings cafe and Terrace Garden
81 reviews
.38 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Butser Ancient Farm
94 reviews
2.33 miles away
Furzeley Golf Club
14 reviews
3.30 miles away
Queen Elizabeth Country Park
256 reviews
3.45 miles away
Stansted Park
253 reviews
3.78 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Red Lion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
06:30 - 10:30
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 10:30
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 10:30
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
06:30 - 10:30
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
06:30 - 10:30
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
07:00 - 11:00
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Havant Road | Horndean, Portsmouth PO8 0DT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Portsmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 23 9259 3202
  • E-mail
Description
Located in the village of Horndean, the Red Lion serves a diverse seasonal menu of freshly cooked, classic British pub dishes. We're proud of our homely and welcoming atmosphere and broad selection of drinks, including tempting wines, well kept beers and refreshing soft drinks. Plus, we're situated close to Charles Dickens' birthplace and St John's Cathedral - perfect for days out. We hope to see you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing