We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (435)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveller rating
241
89
45
27
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
241
89
45
27
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips roast beef burger pudding pie ice cream the pub sunday lunch lovely lunch be visiting again
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 January 2024

Had our work Christmas lunch here and it was perfect. Everyone enjoyed their meals. Great food, staff were amazing.

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023 via mobile

We had our work christmas party here last night and it was amazing. We had a large group and the communication throughout organising was great. Sally & Stuart were very helpful and flexible with our changing needs and different orders etc. The Estelles were great...and the food was delicious. I would highly recommend!More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2023

Really lovely ambience, super clean and staff so friendly and helpful, they really seem to care about their customers. Had there been more variety on the vegetarian menu I would have given 5* but just pumpkin risotto or burger. Nice but a bit more variety...and I’d be a regular.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Fantastic afternoon tea. Cracking value for money. Mikey and Laura couldn't have been more attentive. So friendly, welcoming and kind. Superb food and service. The lovely staff even went the extra mile with lovely birthday messages and a card!!

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 September 2023

Visited The Cricketers today for lunch the food was excellent perfectly cooked very tasty meals the staff were really friendly and helpful the service was quick and a sensible waiting time value for money? Yes would recommend this lovely pub you won’t be disappointed thank...you see you again soon!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2023

We have visited the cricketers a number of times, as locals to the area. However the last couple of visits the Pizza has fallen way short of expectations, given that there is now a specialist Pizza kitchen, this is nothing short of disappointing. On todays...visit, we were celebrating a birthday, and what we received was simply not acceptable. As a table of 8 adults, with an order of 6 pizza and 2 a la carte. The a la carte dishes were eaten before pizzas even arrived. The waitress explained they were busy, but at least 7/8 tables in the garden were not even occupied. When the pizzas arrived, those that had been ordered with extra toppings were served without said toppings, we returned them only to be re-served the same pizza now with raw extra topping, returned again, served again within seconds with same uncooked extra toppings, returned for the third time, one arrived, with extra topping re cooked. These Pizzas had now been in the oven 3 times! The second however was still incorrect, the waitress asked, what am I to say to the chef? As if it was our problem that what was being served was incorrect. We replied, nothing, it’s too late we no longer want it, everyone else has finished. My husband approached the manager, who immediately refunded said pizza, but he caveated the refund with, we have not had one complaint in 8 months! However, given it was 2 for 1 on pizza we actually gained nothing, in fact, the said pizza should have been free anyway! We were at the Cricketers for 2 hours and spent £200, it was our intention to stay all evening instead we left at 8.15 very disappointed. Whilst the manager said they had never received complaints, we witness several pizzas being returned. Please don’t try and defend bad service/food. Simply apologise . It ruined our evening and birthday celebrations, and sadly as locals we will not be back. A simple round of drinks on the house, a bottle of wine or anything actually, plus an acknowledgement that on this occasion you had got it wrong would have sufficed. Sadly today for the sake of a freshly cooked pizza with the correct toppings, you have lost our custom. A professional pizza chef should not keep putting a returned pizza back out to the customer. Sadly previous visits where we have eaten and drank as larger groups, ordered magnums of the recommended sparkling wine, will no longer happen. Customer Service costs nothing, unhappy customers cost a business way more that what they spend. Disappointed if CurdridgeMore

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Downie, Owner at Cricketers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Thanks for your review. I am very sorry to read your review as a local. I would have preferred a email and a chance to invite you guys back for pizza on me. I will not make an excuse but when I did intervene I...More

Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile

Lovely pub, nice food, the kids loved the play area. I really appreciated when the (guy who I assume was the) Manager told me one kids meal and a spare plate would do for my kids at their ages. I hope whatever I didn’t spend...on that second kids meal today I repay many times over in future visits to this pub.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2023

Me and my family were in the Barn for my 18th Birthday, there was 17 of us. The worker, Euan (sorry if i spelt your name wrong!) was absolutely lovely, so welcoming, kind and helpful. Would definitely recommend him! He was so chatty and overall...just a lovely person to be around. Had an absolutely amazing 18th Birthday meal, pizzas were yum and filled us up and the new Barn was so so beautiful, lovely decorated. Thank you so much to the staff for making my birthday so amazing! The only annoying thing was the children who kept coming in and stealing our stuff. Sort your kids out!! But at the end of the day, you can't help that. Definitely an amazing experience. Me and my family love it here!More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2023

2nd time here for Sunday Roast. Today lamb & Beef.. Superb quality, super tasty and in our opinion the best around. Lovely

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2023

First of all, lovely surroundings and was looking forward to drinks and lunch. Unfortunately my wife chose Aperol Spritz, which she loves and has had in numerous places. I had a pint of Moretti. The bill came to £19 for the two drinks alone. On...querying the price we were told the Aperol Spritz was a massive £13, the reason it was so expensive they said, it was made from a small bottle of prosecco which costs £9.25 ,alone, and 2 shots of aperol and soda. Never have we come across a place where they use an individual bottle of prosecco, we can't imagine how it fitted in the glass with all the ice. Either they are dreadfully expensive here, or we were conned ?? Needless to say we left without having lunch here, such a shame.More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Downie, Owner at Cricketers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2023

Hi Chris, thank you for your review and comments on the pub surroundings. I do remember you and your wife and how you'd been on holiday to an all-inclusive 5-star hotel and they didn't serve Aperol Spritz's there and you were surprised we did! We...More

Reviewed 22 June 2023

The food was excellent we all had Fish and chips one of the best we have had but beware when we got the bill there was a huge service charge! Over £7 all the staff did was walk from the kitchen to deliver our meals...there was no notice anywhere warning of this “service charge” we had already sorted a tip between us Beware!!!More

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Downie, Owner at Cricketers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

Hi, Many thanks for your review and really pleased to hear you enjoyed your fish and chips. The service charge is discretionary and could have been removed. We have this written in bold on the menu and is in our terms and conditions page on...More

Reviewed 14 June 2023

This was intended to be an annual lunch for our family to come together from various parts of the South of England We had read the reviews and were so impressed/ The location was good, the weather was excellent and the young man serving was...so understanding. In summary the food was awful as descibed by eah member of our party. Although we do not know we suspect that the food was prepared elsewhere and microwaved prior to serving. Two parry members had beefburgers [v tough], one had fish which had not been defrosted and I had a beef pie which was wet and insipid. We could not recommend this restaurant to anyone JohnELeggettMore

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Downie, Owner at Cricketers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

Thanks for you review. I think you were having a bad day on reflection? You arrived half an hour late to the Inn due to navigation problems. No problem, we were busy but we moved tables around to accommodate your booking. When my waitress arrived...More

Reviewed 31 May 2023 via mobile

Much better than average pub food / restaurant - it gets busy so make sure that you book in advance. Lovely modern decor with a subtle cricketing theme. Steaks were delicious with beautifully cooked huge chips; pie of the day superb and I loved my...crispy beef salad - it was bursting with flavour. Good beer on tap for those who like it. Some unusual puddings - the warm walnut cake with banana was a hit. Wine per bottle started at £22 which is quite reasonably priced for the area. Food is priced as one would expect for the location & quality. Would go back without hesitation. I have given 5 stars but there is always a little room for improvement. Some of the veg was impossible for parents in their late 80’s to cut - older people don’t tend to like veg very ‘underdone’ - although it is fine for me. The last server actually said ‘thank you’ rather than the usual ‘no worries / no problem’ repeated over and over ( when there were no problems or worries). And, my usual big bear - being called a ‘guy’. Perhaps I should just shut up about modern forms of address but how would a group of men feel about being called ‘girls’? 😂More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Downie, Owner at Cricketers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

Thank you Helen for taking the time to review The Cricketers, we're pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we will take note of 'guys' comment. See you again soon

Reviewed 29 May 2023 via mobile

Nduja pizza is so good. Will be back for more. Friendly staff, quick service, nice environment, good beers on tap. Great pub.

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stuart Downie, Owner at Cricketers Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2023

So pleased you enjoyed the pizza! Look forward to welcoming you back

Reviewed 28 May 2023 via mobile

Popped in for lunch having heard so many great reviews about this local pub. It was great to see local beers on offer as we grabbed a drink and sat outside. Food was ok, but nothing special. We had the ham baguette and a club...sandwich which seemed pretty basic on your average brown sliced bread. Staff were all super friendly!More

Date of visit: May 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Meon Valley Hotel & Country Club
1,952 reviews
1.11 miles away
New Place Hotel
2,487 reviews
1.79 miles away
MacDonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa
3,370 reviews
2.09 miles away
Botleigh Grange Hotel
1,162 reviews
2.65 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Samuel's Rest Pub
485 reviews
1.70 miles away
The Old Mill Restaurant
351 reviews
1.76 miles away
New Place Hotel
27 reviews
1.79 miles away
Black Dog
496 reviews
1.42 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Meon Valley Retreat Spa
7 reviews
1.01 miles away
CrackleRock Brewing Company
34 reviews
1.87 miles away
Kennet & Avon Canal
82 reviews
1.90 miles away
HealthSpace
58 reviews
2.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Helen T
7 September 2017|
Answer
Response from | Property representative |
Hello Helen yes we have several options of gluten free food.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

CRICKETERS INN, Southampton - Curdridge Ln - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cricketers Inn

Cricketers Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5