We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Haywain Crown Carveries

) #378 of 717 Restaurants in Southampton £ , British,
Southampton Road | Bartley, Southampton SO40 2NA, England
+44 23 8081 2243
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good32%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“gammon” (22 reviews)
“ham” (6 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 21:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
£
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Southampton Road | Bartley, Southampton SO40 2NA, England
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Interesting variety of food offered but slightly complicated way of choosing and paying. A little more written explanation would be helpful.

Thank rosemary b
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rosemary B, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. The Haywain.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Greeat cooked breakfasts they have the best sausages great value good too. Scrambled egg normally is yummy but they ran out the other day which really angered me being pregnant and not being ableto eat fried eggs. Best cooked breakies and carvery around though!

Thank Emma D
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Emma D, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at The Haywain, Bartley. We're happy we could meet your expectations hope to see you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in here for food on the way back from Ikea but wish we hadn't bothered! Looked at carvery meat but it appeared very dried up so I ordered mac 'n' cheese and husband ordered veggie supreme pizza. These were both from the 'veggie choices'...More

Thank JMFC_123
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jmfc_123, we regret to hear that you had this experience with us. If you wish to discuss this further then please give us a call 02380812243 The Haywain.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here to have breakfast as couldn't be bothered to cook it. Very reasonable priced buffet breakfast ,return as many times as you like with refillable tea £12.50 for both of us. The food was lovely all fresh and topped up all the time. I...More

Thank tmp1967
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Tmp1967, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Haywain, Bartley!

Reviewed 14 May 2017

We went to The Haywain and had a fantastic carvery the meat was cooked to perfection and it melted in your mouth plenty of veggies to choose from and all piping hot

Thank christineivemy
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Just like to say it's a very relaxed atmosphere with Really good food carvery was really amazing lots of choices of vegetables and meat cooked to perfection for me and a nice choices of pizza for something different I feel it's really good value for...More

Thank Paul I
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Paul I, we really appreciate your positive review! Hope to see you again soon The Haywain.

Reviewed 7 May 2017

My partner and I stopped in for dinner having failed to get food from another nearby pub due to the time of evening. Whilst the food we had wasn't anything special it was of a reasonable quality and certainly delivered in terms of portion sizes....More

Thank robfry1987
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Haywain, Bartley.

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Arrived early evening, long, long queue at the bar only one chap serving! When I tasted my pint it was certainly not the 'Best' I expected. Queued again at the carvery, very slow service and although I had paid for large carveries, I still had...More

1  Thank bazz2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Bazz2017, we pride ourselves on providing exceptional service, so we are disappointed to hear that your visit with us was anything less than satisfactory. If you wish to discuss this further please give us a call 02380812243. The Haywain

Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Went here for breakfast on my birthday this morning.. massive queue at the all you can eat breakfast bar. It just didn't move as the eggs ran out every 5 seconds and people had to wait. Chips were cold, sausages were burnt black and then...More

Thank Rhian H
General Manager A, Manager at The Haywain Crown Carveries, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Rhian H, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. if you wish to discuss things further with us please give us a call 02380811243 The Haywain.

Reviewed 24 April 2017

The Haywain is a good British pub and the food was a good quality. Its always nice to walk into a traditional British pub. However some of the staff are very abrupt and unpleasant to talk to. My mother is a vegetarian and she was...More

Thank Sam L
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The White Hart - Cadnam
451 reviews
.77 miles away
The Compass Inn
280 reviews
1.00 miles away
The White Horse
21 reviews
.64 miles away
Sir John Barleycorn
406 reviews
.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Paultons Park
5,693 reviews
2.29 miles away
Furzey Gardens
307 reviews
2.38 miles away
Totton Health and Leisure
8 reviews
2.89 miles away
New Forest
1,319 reviews
3.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Haywain Crown Carveries staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 21:30
Monday
08:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:30
Thursday
08:00 - 21:30
Friday
08:00 - 21:30
Saturday
08:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Southampton Road | Bartley, Southampton SO40 2NA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Southampton
  • Phone Number: +44 23 8081 2243
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing