We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Willow Tree

££ - £££, British,
14 Durngate Terrace, Winchester SO23 8QX, England
+44 1962 877255
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good30%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cheeseburger” (3 reviews)
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
“beef” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
14 Durngate Terrace, Winchester SO23 8QX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I had a cauliflower soup with bacon and cheese for starter then short rib on celeriac and mash followed by a hazelnut affogatto. this meal was amazing and I'm definitely going back also the chef is unfortunately leaving so I'm also going there too.

Thank MetalGangsta_Dave-G
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thankyou for you lovely review, you are welcome anytime !

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Last weekend, The Willow Tree pub hosted my husbands 40th birthday party. We cannot give more praise to this pub. The garden is simply delightful, the food delicious and served on time and on-point, bar staff really helpful and accommodating, venue itself offering a beautiful...More

Thank whisper26
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

The place looked fantastic, great tunes and a great crowd, thank you for coming !

Reviewed 3 September 2017

We visited for our daughter's birthday and were very disappointed. We hadn't been before. Having booked weeks ago we thought we might have a nice table but, having asked to be moved from the main bar, we were seated outside the toilets. For some reason,...More

Thank Gail G
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

I am sorry to hear this, there should always be enough potatoes and I'm investigating to find out why there were not. Three small potatoes is not standard. The table plan was changed as there was a large party in the restaurant that became larger...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

After a stroll around the town and river with the dogs we all felt in need of refreshment A pit stop in to the Willow Tree was just the ticket On arrival there was a lovely bowl of fresh water for the dogs and a...More

Thank Angi S
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thankyou for your wonderful review, we hope to see you again soon !

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

A Saturday evening random stop at this quite looking pub with a nice welcoming feel and a good pub garden. We ordered food being sour dough bread and olives for starters which were very tasty. Garlic soaked toasted bread with some well prepared herbs on...More

Thank basingstokebomber
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

I am very sorry to hear this, I was made aware of this on Saturday night. Myself and the chef have looked into this thoroughly and checked everything is in order. We served 57 covers on Saturday 22 of which were burgers. I have telephoned...More

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my work colleagues visit there regularly. Good food, good selection of drinks and lovely back garden next to the river. Perfect place to relax with glass of wine and often live music. Only one problem is that the kitchen is shut down after...More

Thank Marta R
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

We are glad you like it, thank you for your review !

Reviewed 19 July 2017

Great pub, fab shaded garden, lovely staff, great food, and snacks we love the cheesy fat chips ! Dog friendly, gets better every time we visit

Thank Muttipat
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thankyou for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again !

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

The lunch was wonderful, just perfect taste with grilled vegetables and gravy. Good prise, lovely garden between two rivers. A bit uncomfortable chairs outside but with a paint of beer gets better ;)

Thank Monika L
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Wonderful review we look forward to your next visit Thankyou !

Reviewed 12 July 2017

A great place to chill on a summers day or evening. In fact it's so relaxing you start feeling like you've gone on holiday. The open air pizza oven gives the place a good vibe, although the pizzas are quite small. We found the food...More

Thank Nude_jude
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thankyou for your review, glad you like it !

Reviewed 1 July 2017

Went for lunch on a quiet Saturday. Slow, unfriendly service and food was poor standard. Cheese and biscuits terrible considering it's £7.50 for stale cheese and a handful of cheap crackers - disappointing

Thank Bernadette B
halethekale, Owner at The Willow Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

I'm sorry to hear this, slow unfriendly service and poor food is not our aim here. I can assure you this is not standard and I do hope you return and let us make it up to you.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Diya
148 reviews
.22 miles away
Palm Pan Asia
522 reviews
.21 miles away
Rick Stein
1,314 reviews
.23 miles away
Gandhi Indian Cuisine
418 reviews
.23 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Winchester Cathedral
3,116 reviews
.35 miles away
Winchester City Mill
523 reviews
.23 miles away
Statue of Alfred the Great
236 reviews
.22 miles away
Winchester City Museum
154 reviews
.33 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Marion D
5 September 2016|
Answer
Response from Goodfoodknight | Reviewed this property |
In short no but there is a large public car park pay and display across the road.
2
Votes
cas0ss
1 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Fern P | Reviewed this property |
They do have a small parking area, however there is a big public car park literally opposite which I believe has disabled parking as well.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$28
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Durngate Terrace, Winchester SO23 8QX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Winchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 877255
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing